1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Best way to keep vista clean and healthy

Discussion in 'General Software' started by DrPepper, Mar 10, 2009.

  1. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,888 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    452
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    Oh and if you are using a tuner card try using a second hard drive not in raid etc... for your tv stuff
    I tried using the same hard drive for my operating sytem and my tv stuff and oh boy that made for a big mess (tweaking pc) had to defrag like twice a week-however that was before sp1 and i know alot of sp1 was geared towards media center
  2. DaveK

    DaveK

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,889 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    I swear by CCleaner, I use it like 5 times a day lol. I use Piriform Defraggler, made by the same people who make CCleaner. It seems to do the job, most files are defragmented. But last night before shutdown I defragged my OS drive, it had 2 files with 6 fragments and was good, but now on boot it's back to it was, so I might need to try a new program, but CCleaner rocks.

    I also might use vLite on my next install, I can get like 1.4GB out of it just by removing some useless language pack or something, I haven't look through it properly but I've heard good things.

    Thanks for these tips, Vista is running fine speed wise for me, but I wouldn't mind speeding it up and shaving off a few GB :D
  3. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,011 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,404
    oh man i forgot!

    everyone running vista SP1 (streamline install or not) has uninstall data to revert to SP0.

    Run this command in a run prompt to remove them!

    vsp1cln.exe

    I've seen it save 6GB on an x64 system that had all the windows updates prior to updating to SP1.
  4. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Sorry I haven't updated this thread yet I'm still fighting with my rig to try fix it :(
  5. DaveK

    DaveK

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,889 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Yeah, I forgot about that too, saved me like 1.5GB, good bit of space for something most of us won't really need.
  6. FilipM

    FilipM New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    802 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Bitola, Macedonia
    I use Kasperky Internet Security 2009 with CCleaner, Defragller and Spybot - Search and Destroy (great thing that is).

    Also for scanning Doctor Web is good, also Tune Up Utilities 2009 (but KIS and Tune Up arent free)
  7. Marineborn

    Marineborn New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,144 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    312
    thanks guys just picked up cclearner and it found over 3 gigs of stuff to get rid of! LOL!!! thats hilorous and a whole crap load of registry errors, and i picked up there defraagler too, i had over 3000 degragmented files, running it now, thanks again for this post
  8. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,871 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    496
    Will all the program support vista x64?
    I would reccommend paragon HD manager x64 as a drive/partition image tool.
    I have yet to find a different defrag utility that will work with vista x64
  9. FilipM

    FilipM New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    802 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Bitola, Macedonia
    I do believe defragller works with a 64bit operating system
  10. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    defraggler and ccleaner run on almost all windows with a gui x32 and x64 and is one of the most powerful cleaning tools I use. Defraggler is also very good and is very portible.
  11. psyko12

    psyko12

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,862 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    168
    Try ultimate defrag, altho it ain't free. :) Also Acronis Disk Director Suite 10 works on x64 platforms too. :toast:
  12. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    I'm going to add recuva by piriform.
  13. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
  14. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Added links to the first post.
  15. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    O&O Defrag supports x64 as well.
  16. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    O&O is very good so far. Using it and its defragmenting two at the same time I think.
  17. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Go into the options, and tell it to defrag sequentially, and it will do one drive at a time.
  18. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    I saw that but I like how it does more than one at a time :)
  19. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,871 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    496

    i have o&o on my HD, when i try to install it it tells me i have the wrong OS. Maybe there are different versions.

    Attached Files:

  20. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,011 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,404
    theres a seperate installer for x64. Quite often people who say X program doesnt work in windows x64, forget to look for a different installer.
  21. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    You have to grab the x64 specific installer.
  22. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,871 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    496
    I'll have to have a search around and try to find it. thx
  23. Ptep Guest

    I use CCleaner and DeFraggler, Malware Bytes/SuperAntiSpyware, and Spybot (for the hosts protection!). No realtime AV though, gets in the way too much :p

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page