1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

best way to make a gfx card fit??

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by d1nky, Feb 14, 2013.

  1. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,631 (6.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,248
    some may know ive been banging on about my new card that's arriving soon (dispatched today) well I overlooked a few minor details lol

    I thought my case could take a 300mm card with a mill to spare, it actually takes 290mm. the card is 300mm

    heres the case link : http://www.zalman.com/global/product/Product_Read.php?Idx=476

    anyone have any bright ideas? :nutkick:
  2. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Dremil it.

    On a side note I nearly bought that case last week (went for a NEXT Phantom 410 instead as the Zalman was out of stock), what GPU is it?
  3. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,631 (6.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,248
    asus hd7950 directcu2 top. I got a gts450 in at the mo and its got two inches spare, itll be tight.

    I was thinking a cut out??

    (this case is hideous with fans everywhere, nightmare to chase wires through etc, took a day to build it and swap fans push/pull etc)
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2013
  4. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,259 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,482
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    ^^ what he says...

    The HDD bays are riveted in so you may want to learn how to remove rivets. You're looking at partially dismantling the case or just chopping through the HDD bays. Either way, case is not made for big cards :(
  5. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,526 (7.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,046
    I see two issues.
    While you could pull the HDD rack out by using a dremmel on the HDD rivets, there is a strong possibility that your top card is going to run into the bottom of the 5.25" rack as well. To be honest, by the time you are done removing material, I would guess you are also going to remove a lot of the structural integrity of that case. While it wont just fall apart, I will guarantee it will wobble when the door panels are off and likely add vibrations in the case that otherwise weren't there before.
  6. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    I dodged a bullet there then, though where are the power connectors on the card? may just snuggly fit if they are on the side as opposed to on the end.

    Took me a good couple of hours though here's the results of cable management and looks of the 410

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2013
  7. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,631 (6.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,248
    youre are absolutely right, meets half way between bays!! somewhere I believed it could take a 300mm card DOH!...power connectors on side luckily. this is it with a 7770

    [​IMG]
  8. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,631 (6.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,248
    wow!! im actually buying that psu very soon before I plug my 7950 in! and then xfire! you got what I aim for thanks
    NdMk2o1o says thanks.
  9. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Pfft put it in a lower PSIE slot and dremel the HDD cage :toast: seen much crazier shit on here :laugh:

    A STEEL at £60 couldn't find anything close for that price :toast:
  10. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,631 (6.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,248
    im running matx at the mo so nooo can do! yea im ordering mine from maplin at £59!

    it may look as though ill have to take it to work and angle grind part of the bay away, so that to keep structural integrity and to look like normal!

    and dam!! I wish I bought that case as im going for the red/black look with my madcatz mouse n keyboard!! shiiiiiiittttttttttt happens lol
  11. jboydgolfer

    jboydgolfer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    532 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    Amherst , MA
    All You need to remove Rivets is a Drill bit with a Diameter SLIGHTLY greater than the Center Circle of the Rivet itself. Drill in LIGHTLY until You make it through the Rivet core, You'll get a Small hole, and The rivet will let go as easy as can be. Best part is, The HDD cage is STILL in once piece, in the off chance You may need to use it Down the road.

    http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=...vUmOuVH5yur2YFTEA&sig2=4NuzWtV2MqVkpujyZ1jB0Q

    Pay attention to # 3.
  12. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,424 (2.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,146
    Before taking a drill or dremel to your case, try fitting the card in. The image on the product page for your case shows a 290mm card installed and a total of 300mm clearance. With the power connectors on the side you may get lucky and have a mm or so of clearance.
  13. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,631 (6.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,248
    thanks but im planning ahead just incase, and was checking if anyone has had the same problem and their solutions.....I did see on another site someone having a gtx which is 11.5 inches and it fits...I tend to buy first and think later lol
  14. natr0n

    natr0n

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,867 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    953
    d1nky those are leds those are lasers !!1
  15. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,631 (6.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,248
    hahaha when my side panel is off I get blinded LMFAO!! also theyre on a fancontroller which when speeds up gets brighter.....cutting my cornea to pieces!!

    and ndmk2010 >>>>>>> thy will be done in red and black!!!

    [​IMG]
  16. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Cut down the card
  17. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,550 (10.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,062
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Yea just cut it in half to make room for more sata cables!
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Cut the ram in half too for more airflow :rockout:
  19. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,631 (6.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,248
    hahahaaaaaaaaa!! will do if ya can spare me one of those 7970s lol
  20. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Cut the ram which way?:slap:
  21. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Depends on which way his fans blowing of course :rolleyes: :nutkick: on another note, stop smoking :pimp:

    7950's :slap: :p
  22. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,631 (6.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,248
    :toast: I was aiming it at drdeathx, but if youre willing lol

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page