1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Best Wireless N + Gigabit Router that I can install Tomato on?

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by thebeephaha, Feb 18, 2009.

  1. Zedicus

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2004
    Messages:
    490 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    so hang on to your old router as a backup, keep it on the shelf. personally i just did not want to manage 3 seperate devices. internally you are correct, there will not be enough added latency to make it noticeable. nor is having 3 tiny devices going to amount to a hill of beans on your electric bill. truly the ONLY real issue is why would you run 3 devices when 1 device does everything you want anyway. also, managemant of them is slightly more complex, but again not enough to make it a worthy dealbreaker.
     
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,222 (11.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,525
    these access points you're talking about arent access points - they're wireless routers. your customers (or you) are simply getting confused between the two and buying a router to use as an access point, instead of just buying an access point.

    I run about 5 devices - because its too damn expensive to get the same quality in one unit.


    reliable, never disconnecting router w/ dual G wireless bands
    smoothwall - the mere fact i have a smoothwall dictates that all WAN and LAN access MUST be after the smoothwall, so all in one hardware is not an option here.
    8 port giga switch
    5 port giga switch (far end of house)
    second router as access point, for wifi access post-smoothwall
     
  3. Zedicus

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2004
    Messages:
    490 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    ive never seen a device with 1 ethernet port and wireless brodcast capabilities labled as anything but iether an access point, or a bridge. but that really is only a side point to the convo.

    smoothwall probably (m0n0wall i know for sure) you can actually set up to be a firewall/router/wireless access all in one device. for not to much money.

    i too use gig switches in different rooms to get more ports where needed, thouse just add on, as getting 1 device with 24 gig ports is cost prohibitive.

    i actually did away with my tru firewall and went to using openwrt as the firewall also.

    1 device, firewall, dns, dhcp, wireless, router, then a few accesory switches in the house. 1 point of manaagement. keepin it simple.
     
  4. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,934 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,027
    The switches are unmanaged, so you really only have to manage 2 devices. On top of that, for the most part, set up is the same on an access point as on a wireless router. The only minor addition is setting up the static IP address on the access point, and logging onto that IP instead of the router IP. And extra 2 minutes of setup time initally, and nothing extra after that...not really an issue.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  5. dcdivenut New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Okay... so I reading all of this and thinking

    1. Always on PC (I have one) acting as a router seems like a little more work than I am looking for.
    2. While I do like the look and price ($75)of the TL-WR1043ND route I am still worried about its ability to get quality signal from my basement to my top floor.

    So I am thinking I have 2 options
    1. stay with my current router, shutting off the wireless and buying a TL-SG1005D switch for $35 to put in my office and get GB file x-fers and a TL-WA901ND access point for $56 to put in the living room, totalling ~ $90
    2. buy the new router anyway so I have a decent router... I typically can go for a couple ofweeks between resets (which I know is crap but it is on my desk so no big deal) and since it is GB I won't need the switch and still add the access point upstairs, turning off the wireless on the router (or leaving it on, which ever is better). This would total about $125 but (I think) give me more more options down the road when I move in 7 months.

    Thoughts?
     
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2010
  6. Trigger911

    Trigger911 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    600 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Under Columbus, Ohio
    I got a rt-n16 and I am in flipping love and I did the internal hdd mod and got 2 usb left for other stuff. DD-WRT isn't much slower than tomato unless your in the GUI 24/7 just use putty.
     
  7. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Gotta link to that mod?
     
  8. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    Link To Mod Nao
     
  9. ShRoOmAlIsTiC

    ShRoOmAlIsTiC

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    859 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    Location:
    Palm Desert, CA

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page