1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Best/Worst Computer on TPU Competition

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Joshmcmillan, Apr 19, 2007.

  1. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,185 (5.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,177
    Bah....shittiest PC? I still have my old XP whateverthecore that I occasionally use for the odd bit of office work when I cant get on my main PC becuase my daughter is playing games that her laptop cant handle, it goes like this:

    Athlon XP1800 @ 1.2Gig (I think thats the proc spec, been so long since I bought the thing I cant remember)
    512MB Corsair PC133RAM
    Seagate IDE 5400RPM 40MB Hard Drive
    Geforce 2MX 32MB
    Some obscure mobo made by Gigabyte with no model number on.
    Soundblaster AWE 32
    Windows 98SE
    Generic 150W PSU

    This was my first AMD Puter that replaced a dying P3 350Mhz, it was like lighting by comparison :D So I think it was about 2000 when I bought it,not sure.
  2. Joshmcmillan

    Joshmcmillan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    892 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Australia, NSW,Mid North Coast.
    I hope you weren't entering for the worst pc coz it has too be ur main. I just today put a 2600+ barton on eBay..lol.
  3. Dizzy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    29 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    My Beast:

    Core 2 Duo X6800 @ 3.4 gHz
    nVidia nForce 680i
    1 x 8800 GTX
    2GB Mushkin XP2-8500 DDR2
    2 x 160gb Western Digital in Raid 0

    :D
  4. Joshmcmillan

    Joshmcmillan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    892 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Australia, NSW,Mid North Coast.
    wow that's a pretty awsome system but it's just not as good as Heavy's with his dual 8800GTX's.
  5. Dizzy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    29 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hmm... am I second then?
  6. Joshmcmillan

    Joshmcmillan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    892 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Australia, NSW,Mid North Coast.
    Yes deffinetly Second so far. I'll say ur second in original post(not say system sepcs just name) so you hav a way too know if someone beats you and you pecome 3rd
  7. Eric_Cartman

    Eric_Cartman

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    560 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    i might be a candidate for the worst pc

    pentium d 805
    asus p5ld-deluxe
    2gb pc2-5300
    x300se
    2 80gb seagate drives(used in RAID 1)
  8. Joshmcmillan

    Joshmcmillan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    892 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Australia, NSW,Mid North Coast.
    What's Better? I think the Athlons better coz of the PD's X300, I just need some confirmation.

    -Athlon 64 3000+
    -ASUS K8N
    -1GB 400
    -X800 GTO
    -80GB Maxtor + 80GB Hitachi

    Or

    pentium d 805
    asus p5ld-deluxe
    2gb pc2-5300
    x300se
    2 80gb seagate drives(used in RAID 1)
  9. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,414 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    I think the A64 rig is still worse. Its not that good for gaming, and not good for things like video editing either.

    The PD 805 and 2gb of ram would make an awesome server/workstation.
  10. Grings

    Grings New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,302 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    Location:
    Blighty
    the 805's better as a workstation, but i'd rather use the a64 for gaming (1gigs ok for medium quality in games, an x300se's not)
  11. n-sanity New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Messages:
    74 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Cough Cough

    main pc - p2 450 mhz, 256mb pc100, some crap mobo, no sound card, 4mb ati rage pro and 13gb hdd. I can try to find some pics if yall really want it...
  12. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    OK, I'm going to win you realise!
    Old rig 1:

    PIII @697Mhz
    128MB SDRAM
    3dfx Voodoo3 16MB
    20GB 4100rpm HDD
    98SE

    Now thats the worst.

    My other crappy one:

    AMD XP1600 @1.6
    128MB DDR PC2100
    Sparkle TNT2 32MB M64
    20GB 4100RPM HDD
    98SE

    Whichever you choose, I win :D

    Strangley the Top one gets a higher 3dmark2001 score:wtf:
  13. Joshmcmillan

    Joshmcmillan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    892 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Australia, NSW,Mid North Coast.
    N-Sanity Is that really your main pc??????

    Theonetruewill only main pc's count.
  14. Joshmcmillan

    Joshmcmillan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    892 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Australia, NSW,Mid North Coast.
    I can make my computer get less then 180 in 3d mark 06. Bet u wonder how.
  15. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,025 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    357
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    Oh sorry i didnt post my specs.

    processor: intel duo core e6400conroe oc'd 3.3 ghz.
    cpu cooling: vantec peltier thermo electric cooling
    MObo: evga 680i sli mobo A1
    Video card: geforce 8800 gts 320 oc'd 661.5 and 923
    Case: apevia mx pleasure full tower 2 120mms and 2 80 mm's Led's blue
    Psu: Ocz game xtreme 700 w Psu
    Sound: x fi xtreme music
    Monitor: 50" samsung dlp
    Memory: 2x 1 gb A-data 800 ddr2
    Hard drives: 2 200 gb Western digital caviar 7200 in raid 0
    Cd/dvd: Samsung
    3dmark 06 10612


    wish i had two gtx's...lol.. nic
  16. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    Well as the laptop is a laptop, and my build is still technically in the installation phase that could be (very technically) a yes.:D
  17. Homeless

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,025 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    USA
    Socket 478 P4 3.0ghz Prescott
    1 gig ram running in single channel
    6800 vanilla
    P4SD-LA motherboard
  18. devguy

    devguy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,239 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    SoCal
    Well, my main desktop probably ain't gonna win anything:
    Athlon 64 3200+ s939 @2.4ghz
    1gb ddr400 @ 2-3-2-6-1T
    Radeon x800 128mb DDR1
    Biostar T-Force 6100-939
    Sound Blaster Audigy
    WD 250GB SATA-II

    However, maybe my laptop can show something. It is technically my main (mobile) computer:
    Pentium-M 1.7ghz 400fsb
    1280mb ddr333
    Radeon 9000 mobility 32mb DDR1
    Dell 600m motherboard
    Hitachi 80gb 5400RPM

    And, I suppose I'll enter my dad's computer as it is his main PC:
    Athlon XP 2200+ @1.8ghz
    512mb ddr333/512mb ddr400
    Nvidia GeForce 6200 AGP nv44A 256mb DDR2
    AZZA motherboard
    Sound Blaster mp3+ USB
    Seagate 120gb 7200RPM ATA-100
  19. Joshmcmillan

    Joshmcmillan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    892 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Australia, NSW,Mid North Coast.
    Hey Devguy, Your main doesn't get worst, your laptop doesn't get best and there is no worst laptop section and your dad's pc can't count.
  20. little geek New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Messages:
    194 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    cambridge, england, shed :)
    ok i think i won worst pc ...please dont laugh i only payed for the psu
    pentium 4 ht 3.2ghz s478 northwood
    1gb unbranded pc3200
    50gb hdd space (ide)
    samsung write master
    nvidia 6200 256mn overclocked with amd fan attached
    mb820 mobo...i think its made by tyan
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2007
  21. devguy

    devguy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,239 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    SoCal
    haha, shot down I suppose! :laugh:
  22. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    Dude get a 9800pro, you can find one on eBay for about £15-20
  23. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    Hmm... close one. Is your CPU overclocked? If not, I think mine is faster because it's running at 3500+ speeds, plus my system should be better for gaming anyway, but I don't have dual channel ram.
  24. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    I think you lose the crown Jimmy, not that its a very nice crown...:rolleyes:
  25. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    Ahh well, sure I can get it back when everyone else has upgraded. I've decided not to spend any more money on my PC until I've completed my enormous backlog of games that I've hardly touched - honestly, there must be able 20+ that I've only played for a couple of hours and never returned to.

    Only just got a copy of Half Life, and I only got half way through Half Life 2, so those are top of the agenda. :)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page