1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Best/Worst Computer on TPU Competition

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Joshmcmillan, Apr 19, 2007.

  1. overclocker

    overclocker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,151 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    ok this is my set up AMD 4400+ at 2.6mhz 2 x1600xt in crossfire at 627 core 781 mem abit at8 32X motherboard 1 and a 1/2 GBs of 3200 ram 500 WATT PS and a DVD burner.
  2. Garb3

    Garb3 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    398 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Hartlepool, England
    i know i'm not the best like but hopefully not the worst lol


    Processor: AMD Athlon 5200+ x2 stock 2.95Ghz @1.35V
    Motherboard: ASRock ALiveNF6G-DVI
    Cooling: Zalman CCNPS9500 + 2 120mm case fans + Accelero x2
    Memory: 2 Gig of pc5300 dual channel
    Video Card: MSI Radeon X1950 Pro 256 non crossfire
    Harddisk: 220 gig
    CD/DVD Drive: SONY DVD RW DRU-800A
    CRT/LCD Model: LG Flatron L1730S
    Case: Termaltake VC2000 Mambo (Black)
    Sound Card: Realtek AC 97 HD
    PSU: EYE-T POWER MAGNA 600W
  3. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,982 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
    < (see system specs)

    mine :)
  4. Sh00t1st

    Sh00t1st New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    371 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    Austin,Texas
    I bet i have near one of the worst computers, its a peiced together pos lol, it has a duron 1100 mghz which wont even overclock to 1150 my ram is limited to 100 mghz also :( luckily i have 512 which is just barely able to skirt it into games like bf2 and medieval war 2 takes forever to load tho lol, oh and i have a 225 watt power supply with a 9200 128meg video card yeah it blows lol gave my last sytem away to a friend who had just goten his 2,000 dollar laptop fried by a fucking idiot who spilt coke on it than pluged it in and turned the fucking thing on LOL suprise it got fried, and at the time i was spending hideous amounts of time on the computer so i had to part with it.
  5. POGE

    POGE New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,724 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    In banjo's Goats.
    I've got an 8080 system from like the 1980's that still works, does that count?
  6. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,134 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    CPU - Intel Core2Quad Q6600 G0 (OC @ 3.2GHz)
    RAM - OCZ 4GB (4x 1GB) DDR2 800Mhz ATi CrossFire Edition (@ 800MHz)
    GFX – 2x ATi PowerColor HD2900XT 512mb *CrossFire* (OC @ 828/1800MHz)
    MoBo - GigaByte GA-965P-DQ6 Rev 3.3 (F11 BIOS)
    HDD(s) - WD 320GB SATAII 16MB Cache & WD Caviar SE 160GB 7200RPM SATAII 8MB Cache
    ROM - Pioneer 212D SATA 16x DVD±RW/RAM
    Case - Casecom Black Mid Tower
    PSU - Hiper 880W Type-M
    Audio - Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio
  7. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,820 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,032
    Location:
    Ohio
    there's worse computers than the worst, better computers than the best...
  8. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    i got a pretty average computer.:) Need better video card tho(i have 8600 GTS).
  9. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,134 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    nah, I think it sounds pretty good ;)
  10. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    <-- Would consider my own as midrange. Definitely not the worst I know that much.
  11. psyko12

    psyko12

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,859 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    168
    Mine coz I got a P4... Lol?
  12. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,820 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,032
    Location:
    Ohio
    there's a guy with a PIII around somewhere
  13. psyko12

    psyko12

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,859 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    168
    Awwwe so m still not the worst? I still got hope woot.... Was planning to get a new rig on january but meh funds got used up on some other impt. stuff...

    On Topic:
    Meh still haves my ACER p2 mmx 166 and 32mb of edo ram with onboard 2mb ati video card and 15 gigs of hdd runnin on win 98 se :D
  14. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Mine is actually a little bit more bottlenecked than yours psyko.
  15. psyko12

    psyko12

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,859 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    168
    Woot gee.. I don't know alot about bottlenecking, is that the relation of cpu, ram and vcard and other components?

    1 more thing would, this old CRT on my SPECS bottleneck my system.. Lol sorry for the noobness

    On topic:
    Still got a working amd k6-2 450 here but the mobo is dead lol hmmm
  16. man114 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Does the computer have to currently be in use? If so I may have the oldest computer that still sees some use...

    circa 1994
    Packard Bell Legend 104CD Supreme
    originally a Pentium 60 currently running a 233MMX with a powerleap module
    USR Sportster Vi 14.4 modem (so old it was made in the USA)
    96MB EDO RAM (shipped with 8MB)
    1.7GB Seagate hard drive (boots windows ME), and a 9.1GB Seagate Elite 9 SCSI drive
    Voodoo 3 2000 16MB PCI card (primary) ATI Mach32 onboard for a secondary display
    Soundblaster AWE32 w 4MB RAM
    external SCSI 4x4x16 CD burner
    the SCSI adapter is an ISA one from an Iomega Jaz drive
    also has a Syquest EZ Flyer drive hooked up to it

    When purchased it had 810MB hard drive, 2X Matsushita CDROM (controlled via an Aztech sound card), this was back before standard ATAPI drives were seen). Forget about pipeline burst cache, this thing has asynchronous write through.

    So this thing still works. I actually played Quake 2 on it on Thanksgiving (and it runs surprisingly well with the Voodoo 3). The cards take up all but one PCI slot so further upgrading is technically still possible. Its not terribly slow either, I elmininated a lot of extra stuff that didn't need to be on there and it works. I did some workarounds to make the original Packard Bell Navigator and its flyscreen work in windows ME, as well as the original screensavers.

    It was upgraded from Windows 3.11 to Win95, to Win98, to WinME, and yes I'm going to attempt to make it run XP, but that will likely have to be a full clean install.

    Its more about the novelty of it working than actually seriously using it, though if you had to go online with it, or type up something its not slow to the point where you'd be hitting it because it is so slow.
  17. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    :laugh:Erm I have an other pc I use for IM when I'm gaming it has a 1ghz duron, 256+128 mb RAM it's not ever ddr and a 3 series nVidia and a 20gb ide I think that's a serious contender for the worst pc :rockout:
  18. Exavier

    Exavier New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    982 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Bath, UK
    my ONLY actual computer is a PIII with 768mb ram and a fx5200
    oh and 80GB HD
    :(
  19. Joshmcmillan

    Joshmcmillan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    892 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Australia, NSW,Mid North Coast.
    lol this thread is really old. It had to be your main computer as well.
  20. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse Crazy Dogmatic Bullsh!t!

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,077 (5.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,081
    Hi im entering for the "worst pc"

    CPU: PIII 500Mhz
    Ram: 512Mb @ 100Mhz (SD-RAM)
    GrFX: Nvidia Geforce MX 2 440 32mb
    HDD: 10gb

    in working condition

    or if you will accept....

    CPU: Intel 50mhz SX/DX II
    RAM - 50mb EDO Ram
    Graphics - Unknown - i think its either a trident or Mirage or S3 graphics - one of the built in peices of crap
    O/S: Windows 3.1
    Hdd: 2Gb
    was operational until a few days ago
    Last edited: May 9, 2008
  21. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    27,711 (11.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,424
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Can I use my dad's PC for the worst PC thingy?

    It's a P4 Willamette 1.7 + Intel D845WN + GeForce4 MX 440. I can put up validations if you want.
  22. DaedalusHelios

    DaedalusHelios

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,916 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    811
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC, USA

    Dr.Pepper you just resurrected this thread.:eek:

    5 months eight days.:laugh:
  23. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,535 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,893
    I think it's for operational pc's only? (I have a non-operational 80286....)

    But anyway, nominating myself for the worst functional pc -

    CPU - Celeron 333Mhz (mendocino)
    Mobo - Soltek SL-62C
    RAM - PC100 SDRAM 168pin 128MB
    HDD - 6GB (will check brand later)
    Graphics Card - AGP Nvidia Vanta 16MB
    Sound Card - Aztech AZT2320
    OS - Win98 SE.

    I can post screenshots if wanted (cpu-z etc)

    I also nominate N-Gen's laptop as the best laptop on TPU. It's in his system specs, but here's what I'm talking about:

    Processor - T7200 2.0Ghz
    RAM - 2GB DDR2 667Mhz
    Graphics - 7950 GTX 512MB oc'd at 605/860
    2 HDD's, DVD-RW,
    7.1 sound
    17" monitor
  24. Triprift

    Triprift

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,185 (3.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    Ok so far i have the worst lappy as biohazzards is slighly better speced by the looks of it.
  25. Joshmcmillan

    Joshmcmillan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    892 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Australia, NSW,Mid North Coast.
    I spose I could start updating it again, ppl will have WAY worse PC's now.

    For the worst computer, it MUST be YOUR main computer. The one you put in your system specs + use more then any other computer.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page