1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Beta Hack Brings BioShock to Shader Model 2 Cards

Discussion in 'News' started by zekrahminator, Aug 31, 2007.

  1. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,113 (2.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    Anyone with an ATI X8x0 series card is pretty angry at the fact that their card cannot handle a game that an X1300 can. Fortunately for gamers that still have a Shader Model 2 card, hackers are working day and night to bring BioShock to said cards. Instead of buying a SM3 or SM4 card that would cost at least $60, old-school gamers can now apply a hack. You can download and read into this hack here. However, while this is all well and good for people with hearty graphics cards, such as the previously mentioned X8x0 series, people still running the Radeon 9x00 series and the NVIDIA GeForce FX series will probably suffer quite low framerates.

    Keep in mind that this is still a beta.

    Source: NeoSeeker
     
    Mussels says thanks.
  2. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,690 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,987
    Location:
    some AF base
    lol thats cool to bad i already have SM3 woopwoop casheti will be happy though :roll:
     
  3. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,995 (6.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,536
    no offenset to your thread ...but lets be honest here. Im running a 3GHz opty and some TCCD @ 280MHz and my 7600GT's in SLI bearly let the game run well @ 1024X768. If I run @ 1280X1024 there is no framerate it just chunks its way through. So here come the point I guess, will the 800's or 850's fair any better?
     
  4. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,166 (5.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,184
    Location:
    Ohio
    I played oblivion on a 5200 Ultra and 2.8GHz p4 with 1 gig of ram
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  5. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,812 (3.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    wondered why I couldnt play it worth a damn. THANKS
     
  6. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    zek said it was quite jumpy with the patch on his x800/x850? oh well guess my mrs doesnt get to play it on her x800xl then :confused:
     
  7. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,690 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,987
    Location:
    some AF base
    you could tray low on 1024X768 or med 800X600
     
  8. TUngsten

    TUngsten

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,044 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    CT, USA
    wow, my x1950pro (at stock speeds) cranks this out at max settings 1680x1050

    I love the game, pretty sweet indeed
     
  9. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    doesnt surprise me my 8600gts could, i dont think its as demanding as say r6lv, although looks damn pretty

    better coded ?
     
  10. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,113 (2.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    My X850XT can't render anything more than the plane scene without much difficulty (the plane scene was quite smooth, however...lol). Water causes the whole thing to glitch. Whether that's a DirectX bug or a shader problem, it just can't be done at this point.
     
  11. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,690 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,987
    Location:
    some AF base
    hey DiRT take some notes this works well what its new looks good and gives good frame rate why WTF?


    i cant wait till i get a chance to DL the demo it on tpu yet?
     
  12. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    ...and I'm just completely shit out of luck. :p
     
  13. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    i would think your x850xt would be able to play it at max with no problems, except it needs sm3, i think its the patch more than your cards capability that causes the choppiness. thats why people got pissed when r6lv came out cause the top end x8** cards have enough humph to run it just dont have sm3
     
  14. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,113 (2.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    It's not exactly an FPS problem, it's a texture issue.
     
  15. laszlo

    laszlo

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    893 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    106
    Location:
    66 feet from the ground
    good news;i've download half of demo when i've seen that my x850 is not supported.

    the game makers forget that 1-2 years old high-end cards still have the power to run almost all new games except dx10 ones but i'm sure all dx10 games will be convinced to run on dx9.

    btw great improvements as i seen :http://bioshocksm2.blogspot.com/

    nice job & thanks !:toast:
     
  16. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,690 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,987
    Location:
    some AF base
    getting the demo @gamershell 440k/sec :D still a 1.8gb file but shouldnt be to long right?
     
  17. Urbklr

    Urbklr

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,346 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    OMG i want the demo.....anyone want to burn it of and mail it to me??:p (56k FTW)

    This is great news for people with x800/850 cards....just hope they get it to work well.
     
  18. Exceededgoku

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Messages:
    439 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    Stamford, UK
    Lol people seriously getting angry at devs because their systems are outdated by a couple of generations? LOLZ...
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page