1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Better Futuermark scores with Q550/5870 than i5/5870

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by 20mmrain, Jan 16, 2010.

  1. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,777 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    827
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Okay guys heres what's up......

    I recently upgraded from a Q9550 to an i5. I also am a proud owner of a 5870. With my old Q9550@ 3.6 I would run Futuremark and score in the P17000's to P18000's depending on the GPU overclock.
    So I now run Futuremark with my i5 @3.4 and now get an overall score of mid P15000's and that's with the 5870 overclocked. My CPU score with that CPU overclock is around High 14000's so I don't think it's any problems with my CPU.
    But for the life of me I can't figure it out.

    So I will list my old set up and new setup also drivers and Windows Versions. If anyone can give me an Idea it would be a great help!

    Old System:
    Q9550@3.6
    Gigabyte EP45-UD3R
    G.Skill DDR2 80MHZ
    2xWestern Digital 500GIG HDD 7200RPM Raid 0
    Diamond ATI HD5870 9.12CCC Drivers
    Corsair 750TX PSU
    CM Hyper 212 Plus HSF
    CM Sniper case
    Windows 7 64bit Home Preimum

    New System:
    i5@3.4
    EVGA P55 LE
    G.Skill Ripsaw 1600MHZ@1600MHZ
    2xWestern Digital 500GIG HDD 7200RPM Raid 0
    Diamond ATI HD5870 9.12CCC Drivers
    Corsair 750TX PSU
    CM Hyper 212 Plus HSF
    CM Sniper case
    Windows 7 64bit Ultimate (Not so on the up and up?)

    Now the only other thing I can think of is..... my new copy of Windows 7 Ultimate. The copy I have was given to me by a friend. I found out it wasn't so much on the up and up. So I have a new OEM copy of Home Premium on the way from New Egg.
    I also thought it might be the Video card drivers but I was running 9.12CCC on the last system as well.

    So I don't know any thoughts? Right now I can't use it to much more than off line because of that crappy copy of windows. So there is know rush but if anyone has an Idea I would appreciate it!
     
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    43,533 (10.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,716
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    To be honest, my guess is just futuremark products being as unbalanced as always.


    Its... POSSIBLE your windows is dodgy and causing the problems, but i find it unlikely.
     
    20mmrain says thanks.
  3. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,521 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    325
    Location:
    Canada/Qu├ębec/Montreal
    Your DDR3 1600 got slower timming then the 800 had... dont know if that would make that much difference?

    The other thing did you try your new i5 at the same clock as your "old" cpu at 3.6ghz?

    Run CPU-z & see if your ram really run's at 1600 speed?
    The motherboard?

    I don't know much about Intel so i may not be your best help here...
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2010
    20mmrain says thanks.
  4. LagunaX

    LagunaX

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,082 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    308
    Too bad you didn't run the everest bandwidth test on your old setup to compare with the newer.
    Then you would know if it was the CAS difference on your ram.
     
    20mmrain says thanks.
  5. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,777 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    827
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Well those are all great suggestions.... guys thanks.

    To answer some of them.....

    Yes I went through CPU-Z and the BIOS. My RAM is Running @ 1600MHZ the timmings are 9-9-9-24 -2T
    And it is running Duel channel.

    But to make along story short guys thanks for the help I solved it. I uninstalled my 9.12 CCC drivers and the reinstalled the 9.12CCC hotfix and it works allot better. It is still not as good as I though.
    But I contribute most of that to the copy of Windows I am using. Not only does Ultimate have more Processes running in the background but..... who the hell knows what these people did to get the crack for it too.
    So it looks like it's fixed and will probably even be better Monday when I receive my real copy of Win 7 But here is a look at the new score!!!

    Back up too P17000 and a GPU score of 18000

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  6. LagunaX

    LagunaX

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,082 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    308
  7. kylzer

    kylzer New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    511 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    Your clock speeds lower

    and since the i5 and Q9550 are near matched performance wise.....
     
  8. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,777 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    827
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    While I have you guys here I wanted to ask you a question with the new Overclocking features I am dealing with.

    I have a setting called QPI Frequency setting .... I understand this is equal kind of to the new FSB. But the only settings I see listed here are
    Auto....4.70GT's (something like that) and 4.800GT'S( again might be a different number) What the hell should I have those set too?
    Every other board I have done research talking about the QPI has a Multiplier not the other numbers I just listed.
    Could someone explain.

    So should I leave this on lower manual settings? Like 4.6GT I think is the lowest or should I leave this on auto?
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2010
  9. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,771 (12.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,681
    I may be wrong, but I think QPI frequency works alot like an AMD north bridge frequency where if the frequency isn't high enough you will get some bottlenecking. Go over to the i7 overclocking thread and see what that is all about. :)
     
    20mmrain says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page