1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

BF3: CPU 60%, GPUs 50% = WTF?

Discussion in 'Games' started by Horrux, Nov 3, 2011.

  1. Horrux

    Horrux

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    735 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Basically I'm wondering if things are going normally because I get the feeling they aren't.

    My CPU utilization in-game fluctuates closely around the 60% mark.

    My GPUs fluctuate around the 50% to 60% mark.

    My settings are HIGH with FSAA maxed.

    I noticed that reducing the FSAA only reduces GPU utilization but does not increase FPS, which would seem to indicate a CPU limitation, except my CPU is at 60% or so.

    I have toyed with Ultra settings and it is of course too much for my machine, when I turn around I get FPS drops like mad. I set it on low and get somewhat higher FPS, for example from 70 to 90.

    So is this really what is to be expected from my machine or is there something fudged up?

    Thanks
  2. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    Can you post your system specs? (can't pull them up on this school computer)
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2011
  3. _ALB_R3D X

    _ALB_R3D X New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Messages:
    337 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    Tirana,Albania
    Seems like a driver problem...take a look at my sig,I'm gettin 100% CPU and 80-90% on both cards ultra settings,vsync ON,stable 60FPS on all occasions!
    This happened only after 10.10 + 11.9 CAP 4
  4. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,172 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    In the cpu side of things, it just shows that its not as taxed as it isand the game is efficiently utilizing your 6 core. Its also evident here:

    http://www.techspot.com/review/458-battlefield-3-performance/page7.html

    As for your GPUs, Im not really sure.. Im on a single setup, and its going 99%-100%. It might be an SLi issue that needs profile fixing or something like that..
  5. LDNL

    LDNL

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    453 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    104
    Location:
    Finland
    Running on preset high settings. Ultra with everything maxed would run ok until the gddr gets maxed out. The fps drops down to zero, the game freezes for a few seconds and continues again. On high its around 1gb-1.1gb gddr used constant
  6. nt300

    nt300

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    868 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Location:
    Toronto, ON. Canada
    This more proof CPUs are not the driving force for gaming PC's.
    Better to invest in good graphics vs. CPU. A good 4-core CPU would be good enough.
  7. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    You need to post a few pics of the render.perfoveralyvisible 1 command to get an idea of what's going on. I think I have an idea but I would like to see the charts 1st.
  8. Horrux

    Horrux

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    735 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    This seems more a demonstration that the GTX 580 is the bottleneck at "high" than the CPU being largely irrelevant. I understand what the article says, but I'm sure if they had used "low" settings the CPUs would show wildly different scores. And this is why that article does not relate to my situation. I have tried it on low, and don't get any more FPS, so it looks very fishy.

    I have seen some games take both my GPUs in the mid-to-high 90's % utilization, such as Metro 2033 and BFBC2 single-player. I've been having the exact same issue in BFBC2 MP where both GPU and CPU are underutilized. Framerate is "playable", with drops down to about 40, although I have seen as low as 30 on one occasion, but I keep wondering what my experience would be like when using the 40% of my PC that isn't...

    Actually, I take it back... It is relevant, in a reverse way. If an FX-4100 is enough to make a GTX 580 the bottleneck, then my Phenom II X6 is enough to make my GTX 570s the bottleneck. But they remain under-utilized.
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2011
  9. Horrux

    Horrux

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    735 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Here they are:

    Cpu: AMD Phenom II X6 1100t @ stock 3.3 Ghz + Noctua NH-D14
    Ram: Corsair 2x4gb DDR3 1866
    Mobo: MSI 990FXA-GD80
    PSU: Corsair 850W
    Sound: Auzentech Prelude X-Fi + Sennheiser PC 360 G4ME headset
    Graphics: SLI MSI GTX 570 OC Edition
    Input: G-15 keyboard + Logitech G5 gaming mouse
    Monitor: Samsung 2233rz 3D ready 120hz + nVidia 3D Vision
    OS: Windows 7 64 Ultimate
    Case: Antec Twelve Hundred
  10. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    From what I see you should definitely be getting much more consistent frame rates and be able to play ultra at very steady rates with that SLI setup, Your CPU is more than enough to run the well at ultra but you would definitely need full utilization of your GPU's, do you have the latest nvidia drivers installed?

    Edit: Other Nvidia users are having the same issues with under-utilization of their SLI systems after the 285.62 drivers :/ it seems you are likely just suffering from driver issues
  11. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,541 (13.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,941
    To test, try upping your CPU and CPU/NB frequencies just a little to see if it improves. You also don't mention which drivers you're on.
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2011
  12. Richieb0y

    Richieb0y New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    471 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    The Netherlands Almere
    i never see my gpu above 60% i only watched it one time and im running maxxed.
    40fps it only dips to 28 when a thing happens
  13. Horrux

    Horrux

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    735 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    The "BF3 Special" 285.62

    I have decided to disable SLI and I prefer how my system behaves: more constant FPS as in, less drops in the 40s and even 30s when stuff happens and no 150+fps when looking at the ground. Looks like that second $350 video card is there for nothing but aggravation.

    I've always had the same problem in BFBC2 and it never got fixed. It's probably hard-coded into frostbite. :shadedshu
  14. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Qu├ębec/Montreal
    Yeah! stop looking at the F*in numbers & just enjoy playing the game...:p
  15. alexsubri

    alexsubri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    On my Sabertooth Motherboard I did this:
    [​IMG]
    It help maintain my FPS high, and I get about 5% increase in most games:

    1 - Crysis 9 Ultra + Directx11 + HD Textures = ~65 FPS
    2 - BFBC2 Ultra + 11.9 WHQL + CAP 4 + 2XMAA = ~65-75 FPS (Crossfire still has issues, not as bad, but they are still there. I know it's a driver issue because several other people have this error. Even with 6970s (I guess its the card manufacturer & driver). I only play with 1 card on High with 2xMSAA @ 50-78 FPS
    3 - Witcher 2, I can now play max settings + ubersampling @ 45-60 FPS
    4 - Modern Warfare 2, max settings - I can play smooth as silk @ 95-350FPS (95-120 FPS during battle scenes (120-350FPS non battles , cut scenes, etc)

    My AMD 965 Black Edition is o/c @ 3.7GHZ

    Attached Files:

  16. Horrux

    Horrux

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    735 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    ^^^
    Problem is, I have no clue about overclocking. I use to understand everything about it back in the Athlon 64 days but now I'm completely lost and seriously I don't have time for it. I prefer to run things at stock and not worry about overclocking.

    I don't think my problem needs overclocking, I think it needs just 100% performance on the hardware that I have. I'm not going to wrack my brains and risk frying my hardware to try and squeeze X % more performance out of hardware that isn't being nearly fully utilized to begin with.
  17. _ALB_R3D X

    _ALB_R3D X New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Messages:
    337 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    Tirana,Albania
    What BIOS Version do u have?
    I read somewhere that new Bios for 900 series improves SLI as well..u might wanna try that..!
  18. Wyverex

    Wyverex

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    282 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    80
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    That test is only from single player, and from what I have noticed, multiplayer is a lot more taxing on the CPU.
  19. Xaser04

    Xaser04

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    734 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    GPU under utilisation (especially in multi GPU configs) normally points to the CPU bottlenecking the system.

    A Quick way to test would be to push your X6 up to around 4GHz. If the GPU utilisation improves you are CPU limited. If it doesn't improve then something else is causing the under utilisation.

    RichieB0y - With my setup on a single 1080 screen my HD6970 is pegged at 99% load (CPU 100% load) all the time in BF3 (Max settings, No FSAA) - I also achieve higher framerates at a higher resolution despite identical GPU's. Try pushing your CPU up to around 3.6GHz (should be do able without much tweaking) to see if your GPU utilisation and thus framerates improve.
  20. alexsubri

    alexsubri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    How many CPUs are you using when you play? I've noticed mostly my 3 of my 4 cores are utilized. Sometimes 4/4 when it's bugging
  21. Horrux

    Horrux

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    735 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    On my rig the load is pretty evenly distributed on the 6 cores.
  22. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    I'm sorry if this was already mentioned or tried as I didn't bother reading anything, but have you tried to see if your PC is in power saver vs high performance mode? (Control Panel --> Power Options)
  23. Horrux

    Horrux

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    735 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    I knew a guy who was of Montreal and NJ. He was working on the 3rd floor or 800, Square Victoria here. There must not be legion. Anyway, the power options would be something to look into if my CPU were getting close to 100% load. Same thing with all the guys saying I should overclock it. My CPU is not getting utilized, why do I need to overclock it? When CPU utilization reaches high, THEN I might consider overclocking.

    But I have ascertained that the problem resides with one of the video cards. I put it into another box, fired up BF3 and lo and behold, even at med/high settings, I would sometimes get incredible FPS drops, like going from 60-70 to 2-3 for half a second, then back to 60-70, and randomly. Something is obviously wrong with the card, but I wonder if MSI will replace it.
  24. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    Hopefully you can get it replaced quickly and start killing the game with a new flawless card ;)
  25. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    Nope... My cousin was lagging in Starcraft II and I was looking at CPU usage and it was <20% the whole time... Once I put it in High Performance instead of Power Saver, it went up to 60~80%. This happened Friday lol

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page