1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Bf4 pc build

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by nneely, Jul 10, 2013.

  1. nneely

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2013
    Messages:
    39 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Washington.
    Hey guys I'm new when it comes to building a pc. Too much information is confusing for me. I understand pretty much all of the basics but when it comes to creating one that will work for a game I'm just not quite sure. I have a budget of around 850$ and I am looking for something that would run Bf4 and probably the ARMA series. It doesn't have to be at max graphics but at least medium.

    I live in the United States
    I don't need a monitor but if someone could find a mouse and keyboard that fits my budget it would be nice.
    I have no preference to brand as long as it won't break.
    Noise of fans is not really a problem as I prefer to wear headsets.


    Sorry for the guys who hate seeing so many threads about this but I hope someone with some experience could help me out. Thanks

    EDIT: it looks like the case i have will fit a graphics card. downside is the case does not have any fans in it already
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2013
  2. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,730 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,596
    Do you already have a case you can use? How about a copy of Windows?
  3. nneely

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2013
    Messages:
    39 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Washington.
    I have an old case from a Dell Inspiron llike 650 or something? I'm not sure if I could use it. I will buy a copy of windows from bestbuy because i have a gift card.
  4. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,484 (13.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,896
    I have no idea why kind of GPU will be required to run BF4. If anything, put most of your money into your graphics card.
  5. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,064 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,292
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    Are you including the cost of Windows in that $850 or is that your full budget for parts?
  6. nneely

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2013
    Messages:
    39 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Washington.
    that is the full budget for parts.
  7. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,064 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,292
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    I guess I will go first:

    Once You Know, You Newegg

    There is also an unlisted $11 coupon for the RAM. And a game coupon with the GPU. You can use that to buy a decent cooler.
  8. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,564 (6.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,023
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    power supply?
  9. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,064 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,292
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    Damn you!
  10. nneely

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2013
    Messages:
    39 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Washington.
    my current PSU is broken so it goes with the new build budget of 850.
  11. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,564 (6.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,023
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    I know. I was replying to laughingman.
  12. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,064 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,292
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    OK fixed.

    Once You Know, You Newegg

    Including the two coupons for the (RAM and PSU) will get you to $853ish. Can't promise anything on shipping cost. Can recoup by selling game coupon for $30 or so.
  13. nneely

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2013
    Messages:
    39 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Washington.
    Oh sorry! didn't notice that haha. my somewhat-ok knowledge of pc's seems to agree with this build. One question. I've heard the 8 core processors aren't really used in modern games yet. is there a more powerful quad core or is the 8 core a good processor for the price?
  14. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,064 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,292
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    Oh and get this http://www.amazon.com/dp/B009SJCPO8/?tag=tec06d-20
    that board I picked doesn't have USB 3.0 header. You should be able to find the same adapter at MicroCenter.

    Well BF3 actually used up to 6 cores if they were available. I am sure BF4 will do the same. You could get a cheaper Quad-core like the FX-4350 which has a default clock of 4.3 GHz that would be slightly better at gaming, but would lack in other areas.

    If all you do is basic stuff and game, go for it; however, at that point I would recommend switching to Intel i3-3220. It is $130 and you would still have a future drop-in upgrade path available. The i3-3220 is a 2C/4T chip is a better overall chip compared to the FX-4350. Pair it with an H77 board in the $85 range and you could get a decent CPU cooler with the money saved.

    In the end, it is up to you as this will be the PC you have to live with. I am just offering suggestions at best. In simple terms:

    No upgrading for at least 1 year (except for maybe CPU cooler): Get the FX-8320
    Plan to upgrade CPU within a year: get an i3-3220 (and matching board)
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2013
  15. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    OMG, DO NOT GET THE 3220 for BF4. There will be no upgrade path and 1155 is dead. 2600/2700 will NOT be available in a few months and neither will IvyBridge in the near future. If your going to recommend something for BF4, you need to get on a better page than this. ..... the 3220 compares with the A10-5800K AND THE 5800K BEATS IT in multi threading so it would probably be better for BF4


    The best recommendation as stated earlier is get the best GPU as possible. Look at the FX-4350 coupled with a GTX 760 or Radeon 7950.

    Another potential victim is the A10-5800K. He can save money here especially on the board.
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2013
  16. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,139 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,645
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Yea, I agree I wouldn't buy any 1155 socket stuff with 1150 out now. I'd either get AM3+, FM2, or 1150 socket. FM2 would be the cheapest choose. :toast:

    EDIT: The Richland processors look good, but I believe I would go with a i5 1150 setup with $850 to spend.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Pile driver cores or core i5 and above would probably work best with BF4 I would think...
    Mindweaver says thanks.
  18. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,410 (10.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,974
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,204 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,430
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    Given that BF4 is heavily AMD sponsored, it may be recommended to get a good HD7950 and overclock the pants off it.
  20. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,139 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,645
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Oh yea no doubt that's why I said I would go with an i5 1150 setup. I just stated that I like the new richland chips, and the reason is that it's not far from pile driver cores in performance. but really it all comes down to price, because he really can't go wrong with any of the three. Either choice he makes he'll be either cpu rich and gpu poor or cpu poor and gpu poor.. I would build a stronger cpu base if I was going to upgrade soon, but if not then gpu strong now. :toast:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,690 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    837
    If you are near microcenter, a Xeon 1230v2 ($200), 1155 z77 mobo of your choice ($100) and a 7950 ($250) would be my suggestion.
  22. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,946 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,326
    Location:
    Wyoming
    That is a great build for the money Brandon!
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  23. shovenose

    shovenose

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    795 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Go for brandon's Intel build there. Avoid AMD.
  24. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Avoid AMD is pretty much nonsence but Brandons build is pretty good for the money. You can always add another 760 in SLI as time goes by
  25. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,690 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    837
    Yeah the 760 looks like a real winner at its ~$260 price. I bet it will come down to $220 or so in a few months but even at the moment it looks to be a good value.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page