1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

BFBC2 Config Utility

Discussion in 'Programming & Webmastering' started by Mindweaver, Aug 23, 2011.

  1. Altered

    Altered

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Messages:
    909 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    129
    I just tried the New Version v1.2
    When I tried the Auto Calculate button it seemed to work but when I click Save I get the error attached.
    The Details of the error read:
    Code:
    See the end of this message for details on invoking 
    just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.
    
    ************** Exception Text **************
    System.ArgumentException: String cannot be of zero length.
    Parameter name: oldValue
       at System.String.ReplaceInternal(String oldValue, String newValue)
       at System.String.Replace(String oldValue, String newValue)
       at BFBC2_Config_Utility.Form1.bt_Save_Click(Object sender, EventArgs e)
       at System.Windows.Forms.Control.OnClick(EventArgs e)
       at System.Windows.Forms.Button.OnClick(EventArgs e)
       at System.Windows.Forms.Button.OnMouseUp(MouseEventArgs mevent)
       at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmMouseUp(Message& m, MouseButtons button, Int32 clicks)
       at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
       at System.Windows.Forms.ButtonBase.WndProc(Message& m)
       at System.Windows.Forms.Button.WndProc(Message& m)
       at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.OnMessage(Message& m)
       at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
       at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)
    
    
    ************** Loaded Assemblies **************
    mscorlib
        Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
        Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.237 (RTMGDR.030319-2300)
        CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.NET/Framework/v4.0.30319/mscorlib.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    BFBC2 Config Utility
        Assembly Version: 1.2.0.0
        Win32 Version: 1.2.0.0
        CodeBase: file:///C:/Users/Demented/Downloads/BFBC2%20Config%20Utility.exe
    ----------------------------------------
    Microsoft.VisualBasic
        Assembly Version: 10.0.0.0
        Win32 Version: 10.0.30319.1 built by: RTMRel
        CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/Microsoft.VisualBasic/v4.0_10.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/Microsoft.VisualBasic.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System
        Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
        Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.236 built by: RTMGDR
        CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Core
        Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
        Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.233 built by: RTMGDR
        CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Core/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Core.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Windows.Forms
        Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
        Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.235 built by: RTMGDR
        CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Drawing
        Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
        Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.1 built by: RTMRel
        CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Drawing/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Drawing.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Runtime.Remoting
        Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
        Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.1 (RTMRel.030319-0100)
        CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Runtime.Remoting/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Runtime.Remoting.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    
    ************** JIT Debugging **************
    To enable just-in-time (JIT) debugging, the .config file for this
    application or computer (machine.config) must have the
    jitDebugging value set in the system.windows.forms section.
    The application must also be compiled with debugging
    enabled.
    
    For example:
    
    <configuration>
        <system.windows.forms jitDebugging="true" />
    </configuration>
    
    When JIT debugging is enabled, any unhandled exception
    will be sent to the JIT debugger registered on the computer
    rather than be handled by this dialog box.


    I am using Windows 7 64bit if that matters.
     

    Attached Files:

    Mindweaver says thanks.
  2. jellyrole

    jellyrole

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,020 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    206
    Location:
    Manhattan
    I'm getting that same error on Windows 7 Ultimate x64.
     
    Mindweaver says thanks.
  3. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    I might have to dl and mess with this a bit. :D
     
    Mindweaver says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,425 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,014
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Can you guys copy and paste the out put in the Settings.ini file Tab? Just right click inside the window and select all then past in this thread with a screen shot of that tab? I'm using Windows 7 64bit as well and i've tested on XP. Thanks guys!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,425 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,014
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    New Version v1.2 Rev1 :rockout:

    Change Log v1.2.0.1
    Build v1.2 revision 1

    1. Fixed a code issue related to the Save button (I accidentally created this issue in v1.2.)


    Altered & jellyrole please try the new version and let me know if it resolved your issue? Thanks!
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2011
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. jellyrole

    jellyrole

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,020 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    206
    Location:
    Manhattan
    That fixed the first issue I was having. Same type of window now pops up when hitting save.

    Code:
    [WindowSettings]
    Width=1680
    Height=1050
    Fullscreen=true
    RefreshRate=60.933998
    VSync=false
    [Sound]
    Quality=high
    VoipEnable=true
    SpeakerCount=0
    [Graphics]
    Effects=high
    Soldiers=high
    Vehicles=medium
    Overgrowth=medium
    Undergrowth=medium
    StaticObjects=medium
    Terrain=medium
    Shadows=medium
    Bloom=true
    HSAO=false
    MSAA=3
    Water=medium
    MainQuality=medium
    Texture=high
    DxVersion=auto
    Aniso=2
    Detail=medium
    RenderAheadLimit=2
    Fov=55
    
    Code:
    See the end of this message for details on invoking 
    just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.
    
    ************** Exception Text **************
    System.ArgumentException: String cannot be of zero length.
    Parameter name: oldValue
       at System.String.ReplaceInternal(String oldValue, String newValue)
       at System.String.Replace(String oldValue, String newValue)
       at BFBC2_Config_Utility.Form1.bt_Save_Click(Object sender, EventArgs e)
       at System.Windows.Forms.Control.OnClick(EventArgs e)
       at System.Windows.Forms.Button.OnClick(EventArgs e)
       at System.Windows.Forms.Button.OnMouseUp(MouseEventArgs mevent)
       at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmMouseUp(Message& m, MouseButtons button, Int32 clicks)
       at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
       at System.Windows.Forms.ButtonBase.WndProc(Message& m)
       at System.Windows.Forms.Button.WndProc(Message& m)
       at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.OnMessage(Message& m)
       at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
       at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)
    
    
    ************** Loaded Assemblies **************
    mscorlib
        Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
        Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.237 (RTMGDR.030319-2300)
        CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.NET/Framework/v4.0.30319/mscorlib.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    BFBC2 Config Utility
        Assembly Version: 1.2.0.1
        Win32 Version: 1.2.0.1
        CodeBase: file:///R:/BFBC2%20Config%20Utility(1).exe
    ----------------------------------------
    Microsoft.VisualBasic
        Assembly Version: 10.0.0.0
        Win32 Version: 10.0.30319.1 built by: RTMRel
        CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/Microsoft.VisualBasic/v4.0_10.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/Microsoft.VisualBasic.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System
        Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
        Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.236 built by: RTMGDR
        CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Core
        Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
        Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.233 built by: RTMGDR
        CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Core/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Core.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Windows.Forms
        Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
        Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.235 built by: RTMGDR
        CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Drawing
        Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
        Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.1 built by: RTMRel
        CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Drawing/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Drawing.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Runtime.Remoting
        Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
        Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.1 (RTMRel.030319-0100)
        CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Runtime.Remoting/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Runtime.Remoting.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    
    ************** JIT Debugging **************
    To enable just-in-time (JIT) debugging, the .config file for this
    application or computer (machine.config) must have the
    jitDebugging value set in the system.windows.forms section.
    The application must also be compiled with debugging
    enabled.
    
    For example:
    
    <configuration>
        <system.windows.forms jitDebugging="true" />
    </configuration>
    
    When JIT debugging is enabled, any unhandled exception
    will be sent to the JIT debugger registered on the computer
    rather than be handled by this dialog box.
    
    
    [​IMG]
     
    Mindweaver says thanks.
  7. Altered

    Altered

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Messages:
    909 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    129
    I still get an error like jellyrole.
    Here is the Settings.ini file Tab you requested.

    Code:
    [WindowSettings]
    Width=1920
    Height=1080
    Fullscreen=true
    RefreshRate=60
    VSync=false
    [Sound]
    Quality=medium
    VoipEnable=false
    SpeakerCount=0
    [Graphics]
    Effects=high
    Soldiers=high
    Vehicles=high
    Overgrowth=high
    Undergrowth=high
    StaticObjects=high
    Terrain=high
    Shadows=high
    Bloom=true
    HSAO=true
    MSAA=2
    Water=high
    MainQuality=high
    Texture=high
    DxVersion=auto
    Aniso=2
    Detail=high
    RenderAheadLimit=2
    Fov=85
    
     

    Attached Files:

    Mindweaver says thanks.
  8. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,425 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,014
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    I see the problem in yours. It's your RefreshRate=60.933998. Try going into your settings file and changing that to a Whole number like 60. I've got that field to only look for whole numbers. If you need some help changing that let me know. :toast: I'll work on trying to search for none whole numbers as well in a later build. Also change DxVersion to 9,10, or 11.

    Aw I see your problem as well. it's the DxVersion=auto field. I have that field set to read only numbers. I'll try to get that fixed in the next build. You can manually change that in the settings.ini file to 9, 10, or 11 and get by until i fix it. :toast: Thanks guys! :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,425 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,014
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    New Version v1.2 Rev2 :rockout:


    Change Log v1.2.0.2
    Build v1.2 revision 2

    1.Fixed not be able to read/write "DxVersion=auto". This should fix purecain, Altered, and jellyrole's issue.
    2 Added more mouse over Tips.
    3. "auto" can now be selected as a DxVersion.


    Oh and jellyrole you can have that odd refresh rate. My app just wont remove the ".933998" on the end.
     
    Altered says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Altered

    Altered

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Messages:
    909 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    129
    Seems to be working well now. :D
     
    Mindweaver says thanks.
  11. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,425 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,014
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    New Version v1.3 :rockout:


    Change Log v1.3
    1. Moved FOV settings to the General Tab with Resolution settings.
    2. Moved around settings in Graphics Tab.
    3. General Tab background Image change to reflect new settings.
     
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2011
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. jellyrole

    jellyrole

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,020 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    206
    Location:
    Manhattan
    Works great now!
     
    Mindweaver says thanks.
  13. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,425 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,014
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Thanks for the feed back! :toast: I've got a small build I may put up later today. Just a few tweaks. :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. CrackerJack

    CrackerJack

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,713 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    452
    Location:
    East TN
    Looks good man, I did something similar to this in the past but never uploaded it... I don't have good UI Design skills lol
     
    Mindweaver says thanks.
  15. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,031 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,423
    Heres something you can add to the app.

    mouse De-accleration options.

    there was an app about in the past that did this. then EA patched BC2 over then it was never clear if it ever worked again.
     
    Mindweaver says thanks.
  16. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,425 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,014
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Thanks! I'd like to see it. Did you do it in vb? :toast:

    Thanks I'll add that in an update. :toast: Mouse acceleration is bad. :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. CrackerJack

    CrackerJack

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,713 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    452
    Location:
    East TN
    Yep
     
  18. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,425 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,014
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Nice
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. Altered

    Altered

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Messages:
    909 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    129
    :respect: Congrats on a nice tool. I have not had any issues since v1.3.

    I really hope you get one out early for BF3 it would surely be a huge hit. Since BC2 has been out so long its not in very high demand. Most have already got through setting their game up. Most of our clan doesn't play much anymore due to being burned out. So please don't be discouraged if the BC2 one is not a huge hit. This is a good idea and I look forward to a BC3 version. :D
     
    Mindweaver says thanks.
  20. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,425 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,014
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Thanks Altered! I plan to have a BF3 Config Utility out the first week I get the beta. :toast: I can't wait!.. hehehe and yea I don't even play BFBC2 anymore.. hehehe all of this is for BF3 and to find out what every body wants settings wise. :toast: I'd like to get some testers. I'll add them on the utility page as Official BF3 Config Utility Testers. If you are interested send me a PM. Thanks! :toast: that goes for anyone willing to test. :toast:
     
    Altered says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. CrackerJack

    CrackerJack

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,713 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    452
    Location:
    East TN
    Yeah I seen no point doing it in C. I started working on it again, I'll bring it out soon. :)

    Note I'll be doing Skyrim when it releases, and several others... I'm leaving cod and battlefield to you
     
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2011
    Mindweaver says thanks.
  22. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,425 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,014
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Nice! I want Skyrim (The game) and I'll definitely get your app! :toast:

    I'll be putting up a new BFBC2 Config Utility version today! :toast: be sure to grab it. :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,425 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,014
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    New Version v1.4 :rockout:

    Change Log v1.4
    1. Made changes to the General Tab.
    2. Now when you select speaker count it tells you what the setting does.
    3. Added a new Profiles Tab. This lets you save different profiles.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,619
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    I'm working on a Minesweeper config utility. :D

    Good work all. It's nice to see more game utilities coming out of TPU.
     
    CrackerJack and Mindweaver say thanks.
  25. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,425 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,014
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Thanks Kreij! I'll be sure to get your Minesweeper config utility! :toast: :D
     
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2011
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page