1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

BFBC2:Vietnam - 6900 series cards and artifacts

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by f0d, Jan 13, 2011.

  1. f0d New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    72 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    i was just wondering if there is anyone out there that can test bfbc2:vietnam with their unmodded 6950 or 6970's
    im getting artifacts with my modded 6950 mainly on a certain map - vantage point conquest and while under trees/bushes and in the shadows, settings 8xaa all high (even bloom and hbao - never use them while playing but turned them on to test the card)
    the artifacts are small black or white blobs or blotches that quickly flash on the screen

    heres is a video
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KDHvow6ILpQ

    thanks in advance if you can help ;)



    edit: found more - hopefully drivers
    red faction guerilla (pink artifacts in the sky)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0Z4_KLbGyh8


    3dmark vantage jane nash test on extreme preset (performance is fine)

    extreme (artifacts)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lbU2uB7fdJ8
    performance (cant see the artifacts)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tBv517ciMVc
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2011
  2. JousteR

    JousteR

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    168 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    I get those too,same map aswell..got everything on full also..?
    So i dont think its down to just you :)
     
  3. joeyck New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    716 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    What PSU do u have? (watts and brand?) - new PSU maybe

    Over clocked? - if so set it to stock

    Reinstall graphics drivers Click here! or wait for more mature drivers to come out!

    reformat

    RMA

    do these in that list...
     
  4. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,142 (4.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,781
    Location:
    04578
    for Bad Company 2 force DX10 mode via the INI file it stops the artifacts 3dmark11 i dont bother with so kinda worthless. That said its a driver issue or lack there of of a real driver 10.12a is pretty much a stop gap for the 6900s to function
     
    f0d and joeyck say thanks.
  5. f0d New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    72 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    my psu is a seasonic x-750 so i doubt it is that
    it was modded to a 6970 until i noticed the artifacts - have been on standard 6950 settings ever since

    i have uninstalled and reinstalled graphics drivers many times now even using driver sweeper to completely clean them out

    to me it seemed like a hardware error but there are a few others with the same problem so im hoping it is a driver or game bug or something

    is yours a stock 6970 or a never modded 6950?

    thanks for that - im gonna go and try it now
     
  6. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,142 (4.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,781
    Location:
    04578
    good luck
     
  7. JousteR

    JousteR

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    168 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Mine are 2x5850's thats what leads me to think it's map specific.
    Try what crazyeyed suggests it could be just a dx 11 issue..although that said i havenot noticed it until i played earlier today..?
     
    f0d says thanks.
  8. f0d New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    72 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    well that definatly makes me think its some kind of driver issue then if you get it with 58xx series cards

    hopefully my card isnt dead after all :) the artifacts seem to be only in a very few places in a few games/programs
    maybe i found every bug in the cat 10.12 drivers lol
     
  9. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,142 (4.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,781
    Location:
    04578
    i look at it this way

    Does Heaven Bench run without issue?

    Does Alien Vs Predator Bench run without issue?

    Does Stalker Call of Prypit Bench run without issue?

    if so its a driver issue if artifacts persist on all those DX11 titles then its a GPU problem
     
  10. Qed New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    102 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I hope for all of you it is only a driver problem, but I have an HD6950 and i dont have any. I seriously doubt it is a driver issue.

    If it is a ram problem you will see artifacts even in DX10, it might just be in a different way.
     
  11. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,142 (4.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,781
    Location:
    04578
    nah its a DX11 + driver issue

    otherwise all DX11 apps would do it

    and everything works fine and dandy for me except BC2 in DX11 mode. heres the kicker DX11 mode in BC2 only effects SHADOW filtering etc thus its not really using DX11 to any great extent while every real DX11 app that uses tessellation i have 0 issues this includes even Metro 2033 with the Direct COmpute blur filter + tessellation no issues. for me its just BC2 being a pos port lol
     
  12. f0d New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    72 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    i do have some small heaven artifacts in dx10 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_NX96OHZ-lw (best viewed in hd/fullscreen) the first one seems to be on all cards - but not sure if anyone else gets the second artifact with that certain angle (hard to get) and the light flashing up

    i dont have the rest of the games
     
  13. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,886 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    it looks to me like a vrm overheat temp artifacts but maybe not?? could be amd's rediculously premeature drivers for the hd69XX cards
     
  14. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,142 (4.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,781
    Location:
    04578
    i say driver issue

    The first heaven bench artifact is normal Unigine did something stupid they overlapped geometry what your seeing there is the render engine dosent know which one to display so it screws up. The 2nd artifact i havent seen before then again i dont random take control of the camera and look at black spots either :roll:

    you dont need the games

    Call of Prypit

    AvP

    they have bench tools you can download right here on TPU.
     
  15. JousteR

    JousteR

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    168 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    I never got this popping lights thing untill i installed the newest drivers..To me it's not that much of an issue as it's only that specific map and i can live with that untill newer drivers(hopefully with the fix included) are relesed.:D
     
  16. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,302 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,526
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    Depends if clocks are oc's or not. If it does it at stock, def a driver issue.

    And.... BFBC2 had pretty poor driver issues with shaders (as reaper has alluded to) back when maps took ages to load up (set it to DX 9/10? cleared it all up.) They did driver fix that bug but it's likely these drivers still require tweaking.
     
  17. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,142 (4.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,781
    Location:
    04578
    the driver that had 0 issues for me was 10.4a otherwise every driver since has always had issues in DX11 for me with BC2 forcing DX10 via ini always resolved that bug tho
     
  18. f0d New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    72 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    AVP was fine through 5 runs

    downloading Call of Prypit now
     
  19. Qed New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    102 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    BC2 just doesnt use tessellation. It used Shaders 5.0, Multithreaded Rendering, and the water effects.
     
  20. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,142 (4.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,781
    Location:
    04578
    uh

    PCGH: We also know that Bad Company 2 is featured by Frostbite Engine 1.x. Can you tell us the technical highlights of Frostbite Engine (for example SSAO, Depth of Field, Deferred Lighting or Global Illumination)? If yes can you please give examples how this rendering techniques are utilized in Battlefield Bad Company 2 (DoF while aiming for example)?

    Anders Gyllenberg: The base renderer is a forward renderer. Some feature highlights would be an advanced SSAO technique called HBAO (Horizon-based Ambient Occlusion), DOF during cutscenes, particle systems optimized for huge amounts of particles, soft particle blending, and soft shadowmap filtering (DX11 only).

    PCGH: Can you confirm that the PC version utilizes DirectX 11 (at GDC 2009, Johan Andersson showed some cool rendering features)? If yes, what were the deciding technical advantages of the DX11 API? In what way does it allow you to optimize or simplify the rendering process (we’ve heard you’re using Direct Compute for deferred shading)?

    Anders Gyllenberg: Yes we can confirm that we support Dx11. The main benefits for us are efficient soft shadowmap filtering, and some smaller performance optimizations.

    PCGH: Are there some graphical features that can only be rendered with shader model 5 hardware and how you realize them (especially Hardware-Tessellation and Direct Compute 5 for accelerated Ambient Occlusion)?

    Anders Gyllenberg: We are using some shader model 5 instructions for improving performance with the soft shadow filtering. Other than that, the game engine is designed to run well with shader model 3 and 4 hardware.

    PCGH: Developing for Console (and PC) usually requires an engine that is strongly multithreaded. What different calculations can be or are split up into different threads/worker jobs and what is the expected performance gain resulting from two respectively four (or more) cores? You are using DX11-Multithreading to lighten the load on the CPU?

    Anders Gyllenberg: Most of the CPU processing is parallelized – culling, rendering, physics, audio, animations, collision etc. Performance increases noticeably with a quad core. We are currently not using DX11-multithreading.


    So yea soft shadowmaps = DX11 that's it everything else is still shader 4.0 at best because tada DX11 allows the mix and matching of said features due tho how the API's pipeline is configured.

    Now your listing off features DX11 offers dosen't mean Bad Company 2 magically uses them that's a huge misconception like the retarded ppl that think adding a PhysX card will magically make all PC games run faster

    Alright class thats it for today class is dismissed.
     
  21. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,004 (7.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,546
    10.12 drivers are crap. Go back to the 10.10e unless you play StarCraft.

    10.10e has a lot of WIN.
     
  22. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,142 (4.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,781
    Location:
    04578
    yea uh mailman 10.10e driver performance sucks with 6900 cards been there done that difference in bad company 2 was nearly 35-40% less for me then again your on 5800 series i didnt move away from 10.4a ever on my 5800s lol 6900s its 10.12a or bust pretty much from a performance standpoint at least from the experiences ive had
     
  23. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,004 (7.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,546
    Shit I didnt know you made the jump to 69xx. I thought you were still rocking the 5850's.
     
  24. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,142 (4.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,781
    Location:
    04578
    nope dual 6970s bro thus why im putting my weight into the thread trying to clear up some misconceptions with the games being tested and why i can push the point that its a driver issue. Theres some strange quirks on the 6900s that we need a driver revision to fix.

    a good example is GTA IV on 6900 series the game is stuck at all low settings 800x600 and you cant change it not even with hacks and works arounds which im working with rockstar on right now, to resolve. The cards are great otherwise just need a REAL driver not a patched driver for halfassed support thats all.
     
  25. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,004 (7.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,546
    Well I wish ya luck man. I'm waiting for the 7xxx series. IMO both camps failed us this round.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page