1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

BFBC2 Weird framerate issue

Discussion in 'Games' started by Sc1mitar, Mar 4, 2010.

  1. Sc1mitar New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    134 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Edmonton
    Q6600 @ 3.0 ghz
    4870
    4gb ram
    win7 x64

    So im playin fine, lala, getting like 50-85 fps, avg 60 fps at all times in firefights, running around, etc, etc game plays great. 1280x1024,High settings except shadows and effects medium, 2xAA and 4x AF. no vsync or hbao. 80 fov.

    Then all of a sudden i randomly drop to 30 fps. game sits there at 30 fps as if its being capped, happens a couple times a game. Only way to get it to go back up is to look straight down at the ground, which then brings it back up to normal. Doesnt necessarily happen during firefights, it seems to appear randomly. Very annoying.

    Is anyone else experiencing something like this? Ive googled and havent found anything substantial.

    Any advice??

    Matt
     
  2. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    8,048 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,802
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    I noticed a similar drop to around 50fps this evening, and a few other guys I know with GTX260's, 8800GTX 512's, and sli 8800GT's had similar complaints in a similar range as yours. I think it happens with the "smoke/fog" snow/sand, at least that's when I seemed to notice it, but other times I'd be in a thick storm w/o issue.

    For an official release I'm kinda disappointed, but still content with the game itself. If it wasn't sooo damn fun to play, I'd probably let it slide by the wayside (AvP...which sucks, I wanted to like that game). But hopefully the servers, joining bugs, the fps dip I've heard you and quite a few others mention and even noticed are resolved...there are some parts that performed much better in Beta than now, and vice-versa, shouldn't be a trade-off, but many people called it. Like I said before, luckily this game's a blast to play when it's working well, which most of the time tonight it did for me.

    On your FPS, really no advice, but I do have some curiosity...why are you running a 4:3 ratio on a 16:10 monitor? If you have the x223W, this is what I found: http://www.walmart.com/ip/Acer-X223...0000003142050&ci_src=14110944&ci_sku=13216415

    Now...that defaults at 1680x1050 which you shouldn't have any issues with, but you may try 1440x900...unless you're running that resolution to compensate for FOV or something. I'm running 70FOV @ 1920x1080 and it seems to be about perfect for me. I'm averaging about 70FPS, lowest lows in the 50's, I've seen hi's around 102, 1920x1080, 4x msaa, 16x af, hbao on, vsync off, all high. Just got this HD5870, still running stock, it's a seriously smokin' card!

    :toast:
     
  3. Sc1mitar New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    134 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Edmonton
    Yeah thats the monitor. I run 1280x1024 because i get the best framerate/gfx quality ratio at it. Plus things are a bit bigger so its easier to see at a higher FOV. At 1650x1080 i just dont get the framerate i want all the time. At 1280 it just seems to run smoother with less drops. When i overclocked my Q6600 to 3.0 ghz i actually gained an average of 15-20 fps. Pretty ridiculous IMO.

    I turned up the fan on my 4870 to like 75% from like 30% which makes it loud as fuck but it seems to be occuring less frequently now. Probably nothing to do with it but i dunno.

    The weird thing is it doesnt always happen. I can fight like 10 people and have no problem and then all of a sudden when im walkin it drops down. Its really fuckin strange.

    Matt
     
  4. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    i think this game has been the culprit of my gpu clocks.

    Lately if I altab bc2 my gpu will go from 925/1275 to 400/900 and the only way to fix is to reboot. I too go from like normal frames to around 30-40 and then i check gpuz and my clocks are locked stange.

    But in your scenario i think your GPU is getting maxxed out. If you can look at the ground and it catches up then goes back to normal then something is just getting tax'd imo and 512mb of vram really aint cutting it for this game

    might wanna try running all medium settings and af to 2x
     
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2010
  5. MatTheCat New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    883 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    129
    This happens to me in MW2...and the only way I know to fix it is too restart the game.
     
  6. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Oh, you went for the red side :) Though you had the GTX260 for quite a while, good time for an upgrade.

    Try medium details. That had biggest impact for me, rest of the settings didn't really matter.

    I had a weird beta experience, high just wouldn't run smooth, it was in the 30s always and felt laggy. While Kursah ran happily high.

    One time it ran great, it was an empty server and frames in the 70s. Though it was because it was empty, but never could I repeat that performance.

    You could also try and mess with the renderahead limit in the settings.ini. 0,2 or 3. 2=default 0=beta(start) and 3=other usable setting without input lag. 1=don't use that(dice)

    Still waiting for my copy to arrive so I could start messing with the settings and see how it compares to the beta experience.
     
  7. KingPing

    KingPing

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    831 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    276
    Location:
    Argentina (South America)
    Similar issue here.

    Q9550 3.8Ghz - 4870 - 8Gb RAM -1440x900 ---> the game lags ramdomly, specially in desert area.

    E8400 3.0Ghz - 5770 - 4Gb RAM - 1920x1080 ----> game runs fine:confused:

    all maxed out exept shadows and AA 2x in both PCs

    i expecting a patch:wtf:
     
  8. CreeTar New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hey :)
    I play along as well and suddenly my frame rate goes down to 25%
    First the GPU activity goes down, then the frames. CPU activity is increasing
    then and everything else e.g. shader core, mem i/o goes down.

    For me this is clearly and AMD/ATI issue since this was not reported on NVIDIA

    [​IMG]
    http://s10.directupload.net/images/100421/4hqo7246.gif
     
    TRIPTEX_CAN says thanks.
  9. Bundy

    Bundy

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,121 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    157
    I agree with Onboard. When I was using an 8800Ultra, I had the same problem and needed to run with medium setting to hold framerate, not so with 5850 crossfire I have now. The problem was that the 8800 was maxing out.

    So medium setting or a better GPU is needed I think.

    There is one other way of lagging up the game that I found. Torrents - remember to turn them off before starting the game lol.
     
  10. MadClown

    MadClown New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,362 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    Location:
    NY, the state were you cant defend yourself
    BC2 has been running fine for me on my 4870, 1440x900 no vsync, no hbao, no bloom, no AA, max AF, 65 FOV, averaging around 60-70 here with minimal dips. Then again I haven't played in a few days so im not sure if a patch came out and effed everything up since then.
     
  11. Paintface

    Paintface New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    389 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
  12. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,176 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Are you on a win7? Your drivers may have "stopped working" or something like that.
     
  13. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,566 (11.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,836
    this could also be third party stuff.


    we have an ongoing thread about how wireless mice and keyboards can cause FPS dips, or it could be something like Xfire of fraps conflicting.

    hell, could even be your antivirus.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page