1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

BFG 9800GT or GTX 280?

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by C2567, Mar 5, 2009.

  1. C2567 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Srilanka
    Hi. new here..
    I'm thinking of upgrading my Graphics card (a 9400GT palit 1GB)
    what do you think, I do editing (I use Adobe AE, PS, Maya and I use double display)

    And if Possible can you reccomend any other video card for my needs?

    -Ashinka-
     
  2. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    The GTX 280 is more powerful. If you aren't gaming the 9400GT is still fine.
     
  3. C2567 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Srilanka
    thanks.
     
  4. C2567 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Srilanka
    is the Inno3D nVIDIA GeForce 9800GT Graphics Card - 512MB GDDR3 - PCI-E - 256-Bit - Dual DVI - VISTA READY - 600MHz GPU - 1800MHz Memory clock - HDCP - HDTV good??
     
  5. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Yea, it's ok but there are better cards for the money here in the US. I don't know about Srilanka tho.
     
  6. kyle2020 Guest

    depends what your doing - for the stuff you've listed I wouldnt bother spending any money and stick with the 9400. If your a gamer, and depending on your monitor size / res, Id recommend anything between a 4850 to a 280.
     
  7. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,249 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,188
    I agree, if your not gaming, stay with the 9400 and use the money to upgrade parts that you need to be strong for the stuff you do. Quad core CPU or more RAM would probably be better for you as upgrades(depending on your current hardware).
     
    C2567 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. C2567 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Srilanka
    Thank you
     
  9. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Some of those programs will take advantage of CUDA, in which case it maybe valuable to pickup a spunkier card, but I wouldn't go much above a 9500GT-9800GT if you need/want the extra boost in cuda supported applications.

    If you post your entire system specs, it can help us help you with the best decisions.
     
    C2567 says thanks.
  10. C2567 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Srilanka
    Intel core 2 quad 2.83Ghz with 12mb Cache
    8GB DDR2 800Mhz (4x2GB)
    Palit Geforce 9400GT 1GB
    500GB HDD 16MB cache
    750W power supply
    thats the basics I guess, anything else just ask.

    Dont worry about the price I'm rich Lolz (though on a budget for under 500$)

    EDIT - oh, and a ASUS P5N-D nForce, vista 64bit (Home premium),
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2009
  11. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    For gaming, definitly a GTX 280.
     
  12. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Which version of Adobe are you running CS4? CS4 uses Cuda.
    Maya '08 I think and newer *if out yet* will use Cuda.

    I built a system VERY similar to yours but with a 3x 160gb Raid 5
    and a GTX280, the thing FLEW without a doubt.

    Depends though like I said, what are you looking to speed up here and by how much.
    Your not going to get much faster on the processor without flipping the whole thing over to an I7.
     
  13. C2567 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Srilanka
    @ CDdude55 - I dont do gaming, I only play solitaire to waste time
     
    CDdude55 says thanks.
  14. C2567 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Srilanka
    ok, then GTX 280 it is then, anybody care to add? I use CS3
     
  15. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Wait, why do you need a GTX 280? What's wrong with your 9400GT?
     
  16. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Oh ok, well the GTX 280 is still a really powerful card as said above. Should work well with your editing and what not.

    I plan to get a GTX 260/GTX 280 for gaming whenever i get a job.:)
     
  17. C2567 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Srilanka
    nothing, I just need more power
     
  18. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    CS3 wont make use of Cuda, but if you upgrade it certainly will..

    But if you want a real killer card for extra power in cuda applications, that card will give it!
     
  19. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    If you don't game GTX 280 will be a waste of money and heat up everything else in the case :) Out of those 2 9800GT, but why not get a 9800GTX+/GTS 250 as a compromise? Plenty powerfull if you stray to another game besides solitair and will seriously kick 9400GT butt.

    If I were you though I'd get/make a passive 9600-9800GT.
     
  20. C2567 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Srilanka
    I think I'll go with 9600GT, thanks for the help. Or maybe I'll keep the 9400GT its not bad...
     
  21. OzzmanFloyd120

    OzzmanFloyd120

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,047 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    Location:
    Pontaic Michigan
    Go with the 9600GT, they're really nice, well-rounded cards and will do exactly what you need and more.
     
  22. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,249 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,188
    why not just keep the 9400 gt and make the system silent by getting a water cooling set-up. A newer card really won't benefit you unless you upgrade your adobe to CS4 to use CUDA like niko said.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. C2567 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Srilanka
    ok, thanks... so I'll upgrade to DDR3 1066Mhz RAM and a water cooling system?
     
  24. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    DDR3 1066? U mean DDR2. IMO u shouldn't upgrade at all ATM.
     
  25. C2567 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Srilanka
    what do you mean? isnt there 1066Mhz DDR3 4GB RAM?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page