1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Big 4850 problem

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by SirJangly, Jul 8, 2008.

  1. SirJangly

    SirJangly New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    800 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    Location:
    Antioch, CA
    So I just installed the 8.7b DNA drivers. Everything actually installed perfectly, but I'm getting a 1.0 for graphics in the windows index, and check out this screen shot from gpu-z:

    http://gpuz.techpowerup.com/08/07/09/e8t.png

    :eek:!!
     
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2008
  2. remmeh New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Try booting in safemode... Does Vista have a boot in VGA mode like XP does?
     
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,709 (13.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,108
    ATi Tools does not support the HD48xx series. It's probablly best you uninstall it so there are no confilcts.
     
  4. SirJangly

    SirJangly New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    800 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    Location:
    Antioch, CA
    Ahhh yep. Ut3 runs just as crappy :-\
     
  5. ShogoXT

    ShogoXT New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    974 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Which drivers are you running? You should use the hotfix drivers for now and the hotfix only. Those are the drivers everyone is using for the 4850. Also I was running UT3 the other day, besides the mouse being weird and sluggish because of the games strange sensitivity setting, it was running great.

    Oh I might know why. You can have all the advanced graphics options on, but keep post processing options to default. All it does anyway is make things ULTRA MEGA GLOWYYY WOOO. Yea its not needed. I almost get blinded from it sometimes.

    AA should work fine, but you need to enable it in CCC.

    Use 2x or 4x for starters, but I think ive been able to get 8x just fine. Pretty sure its just the post processing that screws me over.
     
  6. SirJangly

    SirJangly New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    800 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    Location:
    Antioch, CA
    I am on the hotfix :( Also, I've done everything you mentioned by default. AA isn't even on either! :(
     
  7. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,634 (4.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,534
    ok the utilities you downloaded do not support R4 Cards yet.
     
  8. SirJangly

    SirJangly New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    800 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    Location:
    Antioch, CA
    Which utilities?
     
  9. SirJangly

    SirJangly New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    800 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    Location:
    Antioch, CA
    Also, now there's an orange tint to everything. From desktop to games, it sticks o_O
     
  10. SirJangly

    SirJangly New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    800 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    Location:
    Antioch, CA
    bump. new issue!
     
  11. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,709 (13.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,108
    I'm starting to think it's your motherboard or something HP related not mixing well with the 4850. I don't know what to tell you man...
     
  12. ShogoXT

    ShogoXT New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    974 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Could you give us EXACT specs of your comp? Like not just brand but model number too. Would help us out alot.
     
  13. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,709 (13.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,108
    Yes, thanks. Look at other people's system specs for reference. You seem to give us as little information as possible. That's not going to help solve your problem.

    You stated that you are using 8.7b DNA drivers. Which one is it?
     
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2008

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page