1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Big Problem! Start Button wont work, and Desktop Icons gone!

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Velvet Wafer, Jun 1, 2012.

  1. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    Yesterday my System started to go a little jerky, and i rebooted, as usual, when that happens
    After Reboot, my Desktop Icons where gone, even tho, all names were displayed properly, and i also was able to click them as usual.
    Start Button does blink when pressed, but no Menu at all shows up, no matter how often i click it.

    I already tried several SFC /scannows, chkdsk, scanning for malware with Spybot, which found some, but brought no improvement upon removing them.
    Finally i tried to replace the msshsq.dll and HotStartUserAgent.dll, both from this Windows itself, and from a secondary windows which worked normally. i did put both files in the windows folder, system32 and syswow64, files were from Here

    Sadly, i wasnt able to get any improvement :(

    Hope you guys know a trick how i can get this to run again, without having to reinstall! :)
  2. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,901 (7.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,487
    You try Malwarebytes, MSE and Kapersky boot disk? You my friend have a nasty on your rig. Even if you get it cleaned off I would reinstall.
  3. arnoo1

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    743 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Maybe there were a few updates dat didn't installed propperly, i once had a similair problem, i just restored the OS to a few days back and worked fine
  4. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,343 (6.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,362
    Location:
    IA, USA
    explorer.exe is locking up
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,519 (4.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,948
    try CCleaner.
  6. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    after trying round, i still got no improvement... fort gt90, your idea of the explorer exe locking up now even went to truth... from time to time it began to crash and to instantly restart itself, when i tried to change the iso in magic disk, for example.it also happened on other occasions. Also, i cant get to the device manager via the system tab, every clickable option besides the one that brings you to the system control, has vanished!

    currently trying malwarebytes, lets see if that brings any benefits....
    And people, what i really need, is someone who can say me which of my systems file is most probably compromised, wouldnt it be the easiest to just exchange them from a working system? (still have one on another drive)
  7. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,343 (6.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,362
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Suggests BSOD. Disable automatic restarting on system failure.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,901 (7.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,487
    No the best thing to do would be reinstall your OS and stop using torrents. The OS is shot man. Let it go.
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,011 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,404
    i've seen viruses do this - they nuke your desktop and start menu and start their own little doodad, basically offering an antivirus to fix the problem if you're dumb enough to enter your credit card details.

    if thats what happened to you, sounds like it only half worked.



    quite seriously - format and reinstall. dont waste your time repairing a broken OS.
  10. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    I never torrent, and i was under a pretty good Antivirus Protection till this spontaneosly happened after a restart, when my system went a little jerky, like instability, you know?;)


    this hasnt happened to me, at least not that. Basically thats the outcome of a restart of a jerky system, like in instable jerky, and while the Antivirus (Comodo) was activated the whole time.
    According to every tool i can find, my system is clean, and the data is good.
    Im just very curious, why this simply should happen, without even leaving a bad entry in SFC, and without beeing repairable by system restores.

    Of course, a reinstall can be made possible, but then i need to ask:
    Is there a tool, with which i can save my registry files and settings etc, but without reusing the whole system (like in acronis)?
    Usually reinstalling is a good lot of work for me! :D

    Still, i would want to know which system files can be compromised... simple "reinstall" tips wont do me much good here i think, and i guess you know im that clever at least ;)
    Especially your "tips" Mailman, are not that helpful! :laugh:
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2012
  11. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,901 (7.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,487
    Download Kapersky boot disk and boot from it. Let it connect online download the latest updates and run it. It will take a few hours but that will confirm if your system is clean or not. It scans everything without letting the OS on the HD launch. Once infected a lot of antivirus become usless. This is why you need to scan it in an external way.

    Oh and Comodo sucks.
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  12. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    www.ninite.com Might help some VW. I have no other insight, I'm a hardware guy. Sorry =/
    Velvet Wafer says thanks.
  13. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    oh well, i can try that... any anecdotes how good it is compared to normal malware software?

    I dont respect your Word enough tho for believing in your anti-comodo propaganda! :p

    EDIT:
    Really nice tool there Jr!
    Should speed up the process at least a good bit, thanks for that!
  14. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,901 (7.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,487
    It scans the HD and boot sectors without booting into the infected HD. This is impossible to do from an infected HD.
  15. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    cant i just boot into my secondary os, and do it from there?
  16. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,901 (7.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,487
    Or you could infect the second OS with a nasty rootkit.

    I know you dont like me Wafer but Im giving you sound advice.
  17. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    come on, mailman... that almost sounds paranoid! :laugh:
    I had viruses, some pretty bad ones, in my life, but one that agressive, that it would actively search for another OS, and destroy it, never came up for me... up until now the other os runs fine, even tho i use it as a secondary os since about a year i think ;)
  18. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Little tip; Get Easeus' ToDO Backup Free. I have yet to use the bootable media option but could potentially create an image that comes clean right-after-needed software installation. Then can restore that, just make sure you backup an uncorrupted image without any overclock. Could potentially save you about an hour or 2.
  19. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    yeah, that sounds for something to do in the future, so i can always just restore to that and dont have to reinstall! thanks :)
  20. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,901 (7.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,487
    I saw one jump a network and wipe out 3 rigs about two months ago. Also booting into a second OS doesnt mean it will scan the boot sectors. You would have to download TDSSKiller for that on to the infected HD. This is why I told you to use a boot disk to scan. MS, Kapersky and Symantic make these disks for a reason.
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  21. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    @TMM

    So far **knock on wood** I have had nothing but good luck from MSE, and just came out of a 5 reformat/reinstall within a 2 week period.
  22. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,901 (7.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,487
    MSE with an occasional Malwarebytes scan and smart practice is all you really need man.
  23. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,468 (10.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,010
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    If anyone on this forum wears tin hats when it comes to viruses, that would be TMM! He's right though you need to reformat and reinstall.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,901 (7.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,487
    All Im trying to do is help the guy confrim he isnt infected. Once we do that he will have to reinstall anyway. However I dont want him to reinstall, copy everything back over and get the same damn virus again. Instead hes being bull headed.
    Velvet Wafer says thanks.
  25. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    i remember something like that too... for me that was in the days of Sasser E, when our local school network was infected... hell, but it never was that of a problem for me, after they brought out the fixes, my rig was running nicely again after the infection.

    Just tell me the best Program to do that, from all of your choices (your personal preference) and please dont bombard me with names. Thanks!

    Also, i know you love yourself, and your "high seat", but please, for this problem i need down to earth help and no one trying to patronize me. again, thanks.

    The original Question was, that someone please names me all the system files, that are possibly involved with a specific scenario like mine, and the reasons there are (which are not always Viruses), so i can possibly exchange every single one of them (i did that to broken OSes time and time again, and it worked)

    Bullheaded is the right term you use for me, my old Friend Mailboy! Youre not better than me! :D

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page