1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Big Typhoon in a Thermaltake Armor w/25cm fan?

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by x800professor, Jan 18, 2007.

  1. x800professor

    x800professor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    894 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Do you guys think a Big Typhoon would fit in a Thermaltake Armor w/25cm fan?

    I'm planning on attaching it to an e6600 on an EVGA nForce 680i SLI motherboard. I'm building a new computer with a nice x1950XT and some corsair TWIN2X2048-6400C4 ram. This isn't my first build (that was a PIII-450 machine years ago), but I'm a bit apprehensive about clicking that checkout button on newegg because I'm not sure if the big typhoon will fit with that big side fan. If it does fit, that fan should work with the big typhoon to keep my CPU chilly at beyond 3.0GHz I think. Also, anyone using that EVGA board or the x1950XT with anything to say about either of them? Thanks in advance!
  2. Boneface

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,492 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    85
    Well as for the 1950xt i would go for the HIS version i have the saphhire version and kicking my ass for not getting the his one
  3. x800professor

    x800professor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    894 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    The HIS is 299.99-30 mir, while the sapphire is 249.99-30 mir. So $269.99 vs $219.99. Is it worth $50? Those are newegg prices by the way.
  4. x800professor

    x800professor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    894 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Let me think here. The armor is about 221mm wide. The fan sticks out about an inch and a half or so, which is about 38mm. Let's just eliminate 15mm for side thickness, motherboard and whatever. The typhoon is about 127mm tall. So 221-38-15=168. 168>127. Does anyone have any thoughts about this? That leaves about 41mm or a little over an inch and a half between the fans. Well, what do you think?
  5. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    I got the HIS Radeon X1950XT IceQ3 Turbo just cuz of the cooler it would of cost me more when I got mine, cuz to get the Saphhire and the Zalman vf900 was $15 more when i got my card

    and on the case cuz if it doesnt fit cant you put the case fan on the outside??
  6. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    Why are you kicking your self in the a$$:confused:
  7. x800professor

    x800professor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    894 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    The armor should be extremely well ventilated...I wonder what that will do to the temps on the x1950XT...

    [​IMG]

    Good thinking on the fan outside the case, but I don't think it would work in this situation.

    [​IMG]
  8. oinkypig

    oinkypig

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    262 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    ya, it will definitely fit in the case. i own a black Tt Armor w/ side panel, but w/o the fan. i also have a big typhoon in that case on my AMD 3800 x2 @ 2.75Ghz and ive got about 3-5 inches to spare between the typhoon and the side panel.

    THE BIG TYPHOON WILL FIT IN THAT CASE
  9. x800professor

    x800professor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    894 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Thank you. Now as soon as I'm done worrying over whether or not to get the x1950XT I'll be buying my new rig.
  10. oinkypig

    oinkypig

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    262 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    we aware with the Tt armor case that the only way you will fit a dual slot graphix card in it, you either have to take the tool less expansion slot off or screw it off-put the card in-then reattach it. or you could just push really hard to squeeze it in there.
  11. x800professor

    x800professor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    894 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    When I remove the toolless thing, I get a regular screwdriver using slot, right? I hate toolless PCI/AGP/PCI-Express. I always remove it.
  12. oinkypig

    oinkypig

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    262 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    ya, you'll be able to screw them in, but i reattached mine.
  13. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,179 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    313
    just messured the depth of that fan from an armor that i have .. it's 1.5 in.
  14. Protius New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,410 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Wonderful Ohio
    both my x1800's fit in fine without screws or taking anything off, it may be a bit tricky but it can be done
  15. oinkypig

    oinkypig

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    262 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    yes i no. i have an x1800 xt and i had to sqeeze it through. my 7900 gtx wont sqeeze through though. the only reason the x1800's sqeeze through is because they have a small slit in the metal between the 2 slots that perfectly aligns with tool less snap ons
  16. x800professor

    x800professor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    894 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    You mean the fan is 1.5 inches in depth, or the big typhoon is 1.5 inches away from the fan?
  17. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,179 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    313
    "You mean the fan is 1.5 inches in depth" yes
    "ive got about 3-5 inches to spare between the typhoon and the side panel."
    lots of room to spare
  18. x800professor

    x800professor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    894 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Good, I ordered my new rig. I must be getting pretty good at judging the depth of things...considering my guess for the depth of that fan was 1.5".
    What do you guys think of the new rig? Certainly better than my current one.

    EVGA 122-CK-NF68-AR LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 680i
    Intel Core 2 Duo E6600
    Thermaltake Big Typhoon
    CORSAIR XMS2 TWIN2X2048-8500C5
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 400GB
    SAPPHIRE Radeon X1950XT
    Thermaltake Armor Series VA8003BWS w/ 25CM Fan

    I'm planning on adding a sound card later when I have the money.
  19. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,179 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    313
    spring for another hdd and go raid don't know $$ on the 400gb
    but you can prob get 2X Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 250gb for $100us each
    ?? what psu on the new rig??
  20. x800professor

    x800professor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    894 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    $119.99 for the drive. PowerTek 750W F5-Series for the PSU.

    The PSU has had nothing but glowing reviews and people are using it for dual 8800s, so it should be just fine for my rig. I might go RAID later...I don't have the money right now.
  21. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,179 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    313
    :cool: post some pics when done ;) have fun F
  22. x800professor

    x800professor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    894 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Oh I will. :D I haven't been able to build a full computer in quite a while that I actually get to keep (I sometimes build computers for family members and friends, so I have to watch them go after I'm done). I'm sick of my Frankenstein XP-m machine that I put together from parts I either got off of ebay or picked off of older machines. Now I just have to wait for newegg to get the parts here. Should be here by Monday.
  23. x800professor

    x800professor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    894 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    By the way, that 120mm fan on the big typhoon is just a regular old 120mm case fan, isn't it? Meaning I can just buy another 120mm case fan to get rid of that low rpm ugly fan that comes with it. If so, anybody have any fans they would recommend? I would prefer a fan with a blue LED to go with all the other blue LEDs in the case.
  24. oinkypig

    oinkypig

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    262 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
  25. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    well this got cuz you can adjust the speed and it look nice ;)

    Thermaltake A2018 120mm Blue LED Case Fan
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16811999122

    or this if you dont want that and save some $

    Thermaltake A1926 120mm Blue LED Case Fan
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16811999127

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page