1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

BIOS does not detect hard drive properly, Windows doesn't load.

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by speedy11131, Aug 13, 2007.

  1. speedy11131 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    120 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York City, USA
    Windows will not load, error comes up on the screen saying "Boot disk error, insert system disk an press enter.

    I go into my BIOS and I see WDC ROM MODEL-HAWK being detected instead of my harddrive.

    The hard drive is a Western Digital Caviar 250GB (SATA)
    The mobo is a Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4.

    I got it to work once somehow, Windows seemed to boot fine, I logged it, around 3 minutes after a BSOD flashes (I couldn't see the error) and the computer rebooted printing the above error again on the screen.

    Also when the computer posts, I see "Hard Drive Controller" and "Multimedia Device" on the same IRQ. Could this affect something?

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. nflesher87

    nflesher87 Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,499 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    487
    Location:
    Texas
    you're only using the one HDD and not attempting RAID right?
     
  3. speedy11131 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    120 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York City, USA
    That's correct. Only one hard drive in there.
     
  4. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    I'm going to rule out the possibility of the optical drive interfering with the hdd since the hdd is SATA. Are there options about turning on and off SATA in the bios, or booting from SATA rather than IDE.
     
    speedy11131 says thanks.
  5. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    8,124 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,884
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Or is there a menu where you can control how the SATA functions, like in IDE mode, ACHI, RAID, etc??? Try it in IDE mode, but usually that's the default.

    I am assuming that your HDD was working fine with SATA and Windows loaded until this issue...you may need to re-install windows or do a repair and try to reload your SATA/Raid drivers. I had an issue with my Seagate at first, had to load my IDE HDD with XP, then run Seagate's install utility for my Bios to even detect the HDD, after running that utility in Windows, I removed the IDE and all has been great ever since.
     
    speedy11131 says thanks.
  6. speedy11131 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    120 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York City, USA
    Yep, it was working fine before, this only cropped up recently. I will try those things and will post my results.

    EDIT: It was in IDE mode already and I don't see a way to switch to SATA. Windows Setup doesn't even detect the drive so I can't do a repair :(

    There was no separate floppy/disc with SATA RAID drivers. When I got the computer (which was fairly recently, about 2 weeks ago), the drive was detected without loading any drivers and Windows installed.

    I have a spare IDE hard drive lying around. Can I use that to help fix it? If so, what would I need to do? Any other ideas? Could it be possible that the drive is dead?
     
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2007
  7. speedy11131 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    120 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York City, USA
    Any other things that could prevent it from booting?
     
  8. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    Ok, I found this damn motherboard to be the cause of nearly all my problems with HDD's(actually no, its been the cause of nearly all my problems full stop). It has f*cked my HDD up for the fourth time (and yes I have checked with others). Secondly the instructions for getting SATA II to work is incorrect. Do not enable the SATA RAID option like it ludicrously states- just ignore that and make sure you install the MCP55 driver when Windows installs. When it prompts you for a driver again ignore the manual and just let windows work that one out for itself. Make sure you've updated to the newest BIOS revision.
    You will have to reinstall windows. I'm going to get a new motherboard- I hate this one.
     
    speedy11131 says thanks.
  9. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    I thought you liked your rig? Anyways...now I know a motherboard to stay away from.
     
  10. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    I love my rig- but I hate having to reinstall it all the time due to this pos. I really want to go Core 2.....

    Anyhow- back to the topic. Maybe I've been unlucky- but I suspect that the passive cooling may not actually be enough. The heatsink gets awfully hot after a few hours and my case has good airflow.
     
  11. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    The dark side calls.

    On topic....your nb gets really hot? Tried sticking a little fan on it?
     
    speedy11131 says thanks.
  12. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    It's got a full fat 120mm over it and the end of the gfx card. That's why I'm worried. But don't worry my informative motherboard tells me it's only at 4 degrees.... Do you see why I want a new one?
     
  13. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    Yup, maybe your nb's have sustained damage from heat? (yours and speedy's)
     
    speedy11131 says thanks.
  14. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    Good point- Speedy, how hot does your NB/SB get?(the big gold heatsink) Touch it after leaving computer on for a while. Mine get's toasty even when not under load. Oh and btw, at the present moment I'm in the exact same position as you are...again:banghead:
     
  15. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    Damn, so you have to reinstall?
     
  16. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    I come back from Spain and my sister shows me that it' gone wrong again. Damn it- it happened last time only 3 weeks ago!:mad:
     
  17. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    You let your sister use your comp? Man, so you can walk speedy through it now though.

    Off topic: is your sister hot............................j/k :D
     
  18. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    She's twelve:laugh: you little perv!
    I shouldn't let her- and I'll tell speedy if I can find a permanent solution tomorrow:)
     
  19. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    Damn 12....lol. I might be....I'm currently crazy for a girl that's 2 years younger than me :wtf:. Hey speedy, have you tried a different hdd with a os loaded on it already?
     
  20. speedy11131 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    120 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York City, USA
    The NB... it BURNS!!! (seriously its freakin hot)

    As for trying an HD with the OS already installed, could I try an IDE drive? I don't have a spare SATA hard drive :(

    Thanks to both of yous for yer help with this!
     
  21. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    The IDE drive can be used yes. It's a good thing you're NB is so hot too. Well in the respect that it agree's with my hypothesis. I think we're going to have to get Some good chipset coolers. However as a quick fix- take off the Gigabyte logo attachment (the silver Gigabyte badge) and get a smalllish fan blowing over it.
     
  22. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    Yeah try an IDE drive.
     
  23. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    Reinstalling right now.... I'm going to see if there's another BIOS revision out yet.
     
  24. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    ubuntu live cd will do the trick too and its easier then using another hdd lol, you have an ide burner or sata burner? if cant put your finger on the hsf for more then a few seconds, its ~45-50 C hot ... or so i was told.
     
  25. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page