1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

BIOS flash for voltage modding on 5850

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by moriz, Mar 30, 2010.

  1. moriz New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    44 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    i have a MSI HD 5850 OC, and i want to up its core voltage to 1.15v for overclocking.

    i've tried it with MSI afterburner, but it has a nasty tendency to fluctuate between 2D and 3D clocks while gaming. i'm worried that this would damage the card; having it jump between 157/300/.95v and 850/1200/1.15v simply doesn't sound healthy.

    so, i'm wondering if i can mod the bios to get 1.15v, and then using ATT to control the card's power state. currently ATT does not allow for custom voltages; every time i try to use one, the card automatically jumps back to its default settings. maybe if i add 1.15v into the BIOS, ATT will allow me to use it.
     
  2. alexsubri

    alexsubri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    Have you tried AMD GPU tool? There is a link around here on how you cab edit MSI settings to tweak the voltages. The .95 to 1.+v is common because it's saving power
     
  3. moriz New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    44 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    i know it is, but i doubt it should be doing so while i'm running a game.

    btw, if i modify the BIOS so that 1.15v is available for use, would ATT detect it and allow me to use it? can the 5800 even use modified BIOS's? i read somewhere that i'll get driver errors if i use a modified BIOS.
     
  4. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,925 (2.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,493
    not modified, just a different one.

    people are flashing their 5850s with 5870 bioses, giving them higher stock clocks and the ability to up the voltage.

    I have a thread here asking about my XFX XXX, which has voltage unlocked. I want to flash that bios to my XFX standard, to unlock the voltage on that.
     
  5. moriz New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    44 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    flashing with 5870 bios... is that even safe? after all, the 5870 has more shaders and texture units... not to mention the 1.175v core voltage.

    i really just need to be able to use 1.15v for an overclock, since 850/1200 at 1.088v isn't entirely stable. the card would GSoD after gaming for a while.
     
  6. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,925 (2.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,493
    yeah and some updates in my thread have pointed out the issue. now i'm looking for the same thing as you but to get to 1.125
     
  7. moriz New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    44 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    alrighty, BIOS modding worked. ATT still won't report the 1.15v, but the card will use 1.15v when the 3D profile loads.

    ran kombuster for a good 20 minutes or so. at 850/1200/1.15v, temperatures top off at 85C. while running an actual game, temperatures rarely go above 65C. mission successful i suppose.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page