1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

BIOS flash gone wrong

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by mystikl, Apr 7, 2009.

  1. mystikl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    100 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    I'm booting to DOS using a bootable CD with ATIFlash and the original BIOS on it. I tried all kinds of commands it just keeps giving the "adapter not found" message and Error 0FL01 .
  2. coodiggy

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    458 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    here's one thing to check; someone reported getting this error when they renamed their bios file name to "PE.bin" but instead of the file name being "PE.bin" it was "PE.bin.bin" ensure that you do not have a double .bin.bin , if you do, rename the file without adding the .bin

    [RN] [biosfilename.bin] [biosfilename]
    Then try flashing using
    prompt:\atiflash.exe -f -p [adapter number] [biosfilename.bin]
    without the brackets

    Forgot to mention, for the bios file name, stick with the dos file naming limmit of 8+3
    [12345678.123] no more than 8 charactors for the file name and no more than 3 charactors for the extension.

    If your motherboard is an agp board, with built in graphics; disable the onboard graphics in the bios, then set init PCI first; use the pci card and a DOS boot disk/thumb/flash drive or DOS boot CD. I think setting init pci first will make the PCI card adapter 0 and your ati/agp card adapter 1, once you have this set, use the atiflash.exe -i to see if your ati card is being detected, then see if it's at adapter 1 position, then your command to flash the ati card will be:
    atiflash.exe -f -p 1 [biosfilename]

    try flashing with your original bios from there?
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2009
  3. mystikl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    100 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    I don't have an integrated video board it's a P31 gigabyte board with PCI-e. The BIOS file name isn't a problem because I used it before and it worked, and I tried using 1 instead of 0 in the command line. It just won't work.
  4. coodiggy

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    458 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    OOPs, I checked out your system specs; guess you would have init display "pci-e" or "pci" ensure it's set to "PCI" then reboot using the PCI graphics card and retest atiflash adapter info
    atiflash.exe -i after rebooting to your dos prompt; if you still get adapter not found??

    You could try blind flashing again with just the ati card in the PCI-E slot, with init display set to PCI-E, using atiflash -f -p 0
    I don't know what else to suggest. Since you don't have onboard graphics; nevermind about the "disable onboard graphics" comment.
  5. mystikl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    100 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    The options in my BIOS are Set init display to PCI and PEG (whatever that is). But I will try a blind flash just in case.
  6. coodiggy

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    458 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Found another command to try
    atiflash.exe -p -newbios 0 [biosfilename] -f
    or
    atiflash.exe -p -newbios 1 [biosfilename] -f

    Also, just googled PEG vs PCI
    PEG = Set init display first to PCI express VGA card. PEG looks to be short for [P]CI [E]xpress [G]raphics

    PCI = Set init display first to PCI.

    IF it's set to PEG, 2400 would be adapter number 0
    If it's set to PCI, 2400 would be adapter number 1 "if using a PCI card, as the PCI card would be adapter 0"
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2009
    mystikl says thanks.
  7. mystikl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    100 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Thanks, I'll try those out.
  8. coodiggy

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    458 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
  9. mystikl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    100 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Yeah, actually tried that as soon as I got the PCI card. The program doesn't start, as soon as I double click the exe one of the cores goes to 100% utilization and stays like that.
  10. coodiggy

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    458 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    you may have to run it in compatability mode for vista 64
  11. mystikl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    100 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Oh, I forgot to change my specs. I went back to XP a few weeks ago.
  12. coodiggy

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    458 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    ah well, it's better to use the boot disk anyway. I go sleep! If you figure it out though; do post your solution.. It could be that you need a different version of atiflash or even use flashrom instead?
    There's lots of atiflash and/or flashrom commands that are not included in the list shown when you type atiflash.exe /?

    You may want to search for some more commands to try. BBL
  13. mystikl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    100 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    I tried a different version of atiflash with those commands but still nothing. I'll try flashrom and see if that works. Thanks for the help.
  14. marius.pozna New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hd2400xt vbios crisis

    i waz trying to upgrade mi hd2400xt bios but it crashed. now i get bips and blank screen. is there a way to recover. i have the original bios, made it before upgrade...:p... hope for something like crisis recovery tool or wathever solution to make it alive again... 10x end please guide me to the right forum if this is not the one... bye

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page