1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Bios for XFX FX-787A-CDFC (Double D GHZ Edition)

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Dreadlish, Dec 7, 2013.

  1. Dreadlish New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    As in topic - does anybody have proper vbios for it? I don't have original one as it was brought to me in state of agony. When i put Thaiti one - driver loads, but it isn't working - gpu-z doesn't show any clocks and it can't be flashed from atiwinflash (0FL01). When i put one from Pitcairn - Basic Display Driver is loaded and atiwinflash doesn't even try to detect it. Does anybody have any suggestions resurrecting that gpu?
  2. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,565 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    641
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    Welcome to TPU

    Why would you do that! That vga card uses the Pitcairn GPU

    Create a bootable flash drive
    go here http://files.extremeoverclocking.com/browse.php?c=21

    Download - HP USB Disk Storage Format Tool - v2.1.8 & Windows 98 System Files

    click Primary Download unzip the files to a folder on your HDD; make sure your USB Memory stick is attached to your PC; open HP USB Disk

    Storage Format Tool v2.1.8 ; select Creat a DOS startup disk/ select: using DOS system files located at: (these are the files you have just downloaded): browse to the files in win98boot; then start the process.

    Download latest version of ATIFlash
    here - http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads...sh%203.99.html

    Set the motherboard bios to boot from usb *press F8 during boot; select from boot menu if option is avalable; this should boot to a win98 dos prompt

    Type at the dos prompt - dir to veiw the content of the flash drive

    Type at the dos prompt; atiflash -ai 1 [see if adapter is at this address and is recognised]
    [Note: when booting from onboard vga / igp also = primary position 0]

    Information required
    -Upload a screenshot or any error information at position 0/1

    -Hash # numbers from the back of the card [serial number NOT REQUIRED]

    -Motherboard Make and Model, that the vga card is being used/tested in

    atb (all the best)

    Law-II
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2013
  3. Dreadlish New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I wasn't sure if it's Pitcairn card, so at first thanks for information ;)

    When I try to run 'atiflash -ai 1' it welcomes me with nice SIGSEGV information ( sshot: https://db.tt/yf0iDRZt ), the same with -ai 0, where i have the same card from Gigabyte. The mobo i'm using is Gigabyte H77-D3H.
  4. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,565 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    641
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    Try using ATIFlash 4.17 here
    if this returns same error; try a different flash drive [make bootable using same method, needs to be Pure DOS, from win 98 as above]

    post another screenshot, thanks

    atb

    Law-II
  5. Dreadlish New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I tried both 3.99 and 4.17 versions, but the same on the both. I've changed flash drives, and the same could be seen. There was only one try, when it showed anything else, and it detected my gigabyte card well, but on xfx one i got 'no adapter found' message.
  6. Dreadlish New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ok, it is very strange of atiflash, as when i swapped card it was able to detect the broken one ( sshot: https://db.tt/qyUY1MjX ), but flashing it ended as detection before - with sigsegv.
  7. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,565 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    641
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    015.021.000.000.000000 vbios version looks wrong [keep a copy of it safe]

    try version 015.015.000.002.000838

    Note: sigsegv - is a general protection fault [starting to wonder if a uefi bios was flashed to the card and is proventing a legacy vbios to take.

    atb

    Law-II
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2013
  8. Dreadlish New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Okay, i flashed card with vbios you gave and now atiflash says it's tahiti card (wtf?). The same gpu-z under windows.
  9. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,565 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    641
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    Just double checked that vbios image using VBE7b attach screenshot below:
    xfx.hd7870.2048.120224.jpg

    - what version of GPU-Z?
    - tahiti is that not the vbios image that was first flashed to the card in the OP; Just sounds like the vbios chip is corrupted. [reflash the card]
    - was the tahiti vbios image write protected
    - *maybe use unlock command at DOS prompt before commiting the flash

    atiflash -unlockrom 0

    Outstanding Information
    -Hash # Numbers from the back of the card to identify this vga card

    atb

    Law-II
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2013
  10. Dreadlish New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    GPU-Z v0.7.4, I reflashed vbios chip three times with the same bios through parallel programmer and all the time GPU-Z and atiflash identified it as Tahiti. I can't reflash it with atiflash/atiwinflash as there is 0FL01 or card is not even detected (as for pitcairn vbioses other than that you recommended) so i'm doing it all the time by parallel programmer ( link: http://rayer.g6.cz/elektro/spipgm.htm - czech, but all needed parts are understandable ) and chip is rather not corrupted as it can be programmed, verified and rom data don't vaporize after power unplug. From the back of card i can get only model name (FX-787A-CDFC) and SN (O2Y004915). I would try to get another matching flash chip and then say if it is caused by this.
  11. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,565 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    641
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    Are the vga card Catalyst Drivers uninstalled/removed from the system? [deap cleaned]

    atiflash / atiwinflash 0FL01 error has a workaround; due to card position when installed in mobo [uninstall drivers from device manager in safemode; shutdown the system DO NOT Restart, move the vga card. boot to bios change boot order to USB device ~ then commit to atiflash commands as usual]

    try shorting, pin1 and pin3 WP and flash

    Note: this is now beyond my knowlege tbo ; I will PM a friend to see if he is able to assist

    atb

    Law-II
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2013
  12. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,179 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    313
    OP try creating an empty rom, []file att[] file 128kb.... using your programmer flash the chip...then reflash with the Pitcairn rom ...
    If the card is still not running IE...... 0FL01 or card is not even detected, using DOS atiflash. Then try jumping the 1 and 8 pins on the chip, with a short wire that should allow atiflash to recognize the card. SEE http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=49092&d=1353097370
    GOOD LUCK

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Dec 10, 2013
    Law-II says thanks.
  13. TimG

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Law-II says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page