1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

bios recovery failure

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by rage, Jan 29, 2006.

  1. rage

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2006
    Messages:
    61 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hi all my first post..
    im having a strange thing with a mobo..
    it's a ASUS p5p800se with a celeron d 341+ 2.93Ghz
    after setting up the system i started to raise the cpu speed but on the next boot the system reported"bios corrupted,recovery procedure started" you must insert the mobo driver cd then,and it started rewriting the bios.it's a handy feature called crashfree bios but on the following boot the message came back.after tryin via cd and floppy and clearin the CMOS it just kept coming back. i thougt that the mobo wasn't ok and got a new one at the store. but the new one did exactly the same!!! :mad: so back too the store and the guys there must start too hate me..
    do you guys have any idea of what could cause this to happen??
    could a power shortage during overclocked boot cause this?
    the psu is acting weird sometimes
    before i know whats the problem is i don't dare to oc it:(

    greets rage
     
  2. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    power supply i would say..

    trog
     
  3. newmodder New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    669 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    british columbia
    reset bios jumper

    here should be a jumper on the mobo that will also reset the bios to oem
     
  4. rage

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2006
    Messages:
    61 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    no there is only the CMOS jumper i have checked it..
    but is there no one who had the same thing before??
    i realy need to be sure it's the psu you know..
    the mobo shows that it is reading the file,than writing it but the writing seems to go to fast,like it isn't writing the whole file or something like that

    but thanks for the sugestions so far

    greets rage
     
  5. jaystein New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Messages:
    30 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Denver, CO, USA
    Try pulling the "one" cmos jumper for 3 seconds and the put it back, that should reset the bios. If it doesn't work get your money back.
     
  6. OneCool

    OneCool

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    849 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    Look behind you!!
    Unplug the PC
    pull the motherboard battery
    and set the CMOS jumper to CLEAR and let it set for 2 minutes

    reset jumper,replace battery and connect power.

    If that doesnt do it ..there may be other issues
     
  7. rage

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2006
    Messages:
    61 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    no that doesn't work. my problem is how to prevent it from happenen to the third new mobo. it's like the bios itself died or something?!!?
     
  8. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    sometimes the only way to check for faulty hardware is to swop each piece out for another one.. this is where the pros have the upper hand.. a shelf full of spare swop out bits..

    u have now swopped out three times which does kinda suggest its bugger all to do with the motherboard..

    the last time i had this problem.. wouldnt boot.. i said (after swopping nearly eveyrthing else out) its the motherboard.. the guy went out and bought another mobo.. it turned out it was the cpu dying.. he he he.. sometimes u can never be sure..

    trog
     
  9. rage

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2006
    Messages:
    61 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    the cpu is brand new.sorry can't exchange the rest of my friends have 478 sockets,this is a 775.. but the problem only occurs when going to higher clocks.the rest of the stuff was used on the previous mobo so i don't think that one of those is causing it
     
  10. obl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Could be a number of things, but seeing as how you already took the Mobo back for an exchange I would rule that out.
    That pretty much leaves you with Bad CPU, Not enough CPU cooling, Bad Memory (as in not compatible with Mobo or overclocking) or a crapping out Power supply.
     
  11. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    the last two machines i have put together have been a total pain.. one even had a faulty brand new floppy that caused the system to hang every time windows tried to reboot during its install.. even more annoying cos i had told the guy not to mess about and buy a new one..

    my current machine just killed the power supply at its first atempt at booting.. a bigger one cured that problem.. the next problem was the machine just would not make windows.. crashed right at the beginning.. setting the bios to run the memory at half speed worked okay.. but it needed another make of memory to work properly at its corrrect speed..

    of course the cure sounds easy but it very often takes hours to diagnose the problem.. and just cos a piece works okay in one system dosnt mean it will work in the one giving the problems..

    trog
     
  12. rage

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2006
    Messages:
    61 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

    lol same thing here:i set up this system for a friend who had asrock stuff en sayed that this was more releable and easier to oc and the first oc't boot it crashed.i will advise him a better psu then and if it doesn't work you won't see me back cause he is going to kill me then i think;)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page