1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Bios won't detect my SSD

Discussion in 'Storage' started by Dan2312, Jun 28, 2011.

  1. Dan2312 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Messages:
    216 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    England!
    i bought myself a new OCZ 120gb SSD today for my b'day present, and i cannot for the love of god get the bios to pick it up!

    ive plugged it in almost all the sockets from Sata 2 to G-sata 2 and still no sucess, im at my wits end and thinking of taking it back.

    any ideas on what i can do?

    my specs are on the left.
  2. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,790 (2.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    Wow this feels like a deja-vue. I think I remember someone asking exactly the same.

    Does it show up nowehere in the BIOS? The boot select menu, the HDD menu, anywhere?
    Is it displayed at POST?
    Is it discovered by the device manager?
    Is it discovered by the disc manager?
    ...does it even have power to it?
  3. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,294 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    859
    Location:
    London, UK
    it is dead, i had plenty of HDDs come to me like that, MRCL has the best advice
  4. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,304 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,545
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Try:
    1. Turning the power off and un-plugging the psu from the wall.
    2. Remove the CMOS battery.
    3. After about, 10+ seconds, re-install the battery.
    4. Plug in and turn on the psu.
    5. Boot up and check your bios settings(as, they may be back at the defaults you my need to set any custom setting you had)
    6. See if it sees it now.

    If that does not do it, then test it in another PC(system)... if possible.

    Also, try a different SATA cable and power connector(from the PSU).

    Edit:
    I remember a thread somewhere about this, but I can't remember where I saw it.
    It had something to do with, either, the drives firmware or the motherboard bios.
    I'll try to find it, if I can, and post the link for you.
  5. Dan2312 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Messages:
    216 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    England!
    i fixed it, i don't think the power cable was shoved on all the way, my own silly mistake.

    thanks for the replys guys!

    But Damn these things are quick!!
  6. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,790 (2.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    Yeah the thing with non moving parts is that you can't really tell if they're powered on or not:rolleyes:
    digibucc says thanks.
  7. ERazer

    ERazer

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,543 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    492
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    enable AHCI?
  8. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,304 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,545
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    You are welcome and glad you got it fixed.:)

    Self-gratification... :toast:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page