1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

BioShock has 2 installs.

Discussion in 'Games' started by Chewy, Aug 22, 2007.

  1. Chewy

    Chewy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,289 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
    So you legit copy buys have 2 installs on one hardware machine/system.. than so they make more $$ to combat the pirates.. you have to BUY another copy.. what a friggn joke of a company if you ask me disgusting.

    http://forums.2kgames.com/forums/showthread.php?t=5527

    check out page 5 too.
     
    ChaoticBlankness and average.. say thanks.
  2. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    How does one make a customer angry...

    They're also killing their product to be used as a benchmark and such since those are run on countless systems. And being used as a benchmark helps sales too.
     
  3. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    That's disgraceful....I never intended to buy it anyway (doesn't interest me) but this is pathetic.

    Well just wait until they crack it and remove the protection (that's what I do, even if I own the game).
     
  4. average..

    average.. New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    28 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    London
    yea that really sucks.. buy and install the game a couple weeks later you get the money for them 8800GT's you wanted but now you cant play the game cos it complains of hardware change.
    It's a shame the way they use technology, If i have two pc's why should I be forced to buy the game twice just to have the freedom of choice in my own home tow hich PC i feel like playing on.

    *reading the other forums claims you get two installs. even if you install it on a dual boot system, with xp and vista that still counts as two installs meaning the plastic you just paid for is usless reinstall windows and you are left with nothing. just the options to re buy the game get a cracked copy or pay the same cost as the game in phone bills rining customer support.

    i was not planing on buying the game in the first place, but its safe to say i will be avoiding this at all cost... I genrally avoid any game that uses securom. and this move im sure will only increase the pirate copies and hurt their sales.
     
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2007
  5. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,867 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,569
    that doesnt combat piracy .. it actually helps them .. people will download the cracked game and not have any of those issues
     
  6. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    does this still apply if i buy it on steam,which uses no disc?
     
  7. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,982 (2.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
    true, cracked versions usually doesn't have all those bullshit to "prevent" piracy
     
  8. average..

    average.. New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    28 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    London
    im not sure about steam, they still use securom but i think its used in a different way.

    I just read this on "digg" i think its called.

    which is just more BS created by anti-piracy software. I think this games manafacture has reached a new low on many levels with this release...

    followed by my favourite quote
     
  9. EviLZeD

    EviLZeD New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    818 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    someone on the 2k forum said they installed the steam version 3 times and its worked perfectly fine.
     
  10. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Steam games are tied to your user account NOT your hardware or setup. So even though you can install on another PC, you won't be able to play it without your account details.

    There is no other copy-protection on Steam games except for that.
     
  11. Dippyskoodlez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,061 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    230
    Location:
    Ohio
    I love it.

    They get a bombshell of a game.


    And put it in a wheelchair before it even gets a chance.

    GFG.

    GJ 2k, your anti-piracy tactics just raped your wallet.

    Not buying your shit game now. Securom can bite me.

    They just lost money. I'm pirating this one.
     
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2007
  12. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,834 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    426
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    Man Im sure glad I went with the Steam version...
     
  13. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,921 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,021
    That does suck, but don't most games that use SecuRom usually release a patch a few months down the road to remove it? I thought even the company behind SecuRom recommended game companies do that since copy protection is usually only effective in slowing down piracy in roughly the first month of the game release.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  14. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    It's really funny how this will affect the game. Many people will buy the game not knowing about that, once they install it twice they are just going to pirate it and stick it up 2k's ass.

    You are right about that, pirated software always just works. You may have to set it up a certain way but you can always get it going.
     
  15. Dippyskoodlez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,061 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    230
    Location:
    Ohio
    And a lot of time it works better than the legit version. :roll:
     
  16. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    Yep, theres no steam activation, no securom, no nothing. Hell you don't even need to find your disk to play!

    Hell every game I do buy I download the iso's for it also. I hate digging for game cd's.
     
  17. Oliver_FF

    Oliver_FF New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    546 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    That's on page 12 of the thread linked in the first post, and posted by an admin on the forum...

    So... it seems to imply that when you uninstall the game, you get 1 more opportunity to reinstall?


    [edit]
    Looks like Steam is screwing people over too...

    http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/showthread.php?t=589874&page=2
    [/edit]
     
  18. Dippyskoodlez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,061 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    230
    Location:
    Ohio
    Screw that.

    I don't want to have to call anyone.

    I don't do it with windows, and I'm sure as hell not doing it with a game.

    What if I'm in iraq? do they accept long distance calls?
     
  19. Bob The Fish New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Messages:
    121 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton Alberta Canada
    Yep steam and normal PC version limited to 2 activation. No more, at this point. 2K has not made any offical anousments about this and much to my scagim i all ready bought the PC version.
     
  20. Dippyskoodlez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,061 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    230
    Location:
    Ohio
    Yep.

    People are lashing back hard on this one.

    Wonder if 2k could sue for losses? :roll::roll::roll:
     
  21. Bob The Fish New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Messages:
    121 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton Alberta Canada
    Quote from: Administrator 2K Elizabeth from 2K games.

    hey guys,

    first, let me say this. you DO NOT NEED TO USE THE INTERNET EVERY TIME YOU PLAY THIS GAME. it is only the first time.

    second, you can uninstall and reinstall this game, and if, by chance, you have 2 computers you want to simultaneously play this game on, you also can do that.

    if by some chance you are reinstalling this game without uninstalling it first, a lot, there is a chance you may have to call securom and get a key, or deactivate some older installations.

    but if you upgrade your hardware next week, you'll still be able to play the game. if you revamp your system and need to reinstall bioshock, just uninstall it before you go through the overhaul, and then do your reinstall.

    calling it "hardware fingerprinting" is a bit alarmist. we do not transmit any of your data to any companies.

    really, the only people who will be concerned about any of these security measures are those who are rapidly putting bioshock on many pcs... if you use the game as you normally do, you won't notice this at all.

    Link to post http://forums.2kgames.com/forums/showthread.php?t=5527&page=12 look at the bottom.
     
  22. Dippyskoodlez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,061 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    230
    Location:
    Ohio

    Almost decent damage control.

    Too bad it doesn't cover the issues that people are concerned about.

    2kgames is gonna burn for this one.
     
  23. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    *sniff sniff* I smell bullshit. I was mildly curious about Bioshock, now it can just kiss my arse.
     
  24. scoutingwraith

    scoutingwraith

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    726 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    And i am so happy i did not buy the game yet....
     
  25. Grings

    Grings New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,303 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    Location:
    Blighty
    I think i'll be buying it on dvd then, its cheaper than the steam one (online), and easier to crack if necessary, though i imagine worst case scenario you would just have to call/email them to reactivate
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page