1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Bioshock specs

Discussion in 'Games' started by Morgoth, Sep 16, 2007.

  1. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,800 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    253
    Location:
    Netherlands
    hi i just started playing bioshock and i'm noticing allot of ram lag
    cann anny one tell me the game specs of bioshock? i'm using 768mb of ram and its using hd allot
     
  2. Ripper3

    Ripper3 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,386 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    London, England
    If you bought it, you should have the specs somehwere on the case or in the digital manual, if you downloaded it like, Direct to Drive service, or something.
    If I had to guess, your graphics card is being bottlenecked by the AGP port being at 4x rather than the full 8x, and the RAM isn't helping either.
    In your specs, it says 1GB of RAM, I guess you took out a stick of RAM?

    If you want to get a bigger performance boost in Bioshock, there's not much you can do without buying a whole new motherboard and RAM at the very least.
    A new motherboard with support for DDR and AGP 8x on Socket 478 (I'm guessing that's what your CPU uses), and 2GB of DDR PC-3200 should suit your system well enough.
    Hey, you may be able to overclock your CPU a little higher with DDR, too.
     
  3. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,694 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Minimum System Requirements:
    Operating Systems: Windows XP (with Service Pack 2) or Windows Vista
    CPU: Pentium 4 2.4GHz Single Core processor
    System RAM: 1GB
    Video Card: Direct X 9.0c compliant video card with 128MB RAM (NVIDIA 6600 or better/ATI X1300 or better, excluding ATI X1550).
    Sound Card: 100% direct X 9.0c compatible sound card Hard disc space: 8GB free space

    Recommended System Requirements:
    Operating Systems: Windows XP (with Service Pack 2) or Windows Vista
    CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo processor
    System RAM: 2GB
    Video card: DX9: Direct X 9.0c compliant video card with 512MB RAM (NVIDIA GeForce 7900 GT or better) DX10: NVIDIA GeForce 8600 or better
    Sound Card: Sound Blaster® X-Fi™ series (Optimized for use with Creative Labs EAX ADVANCED HD 4.0 or EAX ADVANCED HD 5.0 compatible sound cards)
    **Important Note: Game requires Internet connection for activation**
     
    Morgoth says thanks.
  4. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,800 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    253
    Location:
    Netherlands
    thx just wat i needed

    btw i blowed up 256mb of ram and i'm waiting for my 1gbram stick from the shop
     
  5. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,800 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    253
    Location:
    Netherlands
    plz stop advacing me to buy a new motherboard ect if you want me to have new stuff pay for me :) i like to have a quad core 3gh and crossfire hd2900xtx thx
     
  6. Ripper3

    Ripper3 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,386 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    London, England
    Heh, sorry, I was just trying to answer the probable next question, "What can I buy to stop it lagging?"
    The most expensive part from new motherboard and DDR RAM, would be the DDR, which is bloody expensive now. The motherboard would be relatively cheap.

    Sorry, there I go again, heh.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page