1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Biostar Readies TA890FXE Motherboard

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Mar 3, 2010.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    27,678 (11.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,418
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Biostar is readying a mid-range motherboard in its T-Series lineup based on AMD's upcoming 890FX + SB850 chipset. The T-Series TA890FXE was pictured at the ongoing CeBIT event without its cooling assembly. It supports existing and upcoming socket AM3 processors, including Phenom II X6. The CPU is powered by a 5+1 phase VRM, supporting 140W processors. The 890FX chipset gives out four PCI-Express 2.0 x16 slots supporting ATI CrossFireX technology, apart from two legacy PCI slots. The SB850 southbridge gives out six SATA 6 Gb/s ports, of which five are internal, probably one external. An additional storage controller by VIA drives the lone IDE connector. 7.1 channel HD audio, gigabit Ethernet, and FireWire make for the rest of it. The TA890FXE is expected to be out later in April, when AMD unveils its latest processors.

    [​IMG]

    Source: PC Watch
  2. tonyd223

    tonyd223 New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    215 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    did someone rob the chipset coolers?

    No USB3?

    And looks like I've got to but a PSU with a 8pin EPS connector...

    Doesn't look good for the X6 chips if all these mobo's have 140watt capacity...
  3. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,691 (11.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,213
    gah, weird layout. multi GPU = many useless slots.
  4. Marineborn

    Marineborn New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,144 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    312
    the only way you could use all four pcie16 slots is by watercooling all your cards, and yeah...lol ...its pretty much just a hey look what i can do motherboard, *claps slowly*
  5. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,691 (11.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,213
    most demo boards dont have pics of the heatsink. please read the title where it says "Biostar readies..." meaning its not done yet.


    eh? thats a standard 8 pin CPU AUX connector, been around for many many years.

    140W capacity doesnt mean its just for the x6 chips, could be for OC'ers as well. there are older chips (phenom I/II) that also use over 100W at stock, so it could be for backward compatibility as well.
  6. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,698
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Mussels I think you may of misunderstood the chap...

    Also even the latest version of the 965 ( which runs at a much lower wattage) uses 125w.
    Mussels says thanks.
  7. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,691 (11.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,213
    he was implying that 140W would suck if the 6 core CPU's needed it. they wont, like the previous gen the topmost models will be of higher wattage than the lower ones. at least it gives us OC'ing room.


    What i was saying (and you filled the blanks) is that the previous high of 125W moving to 140W, is hardly a bad thing - 15W for 50% more cores? awesome!
  8. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,698
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    For some reason I had it in my head that the socket couldn't pull more then 140w .

    I blame lack of sleep, woke up at 3am and decided to MAKE my rig work again.
  9. tonyd223

    tonyd223 New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    215 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    I'm worried that X6 will pull 140w standard without overclocking... which will be interesting anyway because of the amount of heat that AMD chips produce anyway...
  10. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,698
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND

    A lot less then intels latest chips?
  11. tonyd223

    tonyd223 New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    215 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    ok - I'm being really silly here? I thought that Intel chips were considerably more power efficient than AMD?
  12. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,698
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Well the i7s even with Hyper Threading turned off still run a damn lot hotter then AMDs chips.


    With Hyper-threading on many people have had even tripple radiator loops heatsoak with their i7s around 4ghz.

    No AMD chip could heat-soak a triple rad set up.
  13. tonyd223

    tonyd223 New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    215 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    that's heat - what about it's power use?
  14. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,698
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND

    Yeah I was replying to this ;)
  15. tonyd223

    tonyd223 New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    215 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    thanks (I obviously need to sleep)
  16. chaotic_uk New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    685 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    hope it lasts longer than the biostar ta790gx , had 2 die on me in the last 6 months . i wont be getting another biostar mobo (crap built)
  17. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,698
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND

    Perchance were you overclocking with the motherboard?

    A motherboard with no mosfet cooling?

    If yes you were, then my second sentence makes it clear I think why the motherboards may of been breaking ;)
  18. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    LOL, sweet.. I always add my own anyways...

    What I dont like is the PCI X slots so close together.. Its a bummer as I was hoping to go back to Biostar (always liked them)
  19. chaotic_uk New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    685 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    first one yes second no
  20. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,698
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    There you go, only the second one was shoddily made XD
  21. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,691 (11.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,213
    they're directly related. 100W in = 100W of heat out.
  22. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Looks pretty good, Biostar has some rock solid boards, that provide good OC features. I guess since this is a middle of the road board, they included the Sata 6 but not USB 3.0

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page