1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Biostar TP67XE on Cougar CM700 PSU possible?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by puma99dk|, Jan 28, 2011.

  1. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,463 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    783
  2. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,739 (9.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,213
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I think they make a splitter that should work
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. mm67

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    140 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    Location:
    Finland
    I have that same PSU and mine has 1 * 8 pin connector and 1 * 4+4 pin connector. I'd imagine that yours has those same connectors.
     
  4. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,463 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    783
    mine only got a 8pin with a 4pin on the same wire like this:

    [​IMG]


    but i will check when i come home but otherwise would this 6pin PCI-E to 8pin ATX12v convertor work?

    [​IMG]

    Akasa 6-Pin PCIe zu 8-Pin ATX12V - Adapter-Kabel


    but if my psu have two connectors for the board that would be awesome otherwise an adaptor should do the trick right? :rolleyes:
     
  5. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,920 (4.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,991
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    I was told that you do NOT need to plug in both of those 8 pins, one of them will do, even with higher clocks. The first PSU I used with it only had one, and it worked just fine. I'm not seeing higher clocks , more stability etc. now that I'm using 2.
     
  6. mm67

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    140 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    Location:
    Finland
    Maybe there are different revisions of that same PSU, mine has 2 * 4 pin connector in that same place where you have a single 4 pin connector. That adapter should help you though.
     
  7. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,463 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    783
    yap i checked i only got a wire with 2x4pins (8pin) and another 1x4pins connector on so should i get a connector like the one i linked upper or should i take a 4pins to 8pins adapter instead?

    [​IMG]

    what would be the most safe thing to do?
     
  8. mm67

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    140 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    Location:
    Finland
    I don't think it matters where you connect that adapter to, just get the cheaper one, here in Finland 4 to 8 pin adapter seems to be really cheap, only 1.30€.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page