1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

BIOSTAR TZ77XE4 good board??

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by andrewsmc, Jan 20, 2013.

  1. andrewsmc

    andrewsmc

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    977 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Pikeville NC
  2. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,131 (4.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,745
    Location:
    04578
    I have one its a solid board only dislike is top slot is PCIe x16 which means various tower coolers will interfere and block that slot for instance Thermaltake FRIO blocked that slot for me so i couldnt run my GPU in the top slot untill i replaced the cooler. Thats about the only draw back otherwise ive been running 4.6 GHz since day one no problem
  3. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,659 (6.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,071
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
  4. andrewsmc

    andrewsmc

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    977 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Pikeville NC
  5. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,659 (6.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,071
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
  6. andrewsmc

    andrewsmc

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    977 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Pikeville NC
    Sweet! :)!
  7. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,398 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    I had a Biostar TP67B+ and TP67XE, loved em both, good buy.
  8. boomstik360

    boomstik360

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,207 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    426
    I've got the XE3 version in a friends build. It is extremely good for the $75 after rebate that I got it for!
  9. andrewsmc

    andrewsmc

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    977 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Pikeville NC
    awesome, I feel like I got a good deal for 92.50!! :D!
  10. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Yes, BIOSTAR TZ77XE4 is a great board. I tested it and it overclocked a 2600K well over 5G. Under $100 is a steal, It debued at $179.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
  11. andrewsmc

    andrewsmc

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    977 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Pikeville NC
    nice!
  12. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,131 (4.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,745
    Location:
    04578
    Like i said Biostar is a good board its only weakpoint is memory clocking if using four sticks. two sticks it does fine.
  13. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs

    Where did you get this info? Maybe past Biostar boards lacked, but not this one. It overclocks memory as good as any Z77 board with 2 or 4.
  14. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,131 (4.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,745
    Location:
    04578
    more than a few reviews also doesnt like the 16gb kit i have of Gskills that are 2133 posts but crashes 1866 is fine, pull 2 sticks can run 2133 all day.

    Toms did some memory testing granted i dont like there reviews that much
    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2013
  15. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    I reviewed the board and got over 2600MHz with and Kingston predators. Don't believe anything you read.... If you believe Tom's queer I have land in the everglades to sell you.
  16. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,131 (4.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,745
    Location:
    04578
    you can say what you want i physically have the board here and different sets of memory,

    2 sticks i have zero issues 4 sticks even 2133 isnt stable, could also be the density as well but I digress 1866 seems to be where MY board is comfortable with 4 sticks 2 sticks could go higher. Could be CPU as well many variables makes for many different results. My results are not the same as yours and lets leave it at that.

    Now that said i love my Biostar board been easy to deal with no real problems to speak of and when i nabbed mine off the egg for $120 shipped I could be happier with its price to performance.
  17. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs

    I still have the board. If I get a chance, I will see if they are an issue, but if I remember, I was running 4 sticks on it... It has been many months and my memory is DDR2 in my brain LOL
  18. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,131 (4.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,745
    Location:
    04578
    well like i said could be anything from the Memory ICs to the board or could just be CPU,

    my CPU clocks good but dosent seem to like 2133 memory i have here, go figure not a big deal as 1866 tweaked if more than enough and nothing i do actually benefits from the high speed memory enough. would rather have higher capcity for a ram drive :toast: wish i had 32gb id setup a 24-28gb Ram Drive and install a game like Shogun 2 onto it for shits and giggles see how fast loading times are since AMD claims that ram drive for that game = huge drop in load times yet HDD to SSD = 0 change.

    but im getting off track i love the board id recommend it to anyone if they are using the stock cooler or an AIO water cooler etc. I had a TT FRIO and it blocked the top PCIe x16 slots and as you saw typical coolers usually block a memory slot or two. The biostar board is just more friendly for liquid cooling kits.
  19. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs

    Did you check Biostars website and see if bios update had the issue listed?
  20. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,131 (4.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,745
    Location:
    04578
    Bios updates have only been for improving some OC functions which are fine in my current bios (stable up to 4.8 run 4.6 24/7 due to heat) and CPU micro code, the other is a beta fix for mouse keyboard issues in UEFI which i dont seem to have anyway.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page