1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Bitcoins!

Discussion in 'General Software' started by pantherx12, Feb 17, 2011.

  1. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,271 (2.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    967
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Are you running bitcion with -server?
     
  2. huayra.agera

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Messages:
    32 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I see, I might have to double check my filenames, I think I'll make them all one word to reduce chances of errors. Keep us posted! I really hope the pool registration opens soon.
     
  3. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,666 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    378
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    @AphexDreamer When did you register on bitcoin.cz? cuz they closed registration and i cant find any other pool.
     
  4. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    I can't tells me to set up rpcpass= in the appdata directory.

    I have :laugh:
     
  5. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,271 (2.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    967
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    I think it was the 17 of this month.

    The will open up eventually just go solo till they do.
     
  6. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,666 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    378
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    I went to their site on 18 feb and they were closed only bad luck follow me arrond.
     
  7. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,271 (2.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    967
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Pool isn't all that great. Its generally good for those who only have CPU but it can take just as long if not longer sometimes to earn what you could have earned solo.

    Its almost the same thing but in a pool you to trust the pool leader to share the bitcoins honestly, solo you just trust yourself.

    going solo was the best thing I could have done. Once the difficulty rises I might consider joining the pool again.
     
  8. matteumayo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    172 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Hey I don't know if anyone cares, but I think this might be helpful to someone having issues:

    Compute4Cash is now offering Cashout in the form of BitCoins, so you get a guaranteed amount of bitcoins/hr instead of having to get "lucky."

    I probably will still just be using PayPal, but Aphex, could you post the link to the VirtualVisa site?

    Sorry for double posting, but I just realized something.

    C4C has a $600 payout limit annually, but no limit to BitCoins.

    However, there is that .10-.20 times whatever WU you have, so the amount of BitCoins I have is the same as the USD balance.

    Just a little thing I noticed :]

    EDIT: This may be a bad option however; it would take 250 WU during Feb. to get just one block of Bitcoins.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 20, 2011
  9. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,271 (2.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    967
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Paying in bitcoins sounds like a bigger rip of if IMO. The only thing good C4C had going for it was the direct pay. I'd rather take my chances like I am right now, on my own.

    I'd post a link but not sure if I can since PantherX said no posting links to trading sites.

    Apparently we aren't aloud to even discuses where to trade the coins so I'm going to be editing some posts now.
     
  10. matteumayo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    172 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6

    Uh oh... well I'll edit my past posts (or delete them) if a mod says so, I don't want to get into any trouble after just joining the forum :laugh:


    Also, as an update, I just installed the 5850 last night, and figuring it would be a bad idea to operate it at 100%, I set the throttle in C4C's program to 94%, and I'm getting about .8WU/hr, adding up to about $2.00 every 10-12 hours, or $4.00 every day.

    This adds up to $28 a week, and 1133 a year, but will be halved of course after February.

    Still, an extra $10 a week is welcome by me, especially if I get that $10 just by turning on the program when I stop using the PC. :)
     
  11. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,271 (2.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    967
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    I'd rather test my luck man then make them luckier.

    For the 28 you earned a week you could have made them 100 bitcions and depending on the exchange rate that could have been like $80 or if your lazy like me and want a more direct cash out (Virtual Visa) $50-100.

    Its all luck. But the more people join C4C the luckier they get and the more money they make. Its a really great idea... I'd say they have to maintain a certain amount of people (depending on difficulty level) to afford the payout. But let any C4C person correct me if I'm wrong.
     
  12. matteumayo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    172 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    See I don't understand how I could have made 100 bitcoins in a week.

    First of all, I have no idea what the rate of generation my 5850 would have, and it sounds kind of tricky to sell them.

    It might be worth a try, but I feel like I might be wasting my time. Is there any way to see exactly how much time it would take to generate a block?

    I would be fine with selling each block one at a time, but if it takes 2 weeks or something or it doesn't even work, I don't know if it would be worth it.

    Aphex, could you maybe send me what you've done so far (with sites, etc) in a PM? EDIT: PM sent.

    Don't mean to be too pushy here, if it's too much work don't worry about it. ;)
     
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2011
  13. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,271 (2.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    967
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Its all luck man, thats all C4C is doing to, luck.

    Think of it as a lottery. While bitcoin is generating your playing the lottery and the faster your Hardware the faster you play.


    With C4C they pay you to play for them. So its like I go around paying people a $00.10 to win a $50 lottery.

    To find out your rate of generation go here http://www.alloscomp.com/bitcoin/calculator.php

    put in the hash number your GPU client shows you as it runs.
     
    huayra.agera and matteumayo say thanks.
  14. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,880 (3.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,410
    Can someone help me set a solo GPU mining thing? I can't get it to work :(
     
  15. matteumayo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    172 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    I need some help...

    Aphex, I used the guide you sent me and followed it very carefully, but when I try to launch the bat file to launch bitcoin.exe with -server it gives an error saying "could not connect to server."

    Here is what I have in my .bat file:


    start /DC:\bitcoin\bitcoin-0.3.20 bitcoin.exe -server )


    What am I doing wrong?

    I really need to be able to launch bitcoin.exe -server quickly, because I will be switching things on and off a lot.

    Please help! :[

    P.S: The reason I had to restart bitcoin.exe after generating all of the block chains is because the GPU miner said it couldn't connect to bitcoin.exe.
     
  16. matteumayo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    172 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    [​IMG]

    This is the most I've been able to get, I used bitcoind.exe but it has no GUI and it just says "bitcoin server starting"

    however this at least lets the GPU miner start... help?
     
  17. matteumayo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    172 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    I might have gotten it working o3o

    How do you tell if it's running with -server?

    EDIT: think I fixed it, it opened with the batch and the GUI miner client is working at about 220,000k/hash :D

    So now I just wait? ._.

    EDIT2: Here's a pic:

    [​IMG]
     
  18. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,691 (6.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,987
    Location:
    some AF base
    man shoulda kept my 16 core server setup how did i miss this thread...
     
  19. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,880 (3.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,410
    CPU bitcoins suck
     
  20. matteumayo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    172 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    If anyone wants to know what I did to fix it, I just got rid of the folder I made in C:\bitcoin called bitcoin_0.3.2.0 after moving it's contents (the bitcoin files) to the C:\bitcoin folder.

    Then I went into the batch file and removed it from the chain, the directory in the batch looked like "start /DC:\bitcoin\bitcoin_0.3.20 bitcoin.exe -server )" before.

    so it looks like this now:

    start /DC:\bitcoin bitcoin.exe -server

    Changes: Shortened directory, got rid of space and ) at the end of the line.
     
    AphexDreamer says thanks.
  21. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,691 (6.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,987
    Location:
    some AF base
    man i dont even really know what they are lol
     
  22. matteumayo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    172 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    This is true, GPUs are hundreds of times more efficient.

    A hexacore system could get maybe 10,000k/hash at best.

    A 5970 system gets about 650,000k/hash (I'm pretty sure).
     
    huayra.agera says thanks.
  23. huayra.agera

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Messages:
    32 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    @matteumayo - hi! How did you get the GUI to work? I had the same error that you have and I still can't get the settings -server to work. The error I get is the path or app -server could not be found when using the batch script. Kindly inform us how. Thanks!
     
  24. huayra.agera

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Messages:
    32 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    @matteumayo - Thanks a lot! It worked now! It's gonna be a long week before we produce our bitcoins. =(
     
  25. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,691 (6.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,987
    Location:
    some AF base
    and opencl is required for GPU bitcoins correct so the oldestcard one could run is a 4xx0 series card?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page