1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

BitTorrent Upload Issues...

Discussion in 'General Software' started by KennyT772, Jul 17, 2007.

  1. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    For some reason I cannot get bittorrent clients to correctly work. This started happening about a month ago, yet I didn't change anything that I can remember. I have tried using utorrent, and Azureus. With either program I either get very low upload rates or none at all. I never get any errors with utorrent, but with Azureus I occasionally get a Announce Interval error. Any Ideas?
  2. d44ve New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,521 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    309
    Did you use a router?

    Have you turned on port fowarding and make sure the port you are using is free?
  3. mello_newf

    mello_newf

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    337 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Georgetown, Ontario, Canada
    If you have a router make sure you have your ports open and forwarded. I could also be you internet provider blocking you try enabling encryption in utorrent.
  4. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,134 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    I see your on a 4mb broadband line. This should mean that you can download (a Torrent file) @ about 400kbps (max, either 1 file at a time, or 400mb split between however many files you have downloading) and upload @ about 35-40kbps (per single file, or shared between numerous files).....if this is the 'slow' upload speed you are talking about, Im afraid you cant help that, and its the same for all of us :cry:

    Think of it this way, whatever your connection speed is, you can upload/download @ speeds of upto 10% of your bandwidth.

    PS: like the others have said, make sure all your ports are forwarded if your using a router and make sure your firewall isnt blocking your torrent client.

    PPS: dont use Azureus (as it is now monitored, if you know what I mean - so I hear), stick to uTorrent, not the new version but the 1.6 version ;)
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2007
  5. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    Why not the new version?
  6. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,134 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    Coz I think they 'sold out' too with this new version ;)
    theonetruewill says thanks.
  7. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    Thanks! Good thing my auto-update failed this time round.
  8. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,134 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    no problem m8 ;) I was reading about it some time ago and it said the new software would be in version 1.7 (I dont know how true it is, but its better to be safe then sorry)

    EDIT: yep, they sold out to the RIAA/MPAA after version 1.6.1 ;)
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2007
  9. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    Well I think I might have found the problem. I tried retesting my line speed with the site in my sig and dslreports.com and both showed a 16KB/s upload on multiple servers. I now think my problem might be that comcast is rate capping my line due to the amount of traffic I use monthly.
  10. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,134 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    B*stards! But that would make sense m8 :(
  11. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    Well in the past two months I have downloaded roughly 50gb and uploaded roughly 40gb....

    Time to bitch at comcast!
  12. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,134 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    LOL, yeah, my m8 got a warning letter from AOL and they tried to say he had been downloading 150GB a month :roll:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page