1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

[Case Gallery] Black Ice v2

Discussion in 'Case Mod Gallery' started by Toe_Tagz, Apr 20, 2013.

  1. Toe_Tagz

    Toe_Tagz

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Messages:
    22 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Blackwell, Oklahoma
    To view this case mod, go here.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Specs:
    Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5
    AMD FX 8150 @ 4000MHz
    Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) @ 1866MHz
    (x3) Seagate 500GB HDD's in RAID-0
    (x2) Nvidia GeForce GTX 660 Ti's in SLI
    ThermalTake TR2 RX 850w PSU

    Mods:
    Swiftech MCP655 PWM Pump w. Bitspower D5 MCP655 Pump Mod Kit - Blue, Bitspower Water Tank Z-Multi 150 Inline Reservoir, Swiftech Apogee HD High Performance 4-Port CPU Waterblock w/AMD mount, Black Ice GT Stealth 140mm. Radiator, Black Ice GT Stealth 360mm. Radiator, Aerocool F6XT 6 Channel Fan Controller, Cooler Master SickleFlow 120mm. Fan - Blue LED (x6), Cooler Master 140mm fans (x2), Cooler Master 230mm fans (x2) 1 w/Blue LED, UV cold cathode case lights (x2), NZXT Premium Sleeved Bright LED Kit - Blue, Modsmart Cable Sleeving - Black and UV Blue
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 20, 2014
  2. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,264 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,077
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I like it. My only real complaint (more of a concern,) would be the tubing going from the rear radiator to the pump. It looks like its pretty tight and is worrisome imho. Otherwise good work! Just need to throw those GPUs under water now!
     
  3. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,774 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,615
    I'd ditch that 140mm rad altogether, it doesn't aid in the cooling, adds restriction to the loop, and makes the tubing busier. That being said, things are very clean, a well built rig.
     
  4. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,963 (6.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,223
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Agreed, that 140 is worthless.
     
  5. Toe_Tagz

    Toe_Tagz

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Messages:
    22 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Blackwell, Oklahoma
    @ Aquinus
    Thank you. The tubing going from the rear radiator to the pump has a little "wiggle room", its not as tight as it looks. I make sure that the tubing is not stretched but more of a perfect fit. I have plans to put water blocks on my GPUs and sleeve the power cables on the GPUs as well, my only problem is that I don't have the budget to do so now, but it will be done as soon as I can.
     
  6. Toe_Tagz

    Toe_Tagz

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Messages:
    22 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Blackwell, Oklahoma
    @ MT Alex and MxPhenom 216
    Thank you. I belive you are right, I noticed that there is little air flow coming from the back if the 140mm rad/fans and I'm planning to switch to a 120mm rad/fans for better performance. But as I replied to Aquinus, I don't have the budget to do anything now, but thank you for pointing that out. I will keep you posted as things change.
     
  7. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,963 (6.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,223
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    You wont have to buy anything. just remove the 140.
     
  8. Toe_Tagz

    Toe_Tagz

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Messages:
    22 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Blackwell, Oklahoma
    I would, but once I am able to get the GPU waterblocks that I want, I will be using it to cool the liquid between the GPUs and the CPU and the other between the CPU and the GPUs
     
  9. Toe_Tagz

    Toe_Tagz

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Messages:
    22 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Blackwell, Oklahoma
    Update

    I have recently added 2 more Seagate 500GB HDD's totaling (x3) HHD's and set them up in RAID 0. Everything runs quicker and still no problems.
     
  10. Toe_Tagz

    Toe_Tagz

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Messages:
    22 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Blackwell, Oklahoma
    Specs:
    Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5
    AMD FX 8150 @ 4.7GHz
    Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) @ 1866MHz
    Samsung 256GB 840 PRO SSD (OS), (x3) Seagate 500GB HDD's (x2) in RAID-0 for Games/Programs (x1) for Files
    (x2) Nvidia GeForce GTX 660 Ti's in SLI
    ThermalTake TR2 RX 850w PSU
     
  11. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,963 (6.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,223
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Its not worth the hassle having radiators between blocks. Just go straight from block to block, then to the radiators. Once the system hits equilibrium, there will no be difference, with having the radiator between the CPU and GPU. I know logically it makes sense with having radiators between the blocks, I always thought that too, but it really does nothing.
     
    Arjai says thanks.
  12. Toe_Tagz

    Toe_Tagz

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Messages:
    22 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Blackwell, Oklahoma
    I took the 140mm radiator out just recently and now I'm back to just the 360mm radiator, my temps remain the same. Now I'm looking to sell the 140mm rad w/fan for $50, its in excellent condition.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page