1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Black Mesa: Source Gameplay

Discussion in 'Games' started by ViperXTR, Aug 7, 2012.

  1. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,351 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    463
    I would just say: anyone who has not done HL1, do it now!!!! This is soo good, you must have experienced it. So well designed (base story) plus the classy updated looks...
     
  2. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,625 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    928
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    Here, i've made an installer powered patch for Black Mesa game. I've basically made it for myself but since it's already made why not share it with others. This mod doesn't include cfg tweaks but also enhanced MP5 machine gun sounds which are so much better than default ones...

    You can grab the installer patch on my blog www.rejzor.tk where i'll also post new updates.
     
    PHaS3 says thanks.
  3. Drac

    Drac

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    126 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    I get some errors when I install that patch, not sure if its installed correctly, I installed it in BMS folder, how to know if its working properly? I also changed my cfg for your cfg version after installation, which is almost the same except for the gravity and some other minor things.
     
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2012
  4. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,625 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    928
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    What do the errors say? A bit strange considering hardly anything can go wrong but still...
     
  5. Drac

    Drac

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    126 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    It is not giving me error when I uninstalled and installed again, but the errors said "File could not be renamed".
    Edit: Maybe I had the game opened when I installed it and caused the error, im not sure but now im playing the game and the patch is running fine I think
     
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2012
  6. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,667 (3.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,773
    Location:
    Chicago
    Uh in order to "crouch jump" I always hit C before space not after (unless I'm still depressing the crouch key after and don't realize it...I kind of mash them together). I don't think I have not been able to get to a particular location yet...
     
  7. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,208 (5.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,566
    Location:
    Florida
    probably what are your thoughts on blur? im working on that first then im working on other stuff
     
  8. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,625 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    928
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    Well, obviously you cannot patch a game which is running...
     
  9. popswala

    popswala New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,294 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    957
    Location:
    Conway, AR
    I haven't tried them yet but they look good. I've always like the whole glowing effect of things that have lights and stuff. Makes it seem more like in a dream. also with blur, the things that aren't blurred tend to stand out more and makes them seem a lil more HD then they are.
     
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  10. PHaS3

    PHaS3

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    265 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    136
    I'm curious, anyone else finished the game yet?

    I have, and I'm interested to hear some other people's opinions on missing sections of the game, including Xen?
     
  11. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,667 (3.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,773
    Location:
    Chicago
    It's not done...?

    My opinion regarding that is releasing it now before the rest is done was a good move cause few who were not insiders in some way believed it would ever actually come out at all by now.
     
  12. Drac

    Drac

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    126 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    I have played it for 4 hours and I like it much, i used the patch above and I dont have problems, gravity-jumping-crouching its balanced and I dont have problems with the graphics (I have hd 5770), only sometimes with some effects I have 40-50 fps. The game is very well done
     
  13. popswala

    popswala New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,294 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    957
    Location:
    Conway, AR
    I'm getting 100+ with a single 275. Not bad at all.
     
  14. PHaS3

    PHaS3

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    265 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    136
    Ah lol, not done would explain it... Stupid me to think that a released game would be done. :banghead:

    I understand why they would do that, but I don't recall seeing anything actually stating that it's not done.

    I did really enjoy playing it though. Got started on HL2 again now too :D
     
  15. D4S4

    D4S4

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    697 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    just came here to ask if rejzor ate his own hair :D
     
    Benetanegia says thanks.
  16. Benetanegia

    Benetanegia New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,683 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    694
    Location:
    Reaching your left retina.
    +1

    Youtube, please. :D
     
  17. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,667 (3.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,773
    Location:
    Chicago
    http://www.bbc.com/news/technology-19463712

    Annual vaporware lists have one less champion now.
     
    PHaS3 says thanks.
  18. Arrakis+9

    Arrakis+9

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,484 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    536
    I finished it - - it seems like the only thing missing was xen then again i haven't played the original in over 2 years. overall it seemed like a good place to leave off at - xen is a hugely different world with a complete 180 from all of the textures and "feel" of most of the chapters so i feel its justified that they left off at that point. i just hope they dont take as long to finish xen as the rest of the game i'd be more than willing to wait a year or so with normal updates and teasers of course to the progress of that last chapter :cool:

    lets just hope that gabe doesn't decide to launch HL2:EP3 before black mesa finishes off xen but then again if that were to happen there would be a definitive chance of playing original HL all the way to EP 3 with no huge transition to the quality of the graphics and "feel" of the game especially with cinema mod applied to HL2
     
    PHaS3 says thanks.
  19. Frag Maniac

    Frag Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,509 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    516
    Yeah make sure nothing related to the game is running when patching, even shut Steam down. I've had errors just trying to launch the game if I so much as leave Steam running, and without any mods or patches.

    LOL on not being finished. Here I was assuming it was the whole game. Granted Xen is kinda strange, but still, I want to play the whole game, not part of it. This is not a spoiler but a valued heads up, because I would have been kinda pissed had I got to that point and found out in game.
     
    PHaS3 says thanks.
  20. popswala

    popswala New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,294 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    957
    Location:
    Conway, AR
    crap. just froze on me when sliding under a lazer. Hopefully it doesn't do it to me again. is quicksave not active? or is it not set to F5?
     
  21. DEFEATEST

    DEFEATEST

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    369 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Its set to F6 this time! I was like??? lol
     
  22. popswala

    popswala New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,294 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    957
    Location:
    Conway, AR
    thanks. I'll remember that when I get back on.

    lol. it didn't freeze this time. got a lil farther thanks to wasting a lil ammo to take a short cut lol.
     
  23. happita

    happita

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,359 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    I have only seen screenshots of the cinema mod for HL2, and quite frankly it looks too good. I can't wait to try out out, but first Black Mesa!!
    BTW, sorry if this has already been asked, but isn't Black Mesa officially supposed to be launching on Steam? Or is it just available at the developer's website?
     
  24. popswala

    popswala New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,294 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    957
    Location:
    Conway, AR
    thats correct. You can get black mesa right now but its incomplete. It is confirmed for steam when done of course.
     
    PHaS3 and happita say thanks.
  25. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,625 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    928
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    It's not a complete game so i won't eat my hair :p

    Phew, that was a close one hihi...
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page