1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Black screen after driver install

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Kofoed, Jul 28, 2011.

  1. Kofoed

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    187 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Denmark
    Hi, so the whole day, and some yesterday :p
    I've been trying to figure out what causes this.
    Everything worked,
    Decent but had alot of random old stuff on my drive.
    So I did a reformat and fresh install of windows. Which went fine, installed all avalible updates from windows update and then tried to install ATI display driver.
    Im using the HD 5870, so I get the drivers installed, it says finished with no trouble, all good.

    However, after I restart my system it only gets to the welcome screen, it dosen't show the blue welcome screen, thats where it turns off and the monitor says "No input/signal".
    So I tried serval time to uinstall the drivers and install them again.
    I even did reformat it once.
    But everytime it gets stuck there, screen turns off but can hear the pc kinda continiues to work.

    I should say that the display works fine in safe mode where it dosen't load the drivers.

    Thanks in advanced :)

    EDIT:
    Im using Windows 7 64bit
    Tried older drivers
    Ati 5870
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2011
  2. VulkanBros

    VulkanBros

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,295 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    252
    Location:
    The Pico Mundo Grill
    What AMD/ATI drivers do you use?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Kofoed

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    187 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Denmark
    Tried serval older driver
    The new one 11.7
    Older 11.6 (used that one before the reinstall)
    Also tried 11.3
  4. VulkanBros

    VulkanBros

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,295 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    252
    Location:
    The Pico Mundo Grill
    Does your motherboard have integrated graphic card?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Kofoed

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    187 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Denmark
    It does, tried turning it off already :p

    Also tried to reset the bios completely.
  6. VulkanBros

    VulkanBros

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,295 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    252
    Location:
    The Pico Mundo Grill
    Have you tried to move the GPU to the other PCI-Express slot?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Kofoed

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    187 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Denmark
    No, it always been in the main slot.
    I Found it had better cooling that way. It's right infront of a fan that way, and more space betweennits own fan and the Sound card
  8. VulkanBros

    VulkanBros

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,295 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    252
    Location:
    The Pico Mundo Grill
    What about trying the other DVI output port (I asume that it has two DVI outputs?) or are you using HDMI/Displayport or a HDMI to D-SUB converter??
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Kofoed

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    187 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Denmark
    No, im using duel screen, not eyefinity just 2 beside eachother. Using the 2 DVI outputs.:)
  10. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,509 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    try this, it's worth a shot

    - start in windows safemode, control panel, device manager, select view/show hidden devices/Non-Plug and play Drivers/highlight amdkmdag and press right mouse button to bring up a sub menu/select uninstall (do not remove any other non-P&PDrivers) ONLY amdkmdag
    next
    -re-boot and then reinstall the same version of Catalyst Drivers you had
    next
    -re-boot

    Hope this helps

    atb

    Law-II
    Kofoed says thanks.
  11. VulkanBros

    VulkanBros

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,295 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    252
    Location:
    The Pico Mundo Grill
    Sounds stange - and I am sure you have already tried with one monitoor at a time on both DVI´s....and your PSU seems to be big enough....
    Could be the monitor driver......
    Law-II´s suggestion seems to be good for a try....
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Kofoed

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    187 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Denmark
    im going to try What Law told me to do :p my psu is a 1000W from Cooler master.
    Also, it was doing just fine before the reinstall :)

    EDIT:
    I don't really understand tho. I reinstall windows and my drivers serval time before without this issue..
    What could cause it?
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2011
  13. VulkanBros

    VulkanBros

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,295 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    252
    Location:
    The Pico Mundo Grill
    Okay - did you run Win Seven x64 before the re-install?
    Kofoed says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. Kofoed

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    187 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Denmark
    Yes, it's the same version.

    So after doing what Law suggested me to do, it sort of works. I can't get the amd control panel to work tho. Which is annoying since the fan is currently at 55%
    But atleast the screen ain't black no more! :p
    Im currently trying to get AMD control panel to work, I let you know how it goes :p
    Afraid it won't work either :p

    Im going to mess with this over the night. Thanks for the help so far.

    Appreciated :)
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2011
  15. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,509 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    I think the ccc control panel is confused "version conflict" of sorts, you may wish to skip the following as there are other ways of cleaning ccc drivers out; there is a sticky at the top of the Graphics Cards page on TPU

    EDIT; need to include two other reg entries back in a bit
    Edit; Done
    However this is the method I use. (hope it helps)

    First things first; set a restore point and back-up any files and download Driversweeper v_2.1.0

    follow the instructions very carefully and all will be well;

    go to windows control panel \ add and remove programs \ uninstall catalyst driver (choose express uninstall)

    reboot

    enter windows safe mode (press F8) and run Driversweeper v_2.1.0 (highlite driversweeper, press right mouse button- bring up menu run DS in administrator mode) select ATI only in DS and analyse then delete NOTE when it ask you if you want to restart the system DONT - instead open control panel and go to Device Manager / Display Adapters (open this) you should be able to see a vga card installed - highlight press right mouse button - will open a sub menu -you want uninstall - when the system asks you to restart DONT - Then open control panel, device manager, select view/show hidden devices/Non-Plug and play Drivers/highlight amdkmdag and press right mouse button to bring up a sub menu/select uninstall (When it ask you to restart DONT;- select No option to restart later

    do not close Driversweeper leave it open on the desk top

    this next step has risk's involved

    follow the instructions very carefully and all will be well.

    Open Regedit

    goto

    HKEY_CURRENT_USER \Software\ATI and delete the ATI folder

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE \SOFTWARE\ATI and delete the ATI folder

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE \SOFTWARE\ATI Technologies and delete the ATI Technologies folder

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\Class\ (you will see lots of folders we need the thirteenth (13) folder down from "Class" - open the folder and you will see 0000 delete this folder and any others 0001,0002 Note the Properties folder is read only and protected leave this as it is.

    close up all the sub folders and move on to

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet002\Control\Class\ (you will see lots of folders we need the thirteenth (13) folder down from "Class" - open the folder and you will see 0000 delete this folder and any others 0001,0002 Note the Properties folder is read only and protected leave this as it is

    close up all the sub folders and move on to

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Class\ (you will see lots of folders we need the thirteenth (13) folder down from "Class" - open the folder and you will see 0000 delete this folder and any others 0001,0002 Note the Properties folder is read only and protected leave this as it is

    (you only need to check CCS there should be no entries in the thirteenth folder other than properties)

    close up all the sub folders and move on to

    HKEY_USERS \.DEFAULT\Software\ATI and delete the ATI folder

    repeat this process, move on to

    HKEY_USERS \*.*\Software\ATI (ONLY delete folder named ATI)

    check each folder under the heading HKEY_USERS

    Three ATI folders in total and only if they are under this reg heading

    -Close Regedit

    next go back to the driversweeper software ("Do you want to restart screen") and select ok

    -Reboot - allow windows to start up and find a vga driver

    -then install the latest AMD catalyst Drivers

    atb

    Law-II
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2011
    Dreadnought33 says thanks.
  16. VulkanBros

    VulkanBros

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,295 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    252
    Location:
    The Pico Mundo Grill
    Good luck! :)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,509 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    In regard to the control panel not opening, ccc use assembly files, these can become corrupt if more than one catalyst driver is installed one on top of the other.

    "in window folder veiw" - look in C:\Windows\assembly and see if there are any Token's that match this one; Public Key Token 90ba9c70f846762e - if the answer is yes -

    -you could try this -

    uninstall the catalyst drivers (as before, choose express)

    reboot into safe mode (F8) run driversweeper v_2.1.0 choose ATI do not reboot

    go to C:\Windows\assembly - and delete all Public Key Token's that read 90ba9c70f846762e (ONLY 90ba9c70f846762e)

    you will need admin rights

    reboot

    allow windows to load and then reinstall the latest Catalyst driver

    atb

    Law-II
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2011
  18. Kofoed

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    187 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Denmark
    Thanks Law.
    I used driver sweeper to clean it up, some of the keys in the regedit wasen't there tho. Atleast I couldn't find them.
    But after using the driver sweeper and uinstalling the drivers I got it to work :)
    Thanks again! Much appreciated :)
  19. Kofoed

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    187 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Denmark
    I didn't need to do this step, the previous post worked :)

    EDIT:
    If you got any idea of what may have caused this, please do tell :p I never really figured it out.
    Law-II says thanks.
  20. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,509 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    Great to see you are up and running once again:)

    "My own opinion" allegedly-it may be being caursed by an M$ update identifier; e.g; (example) - when windows 7-64Bit update looks at my own system M$ update identifys the AMD HD 5970 I have installed as a HD 5700 and installs the drivers for the 5770 which gives a blank screen.

    nb: I have reported this to Microsoft; but I doubt they will do much about it as they are keen to get Windows 8 out of the door rather than resolve issues with M$W7

    This is far from definitive and there are other reasons this could happen.

    Edit; M$W7 asked me again if I would like to update my HD 5970 driver with the 5700!

    NB: if any other members of TPU can shed any light on this It would be great

    atb

    Law-II

    Attached Files:

    • 5700.jpg
      5700.jpg
      File size:
      70.4 KB
      Views:
      159
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2011
  21. Kofoed

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    187 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Denmark
    Im not sure, it did identify my card as the 5870, I could see that in the device manager from safe mode :)
    I don't think Microsoft was to blame for this. It only happend after I installed the ATI drivers. Not the microsoft ones. I was detected as a Standart VGA card :p
  22. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,509 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    Thank you for the feedback, it has been a pleasure; you are very welcome

    atb

    Law-II
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2011

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page