1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

black screen of death

Discussion in 'General Software' started by 1337dingo, Jun 16, 2010.

  1. 1337dingo New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    bunbury.. Australia
    okie dokie joined so i can awnser posibly.. i works at a school and a few of the computers before being able to log on go to a black screen and all you can see is the mouse curser :banghead: ... read some stuff about a update but we havnt done that update.. any help would be GREAT ... im gonn go mad!! :twitch::mad::cry:
     
  2. Fatal

    Fatal

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    732 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    120
    Location:
    Golden, Colorado
    Welcome to TPU :toast:

    If I understand you corectly you work at a school I would guess for the IT department there? Are the computers set up to hibernation mode or sleep mode? That would be my guess as to why its going to a black screen. After you move the mouse around are you able to log back in or no?
     
    1337dingo says thanks.
  3. 1337dingo New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    bunbury.. Australia
    yea thx ay.. ya im a trainee at the school.. they are set to 90 min before sleep mode . but you can move the mouse click anything its just a black screen doesnt let youy log on or nuthing
     
  4. Fatal

    Fatal

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    732 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    120
    Location:
    Golden, Colorado
    What are the specs of the computers and what operating system are they using? Not a pro but will try to assist you.
     
  5. 1337dingo New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    bunbury.. Australia
    they are win 7 32 bit.. 4 Gb ram.. 150 gb hard drive.. pent D 3.40 GHz .. just so kids can do school work on ya no
     
  6. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,043 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    I had this problem last night, to get into windows all I did was get into the recovery command prompt and typed these commands in.

    Bootrec.exe /fixmbr
    Bootrec.exe /fixboot

    Fixed the problem for me.
     
    1337dingo says thanks.
  7. 1337dingo New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    bunbury.. Australia
    okie dokie will have to try that next time
     
  8. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,043 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    Give us an update on whether the command helped or not please :D.

    Would greatly help confirm whether this solution fixes BSOD with flashing cursor.
     
  9. Hybrid_theory

    Hybrid_theory New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,895 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    ontario canada
  10. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,043 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    Its technically not the same problem as the link you've mentioned. The problem his having doesn't even go past loading screen, the only thing his able to action is the boot up process whether booting up from a USB, CD, etc..

    That fix won't help this problem because he's not even able logon or let windows load drivers. This is a common issue with people still using the 7600 RTM with loaders..
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page