1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Black screen when I reboot after successfully flashing my 6950 to 6970

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Phusius, May 25, 2012.

  1. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    I just got a reference Msi 6950 2Gb card, I installed the 12.4 drivers. rebooted. then downloaded the techpowerup atiwinflash, 6970 bios, I do it all correctly, load program, then reboot.

    6970 says it flashed fine and even says verified like it is supposed to, after reboot though it just a black screen when it loads up to windows. I can hear windows at the login screen and everything... thoughts?
     
  2. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    fyi the card does have dual bios switch, and I have flashed bios 1 back to 6950 bios several times now, it works fine as 6950.

    just can't seem to get past the black screen on reboot. I even the cmd command like it says to do on techpowerups guide if you run into any errors. I had no errors though is the weird thing.
     
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,795 (13.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,178
    Are your video drivers uninstalled while doing this? They should be.
     
    Phusius says thanks.
  4. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    ah I did not realize that was necessary. thanks erocker, you rock! xD <3 erocker /t erocker /hug xD

    hope this works lol
     
  5. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    hmm, uninstalled drivers, and still says success in 6970 flash but after reboot black screen. just flashed back to 6950, if anyone else has had this problem please enlighten me. ^^
     
  6. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
  7. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    hmm I did everything motherboardsorg said to do, win98 boot flash drive, i made into dos win98 after f8 and everything... flashed successfully, rebooted, and got a black screen after hearing win7 boot up yet again. guess I got a reference dud. :( sad day
     
  8. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,049 (4.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,205
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Rumour has it ASUS did soemthing to motherboard BIOS code with version 3xxx+ BIOS for flashed 6950-to-6970. I haven't run into this myself, but many users report this problem, one referenced a note from ASUS support about it.

    I, however, prefer to not put on the tinfoil hat.:roll:
     
    purecain and Phusius say thanks.
  9. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    oh well it is not that big of a deal I guess. I am not much into gaming anymore anyway... reason I sold my 680 while it was still a hot ticket item.
     
  10. Jaro New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Poland
    6950 to 6970 with Asus - solved

    Hello everybody, this is my first post, and sorry for my English. I had the same problem - black screen after flashing Sapphire 6950 to 6970 on Asus P8Z77-V. A lot of Asus (and probably other brands) motherboard users witch Z77/Z68 chipset have the same problem. My flashed card worked excellent on my previous mobo - Asus P5QL-E. Asus probably blocks flashed cards (6950 with 6970 bios) from using. On this forum is few solutions with unlocking shaders and changing clocks – to do it we have to edit 6950 bios - sometimes it works, but this is only modified 6950 Bios. My solution is simply. Take your target 6970 bios, edit with RBE, change "video card ID" from 6970 to 6950, save, flash. Now motherboard recognize it as standard 6950, but we have full functional 6970 witch 1536 shaders, 880/1375 clocks, new clocks limits, proper voltages and fan profile. It works for me, and I hope it will for others.
     
    purecain and Law-II say thanks.
  11. Gbear New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    S.A
    awesome I will try that as it seems like a good idea. although I had some excellent advice from thaspacepope. and simple to if you are able to use MSI Afterburner then check out this link that ThaSpacePope sent me it truly rocks as now I can leave the card at those crappy clock settings of 800/1200 and with afterburner pump the HELL out of my card getting 1050/1550 fan @ 100% Power @+20% and GPU Core Volts tweaked just a little and PLAY BF3 For hours and totaly stable also using cold air induction to help with cooling. so respect to ThaSpacePope. just FYI My card has never run so stable before so the unlocking of Afterburner seems like a very good choice http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=338906
     
  12. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,976 (4.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,630
    How did you verify the cards capabilities were unlocked after changing the id of the board?
     
  13. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    If you have an Asus motherboard and updated your BIOS that is most likely the issue. Asus blocked the ability to flash 6950's, you have to use W1zzard php script to unlock sahders then OC in Trixx to 6970 speeds.
     
  14. Jaro New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Poland
    I use TechPowerUp tool GPU-Z.exe, everything is clearly displayed, and I checked performance with 3dMark2011, was ~5400 points (original BIOS), now I have about 6050 points with second, 6970 BIOS. Card is about 12% faster, I’ve got 5-10 FPS more, it is noticeable.
    And easier is change 6970 BIOS ID, you no need unlock shaders and overclock, and most important - this is original 6970 Bios. Everything is explained in my previous post.
     
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2012
  15. purecain

    purecain

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    637 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    @Jaro - you definatly came up with the best and simplest workaround...

    playing with afterburner to oc your card and over volt is plain tedius imo...

    first thing i do with a new gpu is edit the bios with RBE so that it just works at the clocks and volts i prefere...

    literraly plug n play...
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page