1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

black screen

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by cookiemonster, Sep 9, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cookiemonster

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    492 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Hi i recently upgraded some of my system
    i5-3570k Ivy Bridge
    Gigayte Z77-UD5H Wifi motherboard
    16gb corsair 2x4 1600mhz ram
    when i plug my monitor into the mainboard graphics there is no problem but when i plug it into my graphics card ( AMD 6970) i get a black screen with sound, i can here it booting into windows 7 64bit but i cannot get into the bios until i boot back in with the intel onboard graphics. i have updated the bios on the motherboard with no problems but i want my graphics card back, I have tried turning of the onboard graphics which is set to AUTO in the bios and the PEG is set to Auto. Help
  2. Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,234 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    343
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    try resetting entire bios - also reset monitor.
    cookiemonster says thanks.
  3. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,789 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    662
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Try another slot for your graphics card and see if it is a bad slot.
    cookiemonster says thanks.
  4. cookiemonster

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    492 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Hi thanks for the advice how do i reset my monitor, and i will try it in another slot
  5. Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,234 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    343
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    with some button on the monitor so that you open its menu (where you can adjust brightness etc)
  6. cookiemonster

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    492 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Hi tried it in another slot and it booted into windows with no problems
  7. Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,234 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    343
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    Is the mobo still under warranty?
    cookiemonster says thanks.
  8. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,984 (6.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,937
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Try re-seating the processor and make sure there are no bent pins on the motherboard. Remember that the PCI-E controller is on your CPU. I think the very last 4x PCI-E slot might be off the Z77 chipset, but that might have been for the Z68, I can't remember.
    cookiemonster says thanks.
  9. cookiemonster

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    492 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    yes I only got the mobo last Tuesday from scan and I have taken out the scansure insurance which lasts for 2 weeks from delivery date.
  10. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorā„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,561 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,916

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page