1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Blinking Dash in upper left corner... Can't get in Windows

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by rh535, Mar 14, 2010.

  1. rh535

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    161 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Last week my PSU went out and my computer shut off. I swapped out the PSU and a HD which supposedly had shown S.M.A.R.T errors(Not my OS drive). i took out all the drives and only had my OS drive installed. After getting past the bios screen it just shows a blinking dash in the upper left corner. I have Windows 7 x64 ...

    Any ideas on how to fix this without reinstalling Windows 7?

    Thanks

    Asus P5W DH Deluxe

    WD Caviar Black 1TB - SATA
     
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,553 (11.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,827
    make sure the HDD boot order is correct in the BIOS.


    if you had a weird setup (OS drive not on SATA 0, etc) then its possible some of your boot files were on the drive that was removed, even if the OS itself wasnt - a repair/reinstall is the only real fix there.
     
  3. Arrakis+9

    Arrakis+9

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,500 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    PL_badwater
    Usually it means that the system is hanging on ID'ing all of the devices hooked to the motherboard. unplug one thing at a time untill your system either tells you that there is no bootable device or just gets into windows. then you'll know whats died on you.
     
  4. rh535

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    161 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    How do i do a repair with windows 7?
     
  5. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,553 (11.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,827
    I think you can start a repair from the install DVD, actually. I've seen a 'startup repair' option somewhere
     
  6. Arrakis+9

    Arrakis+9

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,500 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    PL_badwater
    boot from the CD, when the system is in windows setup, there is an option after starting setup in the bottom left corner that says "repair your computer" use startup repair to fix the boot files
     
  7. rh535

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    161 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I think it is time to reinstall windows... Thanks for the help.
     
  8. Arrakis+9

    Arrakis+9

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,500 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    PL_badwater
    you shouldn't have to if you can get it to boot off the CD drive
     
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,553 (11.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,827
    if its just the boot files missing as i said before, startup repair fixes that quite easily.
     
  10. vbx New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    720 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
  11. rh535

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    161 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Well after setting the drive up as the first boot drive I get something to the like of "put in the boot disk or restart the computer". Also when I try to fix the startup errors it does nothing and asks me to restart the computer.

    Reinstall?

    Can I use the command promt? If so, what should I type in?

    Thanks
     
  12. vbx New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    720 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    See the post above.

    [​IMG]

    goto command prompt
    simply enter: bootrec /fixboot
    or enter: bootrec and it will list a few options.
     
  13. rh535

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    161 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    The screen before that does not show my drive. I tried going into command prompt and type this

    X:\Sources"Not put in by me" bootrec /fixboot

    I get "Element not found"
     
  14. vbx New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    720 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    what do you get when you just type bootrec
     
  15. rh535

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    161 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    4 options

    fixmbr
    fixboot
    scanos
    rebuildbcd
     
  16. vbx New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    720 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    do all of them in that order. it doesn't hurt to try. if the OS is installed on that drive, it should work.
     
  17. rh535

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    161 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Do I just type in FixMbr? I tried just that and got "FixMbr" is not recognized as an internal or external command
     
  18. vbx New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    720 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    no you have to type bootrec /fixmbr

    Also, if the screen b4 that doesn't show your drive, that means it didn't find an OS installed in that drive.
     
  19. rh535

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    161 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I tried the first one and it said completed successfully. It did not work and will try down the list. Since my drive was not seen in the first screen is this pointless?
     
  20. vbx New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    720 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Yes it is pointless if there is No OS installed on that drive. lol

    but try the 4 bootrec fixes down the list and see what happens.
     
  21. DirectorC

    DirectorC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,624 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    Florizy
    Seems like you had some gnarly data corruption with this system crash.

    Try some of the automated options for system repair.
     
  22. rh535

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    161 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    The OS is on the drive
     
  23. DirectorC

    DirectorC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,624 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    Florizy
    Startup Repair or System Restore may work. If not you'll just have to reinstall. At least it doesn't seem like you've lost any data.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page