1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Blu Ray pixelation noise

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by MxPhenom 216, Jan 3, 2013.

  1. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,066 (6.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,277
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    I just got one of the new Sony Blu Ray player. This one specifically http://www.amazon.com/dp/B006U1YUZE/?tag=tec06d-20

    And Im watching Hurt Locker and blu ray and there is a lot of pixelation noise. Has anyone else experienced this with blu ray?
     
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,828 (13.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,202
    Swapping the HDMI cable would be the first thing I try. If you're viewing it on a 1080p screen the picture should be crisp.
     
  3. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,066 (6.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,277
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    yep. 1080p screen, and Im using a cheap $10 mediabridge HDMI cable. Ill try my Belkin that I use for xbox.
     
  4. LightningJR

    LightningJR

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    269 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    61
    If it's just a lot of noise then it's probably just the fact that it's an older movie that wasn't converted to blu ray well. I have seen old 70's movies remastered that look better than some movies from about 2000 - 2010..

    If it's pixelization than it is probably the HDMI cable.
     
  5. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,066 (6.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,277
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Yeah, theres a lot of noise. Im going to try with my other Belkin PureAV HDMI cable and see if it reduces it at all. I will report back.
     
  6. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    The noise is mainly because HDMI is only 60Hz and the panel up's it to 120Hz, so I guess you could call it latency. Some titles are done better than others (as mentioned) & some panels have better electronics so you don't notice it as much. Techreport should go and fix HDMI now ;)

    I highly doubt a cable will "fix" this issue for you, if you were having "handshake" issues then Ok...
     
  7. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,466 (4.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,268
    i saw hurt locker in the theater and it was a bit grainy. that was the look the director was going for. some studios when they transfer a film to bluray will use a procedure that removes like 99% of the noise. some people like it while others don't. you should try a different bluray and see what happens.
     
  8. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,066 (6.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,277
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    I have a Samsung 40" LCD 1080P panel that only does 60hz. I noticed with the blu ray it defaults to 24hz.
     
  9. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,466 (4.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,268
  10. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,066 (6.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,277
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2013
  11. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,398 (11.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,697
    if other movies are clear, then its just the movie.


    1. try every HDMI port (turn the TV off between tests - just trust me on that). some TV's apply different optimisations to different ports, god knows why.

    2. look for settings in the TV that might be screwing it up. turn on game mode/HTPC mode. turn off denoise, deblur, etc. write down the defaults and just fiddle with everything. (these should be independant per HDMI input, on the TV)
     
  12. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    You can try what Mussels sugested but I would also suggest trying with component cables. Resolution will be slightly less @ 1080i but pic will prolly be clear. I been using HDMI since it first came out, BBIIGG mistake I made jumping on the bandwagon.

    DVI/DP needs to come to consumer TVs :eek:
     
  13. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,466 (4.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,268
    huh?
     
  14. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,698 (9.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,159
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I was thinking the same thing since DVI is the same as HDMI and the only real main difference is HDMI carries audio.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    Wrong
     
  16. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,466 (4.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,268
    good explanation
     
    m1dg3t says thanks.
  17. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,398 (11.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,697
    sorry midget, but if your HDMI looked worse than analogue, then the problem is with your setup/config.


    HDMI is literally DVI + audio. thats the entire standard. the other differences are purely because most HDTV's lack EDID as a cost saving measure, so devices tend to have manual config instead of automatic.

    as i said earlier - you can fix that by adjusting the settings. changing to 30Hz interlaced component is a terrible way to get better image quality.
     
  18. Sinzia

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    843 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    205
    Hurt Locker has film grain in it, its not "noise" but its meant to look that way.
    Some say it gives a more artsy feel to movies.
     
  19. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    You're welcome :)

    If you say so. :) I never said anything about the quality of my picture.

    @ Sinzia: Theres is a difference between pixelation and grain, O/P said pixelation so...



    HDMI is a half ass, cash grab interface. Designed mainly to keep people from copying their media using HDCP.

    DVI/DVI-D (or DP) & optical is the way to go ;)
     
  20. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,841 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,490
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Is that pixellation noise showing up as lots of white dots all over the screen? If so, changing the HDMI cable should fix it as this indicates corrupt data reaching the TV. You don't need an expensive HDMI cable either.

    It's possible, but quite unlikely that your player or TV are faulty.

    Does the problem go away when playing another disc?
     
  21. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,066 (6.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,277
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Read earlier in the thread. I said Act of Valor does not have the pixellation. Its clear.
     
  22. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,841 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,490
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    It's just the disc then.
     
  23. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    It was never pixelation to begin with then. ;)

    Out of curiosity mxphenom, did you try it with component cables? Just for shiggles if nothing else... Even if they are just "stock" cables.
     
  24. xorbe

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    400 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    It's probably just the source material ... try another disc?
     
  25. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,841 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,490
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Wut? :wtf:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page