1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

blu-ray player getting a crappy signal

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by mab1376, Aug 4, 2009.

  1. mab1376

    mab1376

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    946 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    I bought a HDMI switcher from Radioshack and hooked it up to my Panasonic DMP-BD80 to my 32" Sharp Aquos and the screen is snowy and flickers while using the switch box but if I just use the cable straight through its fine.

    The cable box works fine through the switch box with no issues for some reason though.

    ...And all the cables test fine on the blu-ray player going straight to the tv.

    I even got another switchbox from cablestogo.com just to see if that was the issue and its the same problem...

    Any ideas?
  2. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,047 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    880
    is the switcher powered? most of the cheaper ones have this problem.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. mab1376

    mab1376

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    946 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    yes it is powered
  4. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,047 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    880
    People say "cables dont matter" but they do, if your using a dynex, they are crap for blu ray, anything else from like mono price, or geek squad, belkin ect are fine.

    this happens no matter what you plug in?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Kenshai

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,646 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    Is it an auto sensing switch? Have you tried without another source in at the same time? I know that my switch will sometimes have issues with my cable box because it is always sending a signal, even with the cable box turned off.
  6. mab1376

    mab1376

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    946 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Well the signal is perfect without the switchbox, and it is not auto sensing, I see the blu-ray splash screen and it flickers from blue to red with snowy artifacts all around.

    I'm pretty sure its the switchbox any suggestions on a good one?
  7. Kenshai

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,646 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    I use this one, didn't purchase it at that price but the auto sensing works great. I haven't had any issues with it, have the cable box, the ps3 and the 360 plugged into it with zero issues. I don't use audio through hdmi but I assume that there wouldn't be any quality loss.


    Ah got it from Meritline with these cables, not bad cables at all. They work that's about all that needs to happen with them. This will go on sale sometimes for ~$20.
    mab1376 says thanks.
  8. mab1376

    mab1376

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    946 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Yeah I am also using audio through toslink to reduce signal loss. thanks for the suggestions.
  9. Kenshai

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,646 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    If you were interested in a switch for both they do make them, they aren't much more but I'm unsure if they are auto-sensing. I'd have to look around again, I instead bought a manual toslink switch for all my toslink needs :p
  10. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,855 (8.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,413
    Dynex is Geek Squad. Anyway buy "Monster" cables. They make really nice stuff. Everything is coated in 14k gold. As for your problem it sounds like the HDMI converter might be bad.
  11. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,047 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    880
    no its not, i work there. the Geeksquad cables are suppose to be the same as the monster M1000 HDMI. the Dynex WILL NOT play dts hd or dd +
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,855 (8.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,413
    Dynex is a Best Buy brand. So they have two brands? Dynex AND Geeksquad?
  13. Kenshai

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,646 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    Reading someone recommending monster cables bothers me, just go to monoprice.com. You can get all your cable needs for cheap and they are quality cables.
  14. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,855 (8.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,413
    I agree. Don't buy them from the store. Hell no. I was just recommending the brand man. :laugh: Don't hit me Kenshai! :eek:
  15. mab1376

    mab1376

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    946 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
  16. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,047 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    880
    I agree, buying monster cables is retarded

    The Geeksquad cables are better, they are thicker, and gold plated. i get it for $8

    Dynex are just cheaper. overall much cheaper.

    anyway, back on topic.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,855 (8.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,413
    I didn't tell you to buy them from Best Buy. I was just recommending the brand. You can't tell me they are bad cables. You just need to find a deal.

    I agree. Everything at Best Buy is over priced. However Monster Cables are good cables. Just get them from online. What is so hard to understand about this?
  18. mab1376

    mab1376

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    946 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    They only thing I like about monster cables that I don't get with cheaper ones, is they are way less rigid.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page