1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Bluescreen error after recovering factory settings

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by freebird_9924, Feb 14, 2010.

  1. freebird_9924

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    542 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    India
    Hello,
    I've HP dv6226tx notebook.

    I've used recovery partitoon to recover to original factory settings.

    It's working fine except terrifying bluescreen error i got thrice..

    Now i've got blue screen 3 times and my laptop rebooted. i didnt remember error on blue screen except it was written that check your bios if it's latest and updated like that. i want to know where's the problem? how to update bios?

    CAN it be problem in ram/hdd? how to check it? Thanks


    --------------
  2. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,154 (5.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,958
    Location:
    Home
    Do you have a recovery cd(the one you installed your os with)? Try using that instead.

    If there is a problem with ram, the computer doesn't usually start up, if there is a problem with HDD, then I think a recovery cd will pick it up.
  3. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,478 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    846
    If Windows has recorded a log file I'll debug it for you.

    Go to C:\Windows\Minidump and just up load the files if they're there.

    This will help us find out what is causing the BSOD.
    phanbuey says thanks.
  4. neoreif

    neoreif New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    294 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    Las Islas Filipinas
    +1 for Innocent Criminal's suggestion!:)
  5. freebird_9924

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    542 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    India
    I lost recovery cd so used recovery partition to boot.

    But it doesnt make any difference. as recovery cd has thing which is in recovery partition.

    Today no blue screen message. :)
    I've done windows update today..i dont know but i think i've purchased laptop 3 yrs back so recovery factory settings windows vista was older and i installed all newer 2010 apps..that might have caused problem..
  6. freebird_9924

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    542 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    India
    Attached.

    One more thing, after reinstalled using recovery partition, i had 12gb free out of 27gb and now only 3 gb..vista sucks in this way..i wish microsoft shd release some updates to fix this problem and make it smoother like windows 7..

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Feb 14, 2010
  7. freebird_9924

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    542 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    India
    Opps.just got first blue screen error today..i think it came only when i feel like it's going to hang my system..

    attached another dump file..

    Attached Files:

  8. freebird_9924

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    542 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    India
    yes.
  9. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,478 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    846
    Modder beat me to it.

    :D

    Nice one modder!
    modder says thanks.
  10. freebird_9924

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    542 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    India
    Are you sure?
    as before i restored with recovery partition, i was using bit defender for 2 yrs and no problems..

    difference now i'm using 2010 version and before i was using 2009 version..


    do i need bios update? if yes, how?

    ===============
    one more thing, after reinstalled using recovery partition, i had 12gb free out of 27gb and now only 3 gb..vista sucks in this way..i wish microsoft shd release some updates to fix this problem and make it smoother like windows 7..
    ===============

    can it be due to hdd problem?
    if yes, how to check if hdd is fine?


    I've downloaded hd tune.
    now which test to do in it?

    please explain me which tests to do..

    i've done quick scan in error tab and it has shown 0.00% damaged blocks..

    anyother tests i need to do?
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2010
  11. freebird_9924

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    542 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    India

    shd i do all 3 steps or only one of 3?

    and for ram test, iso file download and burn it to cd--boot from cd will work?

    can i boot same via pendrive?how?
    Thanks.
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,938 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,359
    the problem is that when you did your recovery, some things got reverted and some things didn't. bitdefender isn't enjoying being half there and half not.

    The guys above are on the right track - just keep following their instructions.
    neoreif says thanks.
  13. neoreif

    neoreif New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    294 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    Las Islas Filipinas
    I'd follow #2 then #1 and then finally #3. You can undo these changes anyway if it causes more problems! Good luck and hope you find the solution soon!
  14. freebird_9924

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    542 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    India
    Thanks to all.

    May i know what will step 1 and 2 do? they will disable bitdefendeR?

    I've also sent an email to HP customer support..i hope they will give more light in this issue..

    As blue screen is coming infrequently only when my system slows down much, so it's difficult to know if issue is resolved or not..
  15. freebird_9924

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    542 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    India
  16. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,644 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,763
    Location:
    Chicago
    Pure gold.
  17. freebird_9924

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    542 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    India
    i didn't get u.
  18. freebird_9924

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    542 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    India
    got bluescreen again while watching movie in windows media center..
    unable to watch movies in media center for more than 30-40minutes..:(
    I'll try to watch in WMP and update if same recurrws on doing so.

    [​IMG]

    Attached Files:

  19. neoreif

    neoreif New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    294 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    Las Islas Filipinas
    Good day freebird! Well seems your problem doesnt want to go away! Things like this tend to do so but I'm quite sure you'll find a way out of this. have tried to uninstall bit defender and run your PC without it? I have read another forum which deals with problems similar as yours bitdefender and it seems that many people encounter this kind of problems with BD-IS 2010. Seems like there is a bug to its latest edition. If I were in your shoes, I'd do a complete format and reinstall windows again and not install BD-IS for the moment and see if would still have BSOD....

    Here is the link to the other forum I've mentioned above:
    http://www.techsupportforum.com/mic...8-blue-screen-shutting-down-unexpectedly.html
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2010
  20. freebird_9924

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    542 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    India
    Nope.. i've not uninstalled bitdefender yet..

    I'll first give shot to wath m,ovie in another player and check if this happens..

    my laptop has factory installed 60days norton IS which i had uninstalled..but i think it wasnt uninstalled fully as live symantac was yet in programms and i unionstalled it manually AND it has shown msg that symantac products are there in laptop.

    may be it is due to that? if yes, how to uninstall symantac products fully?
  21. freebird_9924

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    542 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    India
    how to do that?
    sorry, i didnt understand that.

    have u checked that another dump file?
  22. neoreif

    neoreif New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    294 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    Las Islas Filipinas
    Good day Bro! To fully uninstall your Norton product, go here:
    http://service1.symantec.com/Support/tsgeninfo.nsf/docid/2005033108162039
    This is their removal tool.

    I'm not quite sure if this is the cause of your problems but improper software uninstallation(especially anti-viruses like Norton) may cause problems/instability for your system.

    What I would do is run that removal tool from norton then check for BSOD. If it still crashes, I'd uninstall BD-IS then check for BSOD again.

    You can also follow Modder's suggestion of moving your page file! I'm not so familiar with this so maybe Modder would help you on this! I know he would help you cause that's how TPU folks are! Always helpful!:D

    If the problem continues, I'd do the last step of formatting my drive and do a clean install of the OS! Sometimes it pays to start 'fresh'!:)

    Good luck Bro! And hope you find the 'get-by' to your problem!:toast:
    freebird_9924 and modder say thanks.
  23. freebird_9924

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    542 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    India
    On that link, following is mentioned. Do you still recommand me to move paging file to different partitioon on same hard drive?

    I've uninstalled norton using uninstall tool given by neowolf.
  24. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,938 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,359
    using a seperate partition on your C: drive doesnt slow your PC down, unless you were doing multiple reads/writes to that drive at the same time - which would be just as slow with only one partition.
    neoreif says thanks.
  25. freebird_9924

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    542 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    India
    Well, within last few days no blue screen yet but een i hadnt used that much which will slow my laptop and show bluescren too. :D

    and i've one hardrive in laptop which came while i bought and i had created 4 partitions in it including c and excluding recovery partition.

    i've not moved paging file yet as i worry about speed problem mentioned on that link.
    neoreif says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page