1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Bluescreen of death!!! I don't know what is wrong, but I just bought & installed a...

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Franklinwallbrown, Feb 14, 2008.

  1. Franklinwallbrown

    Franklinwallbrown New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,228 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    new CPU (3200+ Athlon 64). It worked fine when I first put it in, but then I come home & now I get the bluescreen of death. I'm trying to figure out what is wrong, and any help you could provide would make me eternally greatful. Thanks in advance.
     
  2. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,766 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    201
    Location:
    US
    how many times did you turned it on and off with new CPU before it started to give you blue screen?
    any oc?
    any changes to bios?
     
    Franklinwallbrown says thanks.
  3. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,136 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,771
    Location:
    US
    It would help if you told people the error message.

    You could check ram with memtest check your hdd for errors you could even try putting the older CPU back in your system see if the problem goes away and if it does go away try a reformat of the OS and see how that goes..
     
    Franklinwallbrown says thanks.
  4. Franklinwallbrown

    Franklinwallbrown New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,228 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    I turned it on one time.
    I OCed the old CPU.
    Other than OCing, no.

    The error is: KERNEL_STACK_INPAGE_ERROR.

    How could I check the RAM & HD when my computer is off?
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2008
  5. beyond_amusia

    beyond_amusia New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,140 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    You might need to go into safe mode and install the AMD driver for that CPU.
     
    Franklinwallbrown says thanks.
  6. Wastedslayer

    Wastedslayer

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    860 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Or he could need to reset the CMOS to get rid of the old OC from his other Proc, Because the settings wouldnt be ok with his new one? Also check for a bios update.
     
    Franklinwallbrown says thanks.
  7. Franklinwallbrown

    Franklinwallbrown New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,228 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    All I had to do was delete restoration data or something like that. I should probably update my BIOS now.
     
  8. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    KERNEL_STACK_INPAGE_ERROR is usualy a data disk read error. data from the paging file cannot be read into memory.

    Could be a bad block/sector of HDD, Bad Hdd cable, Disk controller error, defective motherboard, Viris, Ram going bad, or when nonpaged pool resources run out.

    Yes, try resting CMOS and update motherboard drivers, Update BIOS.
    Run viris scan, Scandisk and Memtest.
     
    Franklinwallbrown says thanks.
  9. Franklinwallbrown

    Franklinwallbrown New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,228 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Okay! Thanks guys.
     
  10. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,267 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    968
    Do a BIOS update. A new CPU probably needs new micro-kernel patches. Same with my Core Quad Q6600. Blue screening until I updated BIOS. Now ROCK SOLID. Note that the errors tend to be memory-related or hardware-related even though it is the CPU at fault.
     
    Franklinwallbrown says thanks.
  11. Franklinwallbrown

    Franklinwallbrown New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,228 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    How do you go about updating your BIOS? I can't find the BIOS I need.
     
  12. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
  13. Franklinwallbrown

    Franklinwallbrown New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,228 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Okay.
     
  14. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,136 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,771
    Location:
    US
    You have a floppy drive ? If so make bootable floppy and copy the bios on to it. You might want to check the floppy b4 trying making sure it's not faulty.

    If you do not have a floppy drive do you have a thumb drive maybe your bios will allow you to boot of it ?. How ever you would have to find some thing like HP's program that makes the thumb drive bootable.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page