1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Bluetooth USB Dongle

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by surfsk8snow.jah, Dec 8, 2008.

  1. surfsk8snow.jah

    surfsk8snow.jah

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    457 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
  2. mc-dexter

    mc-dexter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,507 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    Location:
    England
    i've had a few now, and shown a few people how to use them on thier own pc's, and everytype i have come accros have all been pretty much the same, except some have better signal strength, but i've had an 100meter range one, and cause my phone wasnt capable of 100m bluetooth, i couldnt use it tht far, but the usual 10m, is fine, i'd fgo for an 100m range just for the sake of having one and for afew more $ its worth it
     
    surfsk8snow.jah says thanks.
  3. surfsk8snow.jah

    surfsk8snow.jah

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    457 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    So just any one w/ 100m range rly?
     
  4. mc-dexter

    mc-dexter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,507 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    Location:
    England
    from my experiance, yes, to be honest with you, i had a nice little cheap one, cost me £6, and i liked everythign more about it than any of the others, size, interface, ease of use,
     
    surfsk8snow.jah says thanks.
  5. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,717 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,456
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    I tried a cheapie (~$5) and it worked as good as the bluetooth in my phone (I paired up a headset with the PC). Range was about 20-30ft, advertised was the 100m! Perhaps it's the BT headset, I don't know.

    With the good reviews for the cheap one, I'd get that, especially since it supports Vista. The big scam with these things is the software - if it deosn't support an OS, you pay $39 to get the software so it will.
     
    surfsk8snow.jah says thanks.
  6. mc-dexter

    mc-dexter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,507 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    Location:
    England
    yeah very good point to state! :toast:
     
  7. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,415 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,613
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    mc-dexter is right they are mostly all the same.

    I have a Kensington, picked it up at Staples for clearance 9 or so dollars.
    I can go about 30 feet or so from it, but it hates walls.

    Just make sure it has the latest blue tooth version, which I think is 2 or 2.1.
     
  8. surfsk8snow.jah

    surfsk8snow.jah

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    457 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    Ok so here's a question. I had a revelation today that: "Duh, my keyboard/mouse is bluetooth, shouldn't that be the same thing?" My goal here is to get my new Motorola HT820 bluetooth headphones to work with on my computer.

    Keyboard/Mouse is Logitech MX5500 Revolution, bluetooth wireless, came with a USB dongle that they connect through. I tried today to get the headset to work, and it won't receive sound. I can get it "connected," but with complications. I'm using Windows XP, have Setpoint 4.7, and I've tried the following:

    -Changed the radio settings to a bluetooth hub instead of locked to the keyboard/mouse.

    -Clicked "Connect Other Devices."

    - Paired headphones with windows. Windows connects correctly, the device reads connections, windows shows it as "already connected" when I try to connect it again. I click on Control Panel -> Bluetooth Devices, and I see the "Motorola HT820" listed as "Passkey enabled," but it doesn't say "Connected" like the keyboard and mouse do. Also, audio does play on the headphones.

    -Click on Properties on HT820, and then on services, it does not show any services at all.

    - Searched around google, logitech, motorola websites & forums to answers or help, nothing. Closet I got was logitech's "Bluetooth FAQ" which has the following paragraph (http://www.logitech.com/lang/pdf/bluetooth/bluetooth-faq.pdf):

    "3.6 How do I listen to music wirelessly with a Bluetooth headphone?
    All you need is a Bluetooth headphone and a media player such as iTunes or Windows Media Player 10. For optimal results, it is recommended you use a headphone with Bluetooth 2.0 Enhanced Data Rate, to benefit from the maximum bandwidth (up to 3Mb/s).
    Please refer to our online "How To" documents for step-by-step instructions related to your specific device (www.logitech.com/bluetooth/howto)." [That link transfers you back to the same pdf document - it's a circle]

    -I tried to install latest Widcomm stack from broadcomm's website, but it says it's not compatible with this dongle.

    -Called Logitech Tech Support - got a total jerk girl who straight up said "No i can't help you." And then wouldn't give me the time of day after that.

    I've read on threads on Logitech forum that people are using this headset with logitech dongles. Any help getting this connected? I just don't want to have 2 bluetooth dongles connected when I rly only should need this one. Otherwise I guess I'll just purchase one of the ones above, and use that to connect my keyboard, mouse, and headphones all in one swoop.

    Sidenote: anyone have experience/knowledge with behavior when 2 bluetooth USB dongles are connected to the same computer?
     
  9. mc-dexter

    mc-dexter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,507 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    Location:
    England
    have you checked your settings to see if windows is using that device rather than some other in built mic port or something, try control panel> sounds and audio devices> voice (tab)

    just check the items in the drop down list to see the devices you can select from.

    it might not solve it but i've had that problem before.
     
    surfsk8snow.jah says thanks.
  10. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,717 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,456
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Dual-device pairing is something that only a handful of BT transceivers have done well, so dont expect much.
     
  11. mc-dexter

    mc-dexter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,507 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    Location:
    England
    Sasqui..... thats a sh!t hot avvy :D

    but can't you have 2 dongle's connected to 1 computer not necessarily pairing them up, but i cant see why you would want to do that surfsk8snow??

    unless 1 was for designed only for headset, keyboard &mouse or something.
     
  12. surfsk8snow.jah

    surfsk8snow.jah

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    457 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    Ya I thought about that too, cuz I've had that problem with my standard USB headphones. I checked control panel>sounds and audio devices, and I check all the tabs and pull-downs there, but only the standard audio controller (SoundBlaster).

    A random other note - remember how the device shows as "Passkey enabled" but not "connected." well by chance I was looking at the services tab again, and when I click this, and it "searches for services," in the "Bluetooth Devices" window, it flashes "Connected" for a couple times, then goes back to nothing again. Interesting.
     
  13. surfsk8snow.jah

    surfsk8snow.jah

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    457 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    Ya, the possibility may be that the logitech dongle is made specifically for this keyboard/mouse, or logitech products only... propietary bullll crap.

    So i might buy the 2nd dongle, connect it for any other bluetooth devices, but keep keyboard/mouse on logitech one.
     
  14. mc-dexter

    mc-dexter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,507 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    Location:
    England
    yeh i think that's the simplest thing to do, the bluetooth dongle's come pretty cheap nowdays so it's not gunna burn a hole in your pocket :laugh:

    big plus as some managed to send to my neighbours phone.... they get some random shit sent them :roll: nah but seriously, you get endless use out of a propper bluetooth dongle :D
     
    surfsk8snow.jah says thanks.
  15. surfsk8snow.jah

    surfsk8snow.jah

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    457 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    awesome, I'll just do this then. I forsee my self using more bluetooth enabled devices from now on anyways. heck I could even sync my treo 750, and my wife's blackberry, with bluetooth if I do it right, correct?

    I'm gonna nag logitech and motorola's email tech support a bit before I completely give up the issue tho. I'll let you guys know if anything comes up.

    McDexter: thanks greatly for your help man, I rly appreciate it.
     
  16. mc-dexter

    mc-dexter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,507 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    Location:
    England
    yep, you'll be able to do all that.

    i have mine setup so once you've enter'd your passkey once for each phone (device) you can send things to the pc whenever you feel like it, or in my case, whenever i remember i've got somethign to upload :laugh:

    EDIT: Also the dongle's i have had seem to run about the speed of dial up internet, and for your phone, which will probablly be a big use of the dongle thats not bad at all i'd say :)
     
  17. surfsk8snow.jah

    surfsk8snow.jah

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    457 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    So, FYI, in case anyone else is interested, amazon is running a extra sale for that second one I listed in initial thread. It's only $0.99 (plus S&H) - it has 17 reviews on amazon, putting it at 4.5/5 stars. I think I may get 3 or 4 of these at that price.
     
  18. surfsk8snow.jah

    surfsk8snow.jah

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    457 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    So here’s another interesting Bluetooth question:

    My boss came by today and noticed/admired my sweet wireless keyboard/mouse/headphones setup, and asked what would happen if everyone in the office (20 people) had a setup like mine; would they interfere with each other. I told him on the fly that there’s built in measures that make each device securely connected to each computer, but potentially you could hack the system if you knew what you were doing, and have access to everyone’s systems. He expressed concern that what if everyone turned on their setups at the same time, and my keyboard links to his computer, with everything I type going onto his screen [baaad hehe].

    Would this situation occur? How do Bluetooth devices perform securely in close-quarter environments, both when trying to initialize them, and in normal everyday functioning? Say office cubicle environment, apartment complex, airport with hundreds of peeps on their bluetooths…

    I noticed too earlier u had written about accessing/sending your neighbor stuff lol. That would be the concern here.
     
  19. mc-dexter

    mc-dexter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,507 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    Location:
    England
    well the mouse im using and have done for awhile now, my brother decided to get one afew months back, its not bluetooth, it's just some sort of infa red, but anyways we have no problem with those, i've tried to get mine to work on his n vice versa but never has, so i think you'll be safe, there is one thing on how i think they work, and that is you can select the channel you want yours to run on, usually depending on the surroundings any channel is fine, also you get a wide choice of channels correct? you should find it somewhere on the program you 'might' of installed from a disc you got with it?

    EDIT: also the channels you can select from are upto the two hundreds, or somewhere around that i belive.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page