1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

BOINC Config Utility

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by FordGT90Concept, Aug 7, 2013.

  1. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    14,781 (6.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,435
    Location:
    IA, USA
    How should I lay out these simpler options? Should they all be above Exclusive Applications like they are now, stacked to the left or right of Exclusive Applications, or below Exclusive Applications?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    14,781 (6.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,435
    Location:
    IA, USA
    I just went ahead and made the changes that were discussed. Stuff's in the original post. The jury is still out on no_alt_platform and ncpus so I left those out for now.


    Edit: I'm not 100% on start_delay default being 120 seconds. If someone finds out that it isn't, let me know and I'll change it.
     
    Last edited: May 19, 2014
    Mindweaver and Norton say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    2,810 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,406
    Location:
    Washington, US
    Tried it on my WinXP machine. It guessed c:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\BOINC\cc_config.xml, which appears to be correct. I'll be testing 4 WUs on 2 threads on that machine. We'll see how it goes.
     
    FordGT90Concept and Arjai say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,642 (2.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,806
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    [​IMG]

    Why is this all there is in the cconfig file? I wanted to up the <ncpus> on my buddies computer, new BOINC install, and could not find cconfig, until I ran this utility.

    Now it's there but, this is it? Do I need to add it into the cconfig manually?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    2,810 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,406
    Location:
    Washington, US
    @Arjai Yep. By default, it doesn't exist. Once you create it (in the correct location), BOINC will load settings out of it. Just pop a new line and add <ncpus>9001</ncpus>
    (DISCLAIMER: Setting it to run over 9000 WUs at once may or may not set your computer on fire and I take no responsibility if this happens.)

    Should end up looking something like my config:
    Code:
    <cc_config>
      <options>
        <report_results_immediately>1</report_results_immediately>
        <start_delay>60</start_delay>
        <ncpus>4</ncpus>
      </options>
    </cc_config>
     
    Arjai says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,642 (2.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,806
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    Thanks, I also posted this in the Challenge thread. Vinska beat you to the punch! :laugh:

    Anyways, it is now edited for 9000 cpu's and is running a little hot.:toast:

    Seriously, upped it to 3, 1 more, and it is Crunching away!!!:)
     
    xvi says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    14,781 (6.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,435
    Location:
    IA, USA
    BOINC has all of these options with default values. The only ones that need to appear in cc_config are those that are non-default (e.g. report_results_immediately 1). BCU behaves the same way by removing default values from cc_config so it is easier to follow. That's also likely why you may have set a lot of options in BCU (like no_gpus to false) but they do not appear in the cc_config because they are default.


    Should I just add ncpus to the program since it is trendy? XD
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,642 (2.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,806
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    No. Don't want the enemies to get it!! make them work for it, like we did!! ;)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    14,781 (6.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,435
    Location:
    IA, USA
    But, but, but for science!
     
    james888 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,642 (2.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,806
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    OK, but, please hold it until this challenge ends...Don't want any Frenchies tipping off RIT!!

    :eek:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page