1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

BOINC Manager question.

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by DriedFrogPills, Nov 20, 2010.

  1. DriedFrogPills

    DriedFrogPills New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    356 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Werribee, Victoria, Australia
    Is it possible to change the disk that BOINC uses short on uninstall and reintall? Basically i want to get it of my SSD
     
  2. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    When you start going through the setup, you can hit "Advanced" to choose the directories you want it to install on. Is this what you were asking?

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  3. DriedFrogPills

    DriedFrogPills New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    356 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Werribee, Victoria, Australia
    no not quite. i migrated my boot disk to the SSD, which had BOINC on it. I now want to change the drive the data goes to.

    A big :rockout: for the quick reply CP

    got a strange feeling it may have to be a reinstall job.
     
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2010
  4. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    That I don't know. I know that as you see in the screen shot above when you install it you can choose where you want the data to go to, but I'm not sure if that can be changed once installed. :(
     
  5. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,954 (5.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,074
    Location:
    Ohio
    If you want to completely get rid of it, you'll have to dig around for the "boincdata" folder and zap it, then run ccleaner or something. This still doesn't wipe it completely clean for some reason... on my system when I was forced to do a reinstall, I did it the way I've lined out in this post, but it still started up in the advanced view rather than the simple view, and my "host average" was still where I left off, rather than resetting to zero. As far as I can tell, everything else was reset.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    I've never really found a way to completely get rid of BOINC and everything related to it. I remember a while back I was having issues with a newer version that suddenly stopped working. I was trying to install a older one to see if it got going as someone suggested. I deleted everything I saw related to BOINC and when I installed the different version, all my history was still there like if I never un-installed it.
     
  7. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,954 (5.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,074
    Location:
    Ohio
    Apparently, it requires a lot of dedicated digging around in the registry and C:\ drive... but the method I outlined above worked good enough for me. It was easier for me because I installed BOINC (and F@H for that matter) on my storage drive from the get-go (so it was really easy to find the leftover boincdata folder and manually zap it myself), as I wanted to keep all those read/writes off my main drive.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    I don't remember what got it working, it was a while ago. But I'll definitely keep your method in mind in case it might be of some help one day.
     
  9. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,265 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,011
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    Can't you just uninstall & then reinstall?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. DriedFrogPills

    DriedFrogPills New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    356 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Werribee, Victoria, Australia
    that what i wound up doing in the end. Just didn't want it using up a hideous amount of write cycles on the SSD
     
  11. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    So all how you wanted it now?
     
  12. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,265 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,011
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    That makes sense, on my i7 rig I have my BOINC program files & app data on the WD Caviar Blue :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    When I had my SSD I also had changed the directory, but my SSD still gave me issues and that's why I don't run it anymore. Bummer :(
     
  14. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,265 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,011
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    Totally...that's why I got an Intel SSD :p

    Sorry it wasn't working out for you :ohwell:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page