1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

boot up then crash help please

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by overclocker, Aug 4, 2006.

  1. overclocker

    overclocker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,152 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    hey guys well i bot all the stuff for my new gaming rig i got a 2X 64 4400+ amd cpu atix1600xt and im buying 1 more for crossfire and i got a abit crossfire MB and 1gb of ram and a 32 inch viewsonic lcd hd tv fot my comp and a 500watt ultra finity theres the rig and heres the prob i start it up the comp gets to my login but wen i click log in it loads and then gos blank or some times it will start up i thinks its the old drivers from my last comp b/c im using the same HD so what you think ?
     
  2. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Since it's a new comp, you have to re-install Windows XP...I was experiencing problems when I moved from a Jetway Motherboard to a DFI LanParty...
     
  3. overclocker

    overclocker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,152 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    thats what i thot thanx alot bro
     
  4. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Sure, tell us how it works when you get it re-installed.
     
  5. overclocker

    overclocker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,152 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    ok
     
  6. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,113 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    Just a quick tip...Instead of doing a complete reinstall, you can save your old files and whatever by repairing windows. To do this, boot from the CD, press F3 to install windows, press F8 to agree to the licensce, and after it sees that you have an XP partition installed, press R to repair that partition.
     
  7. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Then it goes to a black command promt-like screen, and you have to enter the right command...it's confusing for me.
     
  8. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,113 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    You're thinking of a different repair console...see, on the XP disk, there are two repair functions. The first one you can access BEFORE you ask to install windows. That is pure command line. The one I'm talking about you can access AFTER asking to install windows. That is an automated thing that replaces system files that are missing and, well, repairs windows. It's what I used to make windows run on Aegis when I put Darth Flatulence's hard drive in Aegis...otherwise I would have had some fun with formatting.
     
  9. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Oh...ok. If I new that earlier, that could've saved me a lot of time.
     
  10. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,113 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    I'll post the exact steps in my building-a-computer article later :).
     
  11. overclocker

    overclocker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,152 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    ok thx alot for the info guys
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page