1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Boot Up Time Thread

Discussion in 'Storage' started by 3dsage, Jul 26, 2009.

  1. 3dsage

    3dsage New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,797 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    Location:
    NW Burbs of Chicago
    Starting a new thread to see what kind of Boot up time everyone is getting.

    Here how to get the program http://www.vistax64.com/tutorials/151819-boot-up-time.html

    Just submit a screenie of your time, HD model , OS and specs if youd like.

    3dsage | 55 seconds | Seagate 7200.12 |Vista 64
    [​IMG]


    Column 1 Column 2 Column 3 Column 4
    0 USER Boot Time Hard Drive OS
    1 KH0UJ 48x Hitachi Deskstar 160 GB XP PRO
    2 Tigger 50 x Seagate 500gb 7200.12 win7 7100 x86
    3 MoonPig 51 x 1x WesternDigital Black 500GB Windows 7 7127 64bit
    4 Phanbuey 52 x 2xWD1600 RAID-0 128K stripe W7
    5 3dsage 55 x Barracuda 7200.12 Vista Ultimate x64
    6 MoonPig 58 x 1x WesternDigital Black 500GB Windows7 7127 64bit
    7 t77snapshot 69x WD 640 BLACK Win7 64-Bit
    8 AhokZYashA 69x Seagate 7200.9 160GB Win 7 7100
    9 Maban 72 x Seagate ST3500630AS Vista Ultimate X64
    10 human_error 88x 2x ocz vertex 32gb ssd raid 0 vista 64 ultimate sp2
    11 Zubasa 100 x Barracuda 7200.12 Vista Ultimate
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2009
    Scrizz, AhokZYashA, MoonPig and 2 others say thanks.
  2. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,199 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    2 slow wd1600's ($50 bucks each 2 years ago) in RAID 0 128KB stripe - this is windows 7 though, which starts a bit faster than vista.
    [​IMG]

    EDIT: it will be interesting to see how W7 stacks against Vista in boot times.
  3. 3dsage

    3dsage New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,797 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    Location:
    NW Burbs of Chicago
    ^ Not bad at all for some older tech (hard drives)
    I know SSD and W7 is gonna be quik , hopefully somebody will post up.
  4. joshiers8605 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    172 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    one way to help speed things up, if you use a lottt of photoshop fonts, install them into the photoshop programs folder, instead of the windows font folder
  5. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,199 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    Does that actually do anything? I always do it on my system - but it never seems to make a difference.
  6. joshiers8605 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    172 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    i guess it just depends on how many fonts you have installed :toast:
    phanbuey says thanks.
  7. 3dsage

    3dsage New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,797 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    Location:
    NW Burbs of Chicago
    I lost like 3seconds, going to MSCONFIG, and changed Number of processors to 4 (or whatever you own x2 or x4 core) and Detect HAL checked off.
  8. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,199 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    I would imagine there to be a pretty big margin of error for the boot times, but the number of processors boot tweak has been debunked :ohwell:

    http://www.withinwindows.com/2008/0...rformance-for-multi-core-users-with-msconfig/

    There is a pretty good program called BOOTVIS that can optimize your stuff. IDK if it works with Vista though.
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2009
    skylamer and 3dsage say thanks.
  9. IINexusII

    IINexusII

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    906 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    London, UK
    i think we already had a thread like this, where i posted mine
  10. 3dsage

    3dsage New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,797 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    Location:
    NW Burbs of Chicago
    Bump, im sure other people are curious to see how long fellow TPU members PC"S take to reboot.
  11. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,334 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    979
    Booting from second partition 150GB into the drive. And also about 1-3 seconds added for inputting password.

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2009
    3dsage says thanks.
  12. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,334 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    979
    My mom's PC boots in 219 seconds with a WD1600JB-00GVA0 using WinXP. Which is a hell of a lot better than it used to.
  13. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,207 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,736
    Location:
    S.Cali
    69 sec;)
    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2009
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. KH0UJ

    KH0UJ New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    363 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Cebu City Philippines
    mine has a start-up time of 6 seconds, and a shutdown time of 5 seconds, its an XP sp3 though

    is there a start-up and shutdown logger for XP? so that I can also put my screenshots on mine?
  15. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,207 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,736
    Location:
    S.Cali
    I'm sure there is a program for XP...I hope so because I gotta see this 11 sec restart time! It sounds kinda hard to believe:rolleyes:, but please prove me wrong:p

    Edit: I found this: http://www.mydigitallife.info/2009/...er-to-monitor-boot-up-time-in-windows-system/
    But I did not research it so check it out.
    KH0UJ says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. KH0UJ

    KH0UJ New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    363 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Cebu City Philippines
    I only used a stopwatch on my test LOL
    OS 1-6 seconds start, 5 seconds shutdown (Application OS)
    OS 2-5 seconds start, 4 seconds shutdown (gaming OS)

    disabled prefetcher on the registry
    used tuneXP for faster shutdown
    disabled recent documents history (recentdocshistory 1)
    disabled some of the unnecessary start-up items not required for booting
    disabled StartMenuLogOff
    noguiboot LOL
    defrag boot files to the edge of the partition
    OS 1 deepfreeze 6 locked, no anti-virus LOL
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2009
  17. KH0UJ

    KH0UJ New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    363 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Cebu City Philippines
  18. KH0UJ

    KH0UJ New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    363 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Cebu City Philippines
    Ya im once again wrong bro:banghead:

    [​IMG]

    cause im starting my stopwatch the moment I press enter in the OS selection screen

    [​IMG]

    and stopping it as soon as the desktop appears:laugh: (5 seconds)

    [​IMG]

    Sorry im wrong:banghead:

    same thing I did on the shutdown, the moment i press the shutdown button until my monitor blacks out (4 seconds) I think its wrong again:banghead:
  19. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,207 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,736
    Location:
    S.Cali
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. 3dsage

    3dsage New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,797 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    Location:
    NW Burbs of Chicago
    Thats awesome dude, but I think this VBscript Is the total restart time.
    Just run it and see what you get.
  21. KH0UJ

    KH0UJ New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    363 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Cebu City Philippines
    I ran the bootracer program T77snapshot linked, 31 seconds:(
  22. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,883 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    377
    Location:
    Singapore
    Tried some tweaks and this is the best I could come up with:

    Startup & shutdown below, total restart time is ~ 85s, That's on my lappy.

    Attached Files:

  23. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,723 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2009
    3dsage says thanks.
  24. human_error

    human_error

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,718 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    [​IMG]

    :( my BIOS loading and RAID matrix controls takes most of that time (before i even get to OS loading)...i hate this stoopid motherboard :shadedshu

    I'm praying win7 will get me better times...

    (human_error | 88 secs | 2x ocz vertex 32gb ssd raid 0 | vista 64 ultimate sp2 )
    3dsage says thanks.
  25. AhokZYashA

    AhokZYashA

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,112 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    140
    add me

    [​IMG]

    I have 4 OS in my rig..
    so choosing it take time.
    see specs on the left...

    (AhokZYashA/69 secs/Seagate 7200.9 160GB SATA/Win 7 7100)
    3dsage says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page