1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Booting a PC without CPU power.

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Aceman.au, Jan 30, 2012.

  1. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,414 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    As the title says, I just did this many times. I forgot I'd taken the power out of the CPU to remove my 5970 (the CPU power cord was not able to be threaded through the back). Can this cause damage?
  2. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    Nope. Typically the bios would complain, or the computer wont post without it. But no damage.
    Aceman.au says thanks.
  3. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,414 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Good! Thank you
  4. Ammonite

    Ammonite New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    50 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Christchurch, NZ
    I'm new to building systems and I bought a mini-itx motherboard recently that I wanted to test out. I just stuck in some ram and connected the PSU and tried jumping the on/off pins to turn it on. I then realized I forgot to add the CPU power cable in, panicked and felt stupid.

    I've been told it should be fine but, man, if I've damaged it I'll be so disappointed. :( Good lesson anyway to always double check before booting.
  5. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,356 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    i think the only boards that might have had an issue with it were the first socket 478 boards that finally started using the P4 plug for the higher speed cpus. even then, i think they just simply refused to boot until you pluged in the P4 connector. same goes with amd's "socket A".
  6. dorsetknob

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    268 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Dorset where else eh?
    I would not try to plug in the cpu power cable after you had powered up the system (and had it failed due to lack of cpu power lead) this would most probably cause some component failure ie sudden volt/amperage spikes/draws
    its always safer to make sure the system IS COMPLETELY POWERED DOWN before attaching or detaching any cable/component
  7. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,356 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    thats more or less a given, but yea what above poster said
    dorsetknob says thanks.
  8. dorsetknob

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    268 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Dorset where else eh?
    Sometimes you just have to state the simplist of things othewise people make mistakes
  9. Ammonite

    Ammonite New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    50 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Christchurch, NZ
    Sure, although this topic was about accidentally booting without a CPU wire. I'm sure we're all competent enough to not play with wires and hardware while the motherboard is being pumped with electricity. :laugh:
  10. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,476 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,936
    lol . i did this before too. no damage.
  11. johnl5r3w9 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    reply

    done this recently as well, everything seems to be running ok

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page