1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Bootup problem

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Kaljurand33, Jun 9, 2006.

  1. Kaljurand33 New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have sometimes problems with windows.It takes sometimes up to 5 min. to start the, my cpu liht stays on.It not happening all time.What could be the problem.I have 3months old bios and new video card with new drivers.Everything works perfectly when it boots up.:banghead:
     
  2. gR3iF

    gR3iF New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,807 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Hamburg
    do you repared your windows or where comes your installed version from?
    and are you hanging while the windows logo is showing or while the black screen or in welcome screen?
     
  3. Kaljurand33 New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yes when wind. logo is on and loading and it is corporate license
     
  4. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,113 (2.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    Go into BIOS and disable Cool N Quiet. Cool N Quiet basically turns your processor down to like 1GHZ when you're not using the computer. There's some trouble with this on your system, I think, so it runs Cool N Quiet all the time.
     
  5. Kaljurand33 New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks! will try it today
     
  6. Kaljurand33 New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have tried the Qool 'N' Quiet problem still persist.Could anybody give some advice please
     
  7. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    Have you ever appended the /SOS (or, /bootlog) switch to your Windows OS bootup line inside boot.ini in root of C:\?

    IIRC, that /SOS switch will show you (ala oldstyle OS loaders, like Linux has/had) more than just the "dots" of the drivers loading (like NT 3.5x & 4.x had showing during bootstrap in realmode), but actually each driver loading.

    The /bootlog one is just what it says - it logs things during bootup & progressions of it. This switch turns on boot logging to a file that is named systemroot\Ntbtlog.txt.

    That alone MAY help you diagnose which driver is "hanging up" or loading slowly, so you could look for an update or alternate (or. possibly report this to its vendor).

    Another possible that MAY help you, is the user of the "Driver Verifier" tool, verifier.exe... did a post on how to use it here @ these forums:

    http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=12810

    :)

    * Hope that helps, because I am assuming its driver related, (could be a service too though) because of what you're stating...

    However, I could be wrong, just like anyone else (assuming is dangerous, & I am not "right there" & all that, only 'remotely debugging' you here as are others).

    There is also a "VERBOSE SWITCH" during your logon that MIGHT be of assist to you, & it's done via a registry hack (reports what's going on more specifically during logon for you), here are its particulars:

    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\policies\system]
    "VerboseStatus"=dword:00000001

    (Watch that space that's appearing in the word CURRENT in that path in the registry - for some reason? On edit here, it's NOT showing a space, but it IS on posting... don't "cut & paste" that, manually enter it is my advice)

    APK

    P.S.=> Now, if it's NOT drivers? I would suspect services... only way to really diagnose that imo, is to "trial & error" it, enabling only a minimum set & then enabling others (there's a decent set of guides on this forum for services trimming if your not "into" that yourself, but odds are, you are!)... apk
     
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2006
  8. Kaljurand33 New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    but one question? I have heard that maxtor diamond10 have had problems, could it be that my hd is bad?and how is the best way to test it.
    The problem occures when my pc have been switcht off some time(like a half day)
    if I do just the restart its boots up normaly.
     
  9. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    It's possible it's not "110% compatible" w/ your mobo...

    Funny thing is, now that you pointed that out?

    Well, I had that happen on an Abit IC7-Max3 (nice as that mobo was, 1 of the top of 2003), w/ a NEW WD "Raptor X" 150gb SATA 16mb buffered 10k rpm diskdrive I have here, in my older/2nd machine here!

    It was MY fault - I didn't check to see if it was compatible w/ older mobos, which used SATA 'bridges' many times (or, it may have been the disks themselves from WD, not sure anymore, but I know this was the case one way or the other), whereas new ones do not many times nowadays.

    I had "intermittent" bootups, slow ones, etc. (so, you may be dead-on)... even though "older" Raptors (36gb & 74gb units w/ 8mb buffers on them & 10k rpm speed) work great w/ my 2nd rig's mobo!

    ESPECIALLY AFTER POWERING DOWN - which it seems, you are seeing too!

    (EDIT PART - easiest way to debug this may be to either: 1.) Reinstall the OS with this new disk & see how it goes, rebooting after each new update/patch by MS &/or softwares you use... OR, 2.) Trying another HDD!)

    APK

    P.S.=> If that's NOT the case? Try that stuff above, it may help you id the problem @ the very least...

    See, I've got a "tendency" to often assume SOFTWARE/OS side stuff first (especially if not given all the 'hardware facts' but those are easy to overlook/forget right off the bat because I often assume that "you put it in & it should work" compatibility, I do it too)!

    Nature of my job & all that, & have 'forgotten my roots' as a network engineer/hardware techie (which when I was primarily in that mindset, I would check hardwares first)! apk
     
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2006

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page