1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Bootup Resolution

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by webJockey, Aug 28, 2011.

  1. webJockey New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    65 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Bootup Resolution

    I have been looking to fix this one for ages but could not find any fix, hope someone can help me here. My boot splash screen is not fully spread across my monitor. I see a black border around the corners. It’s only at the boot screen though, after boot I get full 1920x1080. It’s not the bios logo because same black border I see in bios settings as well and when I am installing windows. I know it only appears for 10 seconds but I hate it.

    I desperately want to get rid of that black border.

    Solutions already tried:

    1)I came to know 1920x1080x32 vesa mode is not available in my card’s vbios. So I edited vesa resolution of my card using RBE Hex editor/ ATIwinflash and I can caonfrim that 1920x1080x32 is available in vesa mode. It fixed the resolution and the windows/ubuntu flashing icon does not look fat now. But still the screen is not fully stretched across to the corners.

    2)Tried via HDMI to DVI adapter

    3)Scaling of monitor is not supported on digital input (DVI)

    I am using Gigabyte HD5750 card and LG’s 1920x1080 resolution monitor connected using DVI. If I use vga connection I don’t see the black border anymore on my splash screen/in bios settings.
    Thanks in advance
  2. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,821 (4.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,480
    It's not clear which boot screen you're talking about. Do you mean the Windows 7 boot screen?

    I suspect you're gonna be outta luck with this one, as the full driver features aren't available during booting, so the video card and monitor won't trigger the monitor's scaling function - witness it working when in analog mode.

    Personally, I think a stretch non-native res picture looks rubbish and would rather have a 1:1 display any day.

    Also, I recommend flashing your video bios back to it's original one and not fiddling with it. You don't know what problems you're putting into your card otherwise.
  3. webJockey New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    65 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Its bios splash screen and screen that you see when you are in bios settings and screen that you see when you are installing windows 7. It has black border of about 1 inch around.

    I guess I am onto right direction now. it has got something to do ATI controll centre underscale/overscale settings. many other people are having same issues when connecting their pc to HD TV
  4. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,482 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,995
    and here I thought it was a DOS environment limitation. The screen is showing a border because you are already scaling a 800 x 600 resolution.
  5. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,014 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,404
    yeah you're running at a low res, and your screen doesnt support it properly so it scales it.


    you cant fix it, its stupid to attempt to. why the hell are you spending so much time looking at your system booting anyway?


    this is all before your OS loads, so it has nothing to do with your drivers or hardware, its just your screen.
  6. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,821 (4.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,480
    Yeah, now I understand which bit is bothering you, I have to agree with sneeky and Mussels.

    It's just the way your monitor works. At this point, the video output is being controlled by the BIOS and the ATI driver hasn't even started. It just so happens that your monitor will scale this low res picture differently depending on the input used, so there's nothing you can do about it short of replacing the monitor.

    Personally, I think a stretched picture looks horrible anyway and will go for a 1:1 pixel mapping anyday.
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2011
  7. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,339 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    988
    All my AMD/ATI cards would conform to the scaling option set on my monitor in the BIOS/POST but my Nvidia cards would stretch it no matter what scaling option I choose.
  8. Derek12

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,096 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    In my case a weirder problem happens:randomly the post screen will appear severely squashed until Windows boot screen, in any case my monitor reports 1280x1024 resolution in boot screens. It doesn't bother me as long as appear fine in Windows. I think the scaling option of my GFX card is crazy (isn't a monitor problem)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page