1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Borderlands the game

Discussion in 'Games' started by MKmods, Oct 8, 2009.

  1. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,325 (4.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Thank god you said that, was trying to figure it out and was getting ready to do that, but oce you said it just did it and works fine! :rockout:
     
  2. lemode New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,304 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    263
    I can tell you right now that this game is way better on the PC than on consoles based on controls alone. I'm more comfortable with a mouse and keyboard anyway! So happy! I am going to play by myself as roland and with my friend as Lilith so its a win win all around!
     
  3. lemode New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,304 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    263
    whats everyones online ids for gamespot? want to add you fine folks of to my online list!
     
  4. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,325 (4.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    I am getting some tearing, when I turn left or right quick I can see a split in the center of the screen a bit and also like vertical splits. Really bugging my eyes out, don't see any capping options in game so I enabled them in Catalyst, but only helped a bit. Any ideas here?
     
  5. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,207 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,099
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Force Vertical Sync from CCC or NCP.
     
    1Kurgan1 says thanks.
  6. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,325 (4.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Yeah already tried that along with triple buffering, helped a bit, but still seems a bit funky. I'm at college right now, gonna check my refresh rate when I get home and make sure it's on 60 and not 59.
     
  7. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,892 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    [​IMG]

    woooooo!!!
     
  8. Soylent Joe

    Soylent Joe New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,408 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Brunswick, GA
    Downloading now! Maybe it'll be finished by the weekend :shadedshu
     
  9. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,588 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    528
    Location:
    Australia
    My m8 has pre ordered this, and i will be playing it on the 30th as soon as he gets it. I also cant wait to give it a try (4 player lan play = awesome) Looks like fun to me :D
     
  10. ZenEffect New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    622 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    no, not a beta tester. I work in the hardware compliance division of 2k... i tested this game when it was still alpha.
     
  11. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,882 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,715
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Very entertaining game thus far, only played for about 30 minutes, but I gotta say I am glad they executed it the way they did. So far it's pretty damn fun, and seems to be a pretty solid shooter, haven't tried coop yet, but I gotta say thus far SP is pretty damn cool.
     
  12. lemode New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,304 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    263
    yeah i love this game. i am happy i can play on my own and with my friend when/if he and i can co op...i will def go through this with roland and lilith. one of the best replayable game i've ever purchased....and i usually don't find any replayability in ANY game!
     
  13. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,325 (4.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Yeah fun game so far, still having issues with tearing. Turning from left to right fast I get lines that that run almost the whole screen across, they then travel up, it's like a wave of pixels that runs up my screen.
     
  14. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,398 (11.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,697
    at a guess, its either Vsync or AA related.


    cant give any real ideas, as i dont have the game yet (it may also be crossfire related, i get nasty flickering with crossfire on and vsync off, and with games that have broken Vsync support it doesnt go well)
     
  15. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,207 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,099
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Speaking of AA, I tried forcing max AA and it doesn't seem to do anything.
     
  16. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    From the Steam forum:
    Enable V-Sync (Stops screen tearing)

    Quote:
    Open:

    Quote:
    Documents\My Games\Borderlands\WillowGame\Config\WillowEngine.i ni

    Find:

    Quote:
    UseVsync=False

    Change To:

    Quote:
    UseVsync=True

    For me with my 4770s at 1920 X 1200 its fine, just I suck at gaming in general....
     
  17. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,325 (4.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    That did the trick, wonder why its not in the options menu.
     
  18. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,882 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,715
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    I saw a couple other interesting lines in that ini...dunno if they'd be safe or useful to mess with. For now I'll enjoy the game,

    Just on a quick scan though:

    bDisablePhysXHardwareSupport=True (probably not useful at all tho)
    UseHighQualityBloom=False
    CompositeDynamicLights=False
    MaxMultisamples=1 (I am gonna mess with this one, see what 8 get's me..this game could use a touch more AA imo)

    This game has my interest for sure though, I'm having a blast so far! :toast:
     
  19. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,838 (6.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,706
    Location:
    IA, USA
    I just intalled it and apparently it didn't like my graphics card, monitor, or both. It defaulted to 640x480 with all low settings. :(

    The game does look pretty crappy on my 17" CRT (the interface feels cramped and unfriendly). I'm thinking this game was intended for widescreen.

    I won't actually start playing it until I play some more Tropico 3.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    I actually was helpful in a programming thing?:rockout: sweet

    Here is the link to the thread (but Steam is down for a bit) There is a lot of good stuff there.
    :respect: to the guy that made the thread:respect:
    http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/showthread.php?t=998374
     
    Kursah says thanks.
  21. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Crazy but this game is sooo freaking sweet.
     
  22. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,325 (4.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Yeah I cant imagine this game on 4:3.

    Yeah, FPS games really bug out my eyes, so that helped a lot, but still I get headaches from them, with the tearing I could literally only play for like 5min.

    Yeah I told Marineborn I was gonna stop playing since he can't play till Friday, I was level 7 when I said that, just logged out as level 10. Might mess around as Mord, but Roland is a lot of fun, will be amazing when turrets are on a shorter CD.
     
  23. Anath New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    479 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    agreed. I think I am going to try Mord out as well. I hadnt used a sniper until level 15 and now i love the damn thing :p
     
  24. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,207 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,099
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    I'm a level 19 Mordecai. Played for probably 8 straight hours today.
     
  25. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,325 (4.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    I doubt I will be using a sniper rifle if I play mord, the hand guns were a ton of fun, gunslinger looks really cool.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page