1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

bottleneck

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by cookiemonster, Jul 5, 2014.

  1. cookiemonster

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    496 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Hi I have just went crossfire with my two Sapphire R9 290 TRI-X OC 4GB GDDR5 will my i5 3570K,1155, Ivy Bridge, Quad Core, 3.4GHz be causing a bottleneck, should I go for an i7 or with your help again overclock my i5 with your help I got it to 4.5 last time.
  2. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,857 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    903
    No you should be fine with the i5 don't worry about it.
    cookiemonster says thanks.
  3. 9700 Pro

    9700 Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    308 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    Jyväskylä, Finland
    Just OC the CPU and you'll be fine. :toast:
    cookiemonster says thanks.
  4. Jack1n

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,016 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    225
    Location:
    Central Israel
    If its already at 4.5 i doubt it will go any higher.
    cookiemonster says thanks.
  5. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,126 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,461
    at 4.5 you'll be just peachy.

    some games may slow down at times due to poor optimisation, but it wont be the performance of your PC causing it.
    cookiemonster and RCoon say thanks.
  6. cookiemonster

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    496 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    I had it at 4.5 with the help of this forum but I was playing Fallout and there were problems with it and I was advised to set the cpu back to default and after I done that the problem stopped and I just left the cpu at the default but if you think I need to I will overclock it again, with the help of this forum.
  7. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,126 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,461

    aim for 4.2 this time instead!
    cookiemonster says thanks.
  8. Jack1n

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,016 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    225
    Location:
    Central Israel
    I doubt it will bottle neck-even at stock speeds (with boost enabled) you should test the FPS in a couple of games with stocks speeds and with 4.5ghz,if it does need clocking just upping the turbo clock to 4.2ghz should do the trick.
    cookiemonster says thanks.
  9. cookiemonster

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    496 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    I done these two just after I installed the other card I will try to get some games ones, this is the cpu at stock.

    Attached Files:

  10. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,862 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon
    Your good
    cookiemonster says thanks.
  11. 9700 Pro

    9700 Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    308 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    Jyväskylä, Finland
    Maybe not. But overclocking it will disable the POSSIBLE bottleneck. :toast:
    cookiemonster says thanks.
  12. Hilux SSRG

    Hilux SSRG

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    910 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    Have you considered overclocking the memory to get a small boost ?
    cookiemonster says thanks.
  13. cookiemonster

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    496 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Hi would it be worth it and what would I gain by doing it, I haven't even got round to overclocking the CPU yet.
  14. Hilux SSRG

    Hilux SSRG

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    910 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    Your system has quality parts from what I see, why not oc the cpu and memory if you feel you are getting a bottleneck in gaming or various programs.
    cookiemonster says thanks.
  15. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,126 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,461

    he already said he did in the past, but it caused issues. myself and others have advised him to aim for a lower OC, and see how it goes.
    cookiemonster says thanks.
  16. Hilux SSRG

    Hilux SSRG

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    910 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    But if the lower cpu oc is still causing his bottleneck, then the op should try oc of other components like memory or outright replace cpu to devil's canyon?
  17. Shambles1980

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Messages:
    536 (4.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    he didnt say there was a bottle neck. he was asking if there could be a bottle neck.
    cookiemonster says thanks.
  18. Hilux SSRG

    Hilux SSRG

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    910 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    It's up to the OP to decide if there is a bottleneck or not. Seems there are problems with running Fallout from what he/she said. Just offering options.
    cookiemonster says thanks.
  19. cookiemonster

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    496 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Hi sorry to have caused problems, If I have any problems I will come back to you and OC to 4.2 I would have already but I have forgotten how and I can't find the print offs I made, yes I am a numpty.
  20. Hood

    Hood

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    816 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    246
    Numpty or not, it's not rocket science. I would read an overclocking guide, such as this one - http://www.overclock.net/t/1247413/ivy-bridge-overclocking-guide-with-ln2-guide-at-the-end - it's not difficult, just time-consuming, but you'll understand a lot more about the benefits and limitations of your platform, and whether your 3570K is a good one. Mine is average, runs cool and stable at 4.5 GHz and 1.25 vcore, but getting to 4.6 requires way too much voltage and heat to be worth it. If yours was having stability problems at 4.5, it probably just needed a little more vcore. Even a "bad" chip should manage 4.4 GHz without too much voltage, so I'd shoot for that and see how it goes. You will gain much more insight by doing your own overclock than by just following someone's advice, and if you don't have the time or inclination to do it right, you really shouldn't overclock. But if you take 2 or 3 hours and do it one step at a time, you'll be an overclocking wizard from then on.
    cookiemonster says thanks.
  21. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,237 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,410
    Id only be really concerned if you had a Athlon 2. Or Phenom 2- x2/3(that cant be unlocked). No matter what hardware you have there is always some sort of bottle neck. Even when they start using fiber optics.
    cookiemonster says thanks.
  22. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,380 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    556
    Location:
    AZ
    meh up the details on your games and forget benchmarks. The cpu will be fine. CPU bottlenecks disappear the more you tax the gpus
    cookiemonster says thanks.
  23. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,126 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,461

    always hated that logic. you can make it seem like its not bottlenecked by bottlenecking something else even worse, but if we followed that logic we'd all be gaming at 1FPS


    you might as well say run an onboard GPU to remove CPU bottleneck.
    RCoon, Chevalr1c and remixedcat say thanks.
  24. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,380 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    556
    Location:
    AZ
    right because 290x crossfire is totally onboard and an 8350 is completely incapable of gaming :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:... there are not enough roll eyes emoticons on the interwebs for the ignorance behind that comment.
  25. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,126 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,461

    you're the one twisting logic, seriously. so if you're CPU bottlenecked at 45FPS, and crank AA to 8x to make the GPU work harder, you're no longer CPU bottlenecked... because you're only getting 30FPS.


    sorry yogurt, but you're ignoring what i'm writing and twisting logic in some ridiculous ways.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page